No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - City Lodge

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
South Western Terrace , Yeovil, BA20 1NB
Set within a beautifully refurbished 18th century building, this hotel provides comfortable, modern accommodation in the heart of Yeovil.

City Lodge provides 30 non-smoking, en suite bedrooms, with both a bath and power shower, flat-screen digital TV with 33 free digital TV and radio channels, and free wireless internet access. City Lodge has a 24-hour reception for your convenience.

It is within easy walking distance of all that the town has to offer; including many Restaurants and Cafes for Breakfasts, Lunches and Evening Meals. The Nuffield gym opposite the hotel provides breakfast from 6.30am at a very reasonable price. They also provide a discounted gym day pass for City Lodge guests.

Opposite the hotel is a Car Park which offers free parking from 6pm until 9am and is free all day Sunday. At other times this is very reasonably priced.

We are within two miles of both Yeovil Train Stations and can arrange Taxi journeys to and from them.
Situated in South Somerset, on the Somerset/Dorset border, Yeovil is on the A30 and A37, providing easy access to a number of beautiful villages and English Heritage sites. It is also the ideal base for day trips to; The Fleet Air Arm, Wookey Hole, Glastonbury Abbey, Sherborne Castle and many more.
Picture of City Lodge, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 104 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value but noisy
It was a hot day and the receptionist warned me that the room would be hot which it was. Had to open all the windows but it was so noisy I couldn't sleep. Really good for the price though.

Reviewed by
Julie B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful
We booked the hotel for the night because we were going out in the town for a friends birthday. We have two children and don't go out very often. The normal check out is 11am. We were expecting it to be too early because of being hung over on the Sunday. I purchased a extended check of 12. We ended up waking early and feeling fine so we went to check out at 10am and we really happy we were refunded the late check out fee. Very happy x

Reviewed by
E Windsor

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would return
very friendly and helpful reception. comfy room and beds. no wardrobe - just some pegs on the wall.
very good value for money
wonderful selection of eating places nearby - 'Signature' indian restaurant is excellent. frankie and Benny's just over the road for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ruth T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience
We were greeted by a friendly receptionist. Our room was on the first floor and although not spacious was adequate for our stay. Everything was clean and there were tea/coffee making facilities along with snacks and fruit in the room. The checkout was easy on the following day. The downside was that there is no wardrobe but there are hooks and hangers on the wall so for a one or two night stay was not inconvenient

Reviewed by
Janet T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for overnight with no frills, check which car park you use, as the short term park behind the hotel is next door to some sort of hostel, advised by receptionist not to leave it there.

Reviewed by
R Morgan

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard of room at City Lodge
Good clean and value for money. Staff very helpful and friendly
Quite tricky to park unless you know the area.
Great choice of restaurants nearby

Reviewed by
D Denmark

From Heywood, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
Loved the little comforts of bottles of water apples and biscuits

Reviewed by
Wendy Hubbard

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No better than a Travelodge.
The room was spacious and clean, bed comfortable but soft. Bathroom had a few issues but was acceptable. I did like the little touch of having complementary apples and bottled water in the room. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. New budget hotel under construction opposite this one and I think City Lodge will struggle to compete when the new one is open.

Reviewed by
L Perry

From Chislehurst, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay for interview
The hotel was fine - suited my requirements. Very clean and bonus was having a couple of apples in the room for the following morning.

Reviewed by
K Houari

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent alternative to the Budget chains
Warm welcome and a very pleasant room. In a good position in Yeovil handy for local eateries and the cinema. My only complaint is that while the bed and bathrooom were spotless, the rest of the room needed a bit of a dust. Excellent value and I would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Matthew Butler

From Badminton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next