No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dover Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
44 Belgrave Road Victoria , London, SW1V 1RG
Located in Victoria (3 mins walk from Victoria Station), in the heart of Central London, Dover Hotel offers quality inexpensive accommodation, where you can base your visit to London, whether it be for business or pleasure. We are conveniently located near Victoria Station and other major transport links to provide easy access to all tourist and business areas. With friendly staff, excellent service (free Wi-Fi internet access for all guests!) and an ideal location, Dover Hotel is the perfect place to stay for your next visit to London. Feel free to contact us with any questions you may have.
Picture of Dover Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel but disappointing
I chose the Dover Hotel as I know the Victoria area and this was the most competitive pricewise. The hotel was a typical Victoria hotel, nothing outstanding – nothing too bad either. I think it was overpriced for what you get but this is London, choice is limited.
The room was in the attic, up a very narrow stair, and was unremarkable. The double bed was against the wall and there wasn’t much space ut as i was on my own that wasn’t an issue. There was a shower and a sink in the room and the other equipment – a TV, kettle, hair dryer and fan all worked well.
The room wasn’t over quiet, the fan downstairs seemed to vibrate the wall as it swung around and there seemed to be some noise every time someone flushed a toilet/ ran a tap.
Overall the hotel achieved all I needed without excelling in any area. I would stay there again if I had to but would check out the competition first

Reviewed by
Brian Harrison

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy, friendly, convenient, hotel. Ideal for what we wanted. Would use again.

Reviewed by
Noelene Fisher

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, clean and totally servicable!
My room was pretty small, but it had everything I needed, except a chair. It had a stool, but at the end of the day you don't want to sit on a stool!.
It was clean, perfectly adequate for a couple of nights when you mostly need a place to sleep.

Reviewed by
Claire C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
The Dover is exactly what I expected. Cheap, clean, comfortable. We had a front facing room with a small balcony and a fold up chair was by the window/door so you could sit out. A feature I think the hotel could & should make more of. The TV worked as did the hair dryer and kettle. The shower though small was lovely & refreshing. The bedding & towels were clean and fresh and a small bar of soap was provided. The guy on reception was lovely & friendly. The only let down was the inclusive breakfast. Though at such a cheap price. I feel I shouldn't moan. There was cereal, toast, juice and hot drinks available. However the service was poor and no one asked if we were fine or needed more than the slice & a half of bread we were given. Also it was 50/50 bread which was fine for me but my daughter prefers white. For what it was it was fine but the service needs looking at. A smile, a did you sleep well, a would you like white or brown, a have a nice day. Anything would have made it better. Still I have recommended the Dover to a friend with the added comment of 'don't worry there's a couple of cafes near by where you can eat breakfast'

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your comments. We have made a note of them and will revisit our breakfast to see if we can incorporate the changes that you have recommended. We thank you for introducing your friends and hope they enjoy their stay.

Reviewed by
C Clarke

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couples London Getaway
Overall my wife and I were happy. The room was clean and furnished how we expected. The shower room was very small and difficult to work with and the breakfast consisted of toast or a small selection of cereals. Ideally we would have liked a little fry up.
The staff were very polite and helpful, they allowed us to keep our bags at the hotel all day on our last day so we could explore London luggage free.
When I booked the room there was a request section. I asked for two largers and two alcopops. Sadly when we arrived this had not been done. When booking it did state not all requests could be done but I feel for the amount we paid for the room my request was very reasonable.
Other than a couple of minor things it was a pleasant place to stay and can’t wait to get back to our favourite city.

Reviewed by
Sean G

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good little get away in London
This is a small compact hotel with everything you would want for a short stay in London, it was bed and cereal and toast breakfast but had tea and coffee in the room. We had an ensuite which was basic but served our needs.
It was cheap for London but good value for money.

Reviewed by
N Hunt

From Hove, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful pleasant stay
I picked this hotel on location due to the planned tube strikes. Friendly efficient service throughout in a nice part of London. The room was a bit dated, however everything was clean and tidy and worked. For a budget hotel it was just what I needed. On the downside we were on the top floor, which someone with a disability might struggle to access.

Reviewed by
Shaun S

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom extremely small
First room offered was so small the double bed took up most of the room - one side of the bed was tight up against one wall and it also wasn't possible to get between the end of the bed and the wall so bed access was from one side only. Also the electric wasn't working in the room - apart from the ceiling light. After complaining we were moved to a bigger room which was ok. Room was clean but stairways are really tired and grubby and need a facelift. Breakfast is just cereal and toast and a yoghurt. Staff were friendly.

ManagementResponse

The customer booked a basic room and he was checked in to one. Unfortunately on the day we had our trip switch playing up and we upgraded the client to an en-suite room at no extra cost. The trip switch was repaired on the same day. We offer a healthy breakfast with a choice of cereals, juices, beverages, yoghurt and toast etc. which is more than ample for a continental breakfast.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dover Hotel London Victoria
Without doubt this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The general look of the hotel is rundown and shabby beyond belief. I was so nervous of closing my eyes and going to sleep in case our room was broken into and indeed was pleasantly surprised next day to find normal people staying there. The sheets and towels were clean enough but the bathroom and I use the term loosely looked as though it had been dismantled from a cruise ship and stuck in a cupboard. The breakfast was self service from a machine and a non speaking woman brought us two slices of toast each. We were seated with two lovely Dutch girls and I can only wonder what they think of British Hospitality !!

ManagementResponse

We thank you for your comments and have made a note of your concerns and will address them in due course. The hotel is due for a refurbishment in the New Year. However there are some exaggeration in your comments. Our girls have been with us for 15 years and are always very pleasant with our guests and our bathrooms are of a pod style which are quite a good size and are very common in many hotels around London.

Reviewed by
Janet Youd

From Chesterfield, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We found an empty yogurt pot in the room along with a random black thing in the bed! Grot around the bathroom with paint falling off the walls, window looked into a window of another room! Hair dryer didn't work! The blanket didn't look or feel clean! In the morning they tried to make us share a small table with 2 other people that we didn't know and we was only given tea and toast which we wasn't aware of. Overall we stayed as we was exhausted from a day and night sightseeing London on foot, any other situation I would have left!

ManagementResponse

We thank you for your feedback and will definitely act on your complaints. We have reprimanded our chambermaids, who have been with us for a long time, for the odd slip ups like the one that happened in your room. We have checked the hair dryer and it is working okay. All you had to do was to switch the power on at the socket which is located under the hair dryer. As far as the room location is concerned, it is in the lower ground floor and it looks out on to the yard. Unfortunately all Victorian buildings in Central London have rooms like this and we have good net and fabric curtains which give you the privacy. We have hardly received any complaints for this problem.

Reviewed by
I Morris

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next