No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dover Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
44 Belgrave Road Victoria , London, SW1V 1RG
Located in Victoria (3 mins walk from Victoria Station), in the heart of Central London, Dover Hotel offers quality inexpensive accommodation, where you can base your visit to London, whether it be for business or pleasure. We are conveniently located near Victoria Station and other major transport links to provide easy access to all tourist and business areas. With friendly staff, excellent service (free Wi-Fi internet access for all guests!) and an ideal location, Dover Hotel is the perfect place to stay for your next visit to London. Feel free to contact us with any questions you may have.
Picture of Dover Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent price, friendly staff, good location
Went down for 2 nights for the NFL at wembley. Low price for 5 of us in one room. Room was downstairs but was spacious enough for 5. Small bathroom but enough for what you need. 5 min walk to Victoria station. £10 taxi ride from Leicester square or you can walk it. Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough to help 24/7. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Stuart S

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful accomodation - friendly and helpful staff
Great location being near to Victoria station. The room was a bit small, but for a single overnight stay it was fine. The room was a be tired, but clean. The continental breakfast was fine, cereal, fresh toast, fruit yogurt, juice and tea/coffee/chocolate.

Reviewed by
R Cockle

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional English hotel?
Wifi is only for one device, so if there is a few people sharing a room, they need to pay for every other device used during the stay. There was no information about this when we booked our stay.
English breakfast would be really appreciated instead of the continental one. Plastic garden chairs do not fit in the breakfast room. Carpets on the floor and walls in the hotel need to be cleaned. We were missing some shelves in the bathroom and the toilette there was leaking.
What was positive? Possibility to leave our bags after we checked out. There was no charge for it. Big towels for guests. The room had been tidied up while we were out. Beautiful service during our breakfast.

Reviewed by
Pavla Zakova

From Gothenburg, Sweden
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and you get what you pay for.
We stayed here in 2011 for the Royal Wedding and returned for a short visit from Norwich to London. The price is a great value considering the location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are small, but include en suite bathroom. Be sure to bring your own toiletries. It is very close to the Victoria Tube and Buckingham Palace. There are several nice restaurants and pubs in the area. Would definitely stay there again.

ManagementResponse

We take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We provide clean and comfortable accommodation at very reasonable price. We are situated in the heart of London and all major attractions are on walking distance from us. We hope to see you soon. with regards Manager

Reviewed by
Tiffany Davis-Smith

From Memphis, USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For £85 a night inc breakfast over the weekend this was a bargain

Reviewed by
Charlotte G

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice hotel but disappointing
I chose the Dover Hotel as I know the Victoria area and this was the most competitive pricewise. The hotel was a typical Victoria hotel, nothing outstanding – nothing too bad either. I think it was overpriced for what you get but this is London, choice is limited.
The room was in the attic, up a very narrow stair, and was unremarkable. The double bed was against the wall and there wasn’t much space ut as i was on my own that wasn’t an issue. There was a shower and a sink in the room and the other equipment – a TV, kettle, hair dryer and fan all worked well.
The room wasn’t over quiet, the fan downstairs seemed to vibrate the wall as it swung around and there seemed to be some noise every time someone flushed a toilet/ ran a tap.
Overall the hotel achieved all I needed without excelling in any area. I would stay there again if I had to but would check out the competition first

Reviewed by
Brian Harrison

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy, friendly, convenient, hotel. Ideal for what we wanted. Would use again.

Reviewed by
Noelene Fisher

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, clean and totally servicable!
My room was pretty small, but it had everything I needed, except a chair. It had a stool, but at the end of the day you don't want to sit on a stool!.
It was clean, perfectly adequate for a couple of nights when you mostly need a place to sleep.

Reviewed by
Claire C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
The Dover is exactly what I expected. Cheap, clean, comfortable. We had a front facing room with a small balcony and a fold up chair was by the window/door so you could sit out. A feature I think the hotel could & should make more of. The TV worked as did the hair dryer and kettle. The shower though small was lovely & refreshing. The bedding & towels were clean and fresh and a small bar of soap was provided. The guy on reception was lovely & friendly. The only let down was the inclusive breakfast. Though at such a cheap price. I feel I shouldn't moan. There was cereal, toast, juice and hot drinks available. However the service was poor and no one asked if we were fine or needed more than the slice & a half of bread we were given. Also it was 50/50 bread which was fine for me but my daughter prefers white. For what it was it was fine but the service needs looking at. A smile, a did you sleep well, a would you like white or brown, a have a nice day. Anything would have made it better. Still I have recommended the Dover to a friend with the added comment of 'don't worry there's a couple of cafes near by where you can eat breakfast'

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your comments. We have made a note of them and will revisit our breakfast to see if we can incorporate the changes that you have recommended. We thank you for introducing your friends and hope they enjoy their stay.

Reviewed by
C Clarke

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couples London Getaway
Overall my wife and I were happy. The room was clean and furnished how we expected. The shower room was very small and difficult to work with and the breakfast consisted of toast or a small selection of cereals. Ideally we would have liked a little fry up.
The staff were very polite and helpful, they allowed us to keep our bags at the hotel all day on our last day so we could explore London luggage free.
When I booked the room there was a request section. I asked for two largers and two alcopops. Sadly when we arrived this had not been done. When booking it did state not all requests could be done but I feel for the amount we paid for the room my request was very reasonable.
Other than a couple of minor things it was a pleasant place to stay and can’t wait to get back to our favourite city.

Reviewed by
Sean G

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next