No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Regency Royal Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
East Parade,The promenade , Llandudno, ll30 1be
A grade II listed Victorian building situated on Llandudno seafront. After extensive refurbishment, boasting an elegant restaurant, comfortable lounge bar and a large function suite all with Free wi-fi connection.

Serving fresh, local produce, combining traditional British fare with a unique Indian Restaurant within the hotel. Fine wines are available as are bar snacks. A traditional Welsh breakfast is available.
Sunday Lunch is a must.

A very large,air-conditioned,sprung floor Ball Room ideal for large functions, Weddings and of Special interest to Various Dancing Groups.

Bookings taken now for Valentine's Day break, Easter break and the magnificent Victorian Extravaganza Special Breaks. Book now to avoid disappointments.
Picture of Regency Royal Hotel, Llandudno at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
41% recommended this accommodation to a friend 41% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
a freindley hotel with good staff rooms could do with a bit of attention but I would use this hotel again

Reviewed by
Maxine Dyson

From Tarporley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old hotel, friendly owner but short of staff
Ok I will be as fair as I can. When I pay £150 per night, I expect good breakfast (times and choice), car parking and well furnished rooms. This hotel is old, but reasonably well maintained given the listed nature. Car parking is at rear but no entrance to hotel (other hotels nearby have). Breakfast is between 8:30 and 9:30 only - very restrictive and because of the small window, they should at least have more staff and more counters for breakfast. The staff are however, very friendly despite being overworked. The internet was not working and the dinner choice same every night. This hotel has a fabulous view to the sea and if the owner can invest more, increase staff and get professional manager to run the business; it will be onto a winner. If you are with children and want a relaxing place, this is it. No pretence, just plain old friendly hotel. In my view, if I had paid around £60-75 per night, I would have given a 5 star review.

Reviewed by
Ravishankar A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Victorian weekend
Very expensive for basic accommodation, car parking was difficult due to all the activities going on. Breakfast was reasonable and the Sunday carvery was good value.

Reviewed by
J Daniel

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Llandudno Bank Holiday Weekend
The view over the seafront was great and the room was basic but comfortable. However, there was an empty shower gel container in the shower on arrival and the temperature dial on the shower was broken so not adjustable. The television did not work, it would not switch off standby (remote missing?) and there was no option for clean dry towels over the 3 nights. The staff were pleasant and friendly but the breakfast was not! Overall at £120 per night this room was very overpriced. I wonder if the price was increased as it was the Llandudno Extravaganza Weekend?

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Self serve breakfast from Asda and Sainsbury cereal packets
I am amazed this is on your books. I have now read other reviews. It is not worth £25 let alone £50. So much for the 'only one room left' the place was empty. The shabbiest I have ever stayed in. Food inedible.
The hotel was almost empty. Only 3 other people for Breakfast. Asda and Sainsbury cereal packets, stale white bread and undrinkable coffee.
Hard, salty, inedible bacon, watery baked beans, anaemic eggs, stained tablecloth.
The shower base was badly marked with mould.
The advert said only one room left!!!

Reviewed by
lynda a

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff
Had a very enjoyable overnight stay at the Regency Royal. We had come to see 'The Hollies' and this was an ideal venue for the theatre (less than 5 minute walk). They do pre-theatre dinners too. Staff couldn't have been nicer. Sad thing was - we were the only people in the hotel! Felt very strange. Please give them your support - they deserve it x

Reviewed by
Michael E

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid view, ...er, that's about all.
Hotel room offered a panaromic view of Llandudno bay but was very dated inside. My son did like the old style guest lift mainly because he enjoyed operating the sliding cage door. It was booked as a family room, and comprised 1 double + 1 single bed, but it was very cramped. Small TV mounted up by the ceiling - you could mistake it for a CCTV monitor. Shower was pathetic; small head, low pressure, water temperature - tepid at best, hairdryer didn't work.
Had dinner on first night in the restaurant going for the Indian menu, very slow service, average quality, overpriced. Would have been quicker, cheaper and the food would have been at least as good ordering from a nearby takeway and sitting on the beach. Breakfast was Ok, but distinguishing between the tea and coffee provided was made challenging by them both being so weak. There was no effort put into clearing away debris from guests who had eaten earlier. On the second morning we ate at a table for 10 or more as there were no smaller tables left.
There was no acknowledgement of the generally poor service when we checked out, I can't believe, they weren't aware of the dissatisfaction of other guests as well as ourselves. It was the August bank holiday but the price per night represented very poor value.

Reviewed by
G Powers

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A disappointing stay - this is not value for money
We booked a room from Laterooms for the Regency Royal Hotel. The Laterooms website had stated that the room was originally down from £200 to £100, so we had high expectations. Having looked at the Royal Regency website, we soon realised there were no rooms for £200. All the double rooms were priced at £50 pp. After much to-ing and fro-ing, mentioning such words as misrepresentation and office of fair trading, we later found out that this was the fault of the hotel and it has now been rectified. The room was very small. The TV only had one working channel, which the member of staff who came to check it said was because of the sea! The kettle was directly under the TV and electrical points, which was dangerous - when we turned the kettle on, a shrill beeping sound ensued. We did have a lovely view of the sea, however. Breakfast was between 8.30 and 9.30, which is quite a late start in catering. However, the staff still hadn't finished preparations at 8.30. Food quickly ran out and was of a poor quality, apart from the bacon. Andy the receptionist appeared pleasant enough. However, one was left with the impression that the niceties were merely complacent platitudes.

Reviewed by
Gina D

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not happy
Shower: dirty mould in tile Joints Towel rail hanging off wall/ screws loose in wardrobe/ bathroom very small/ pictures of bedroom and bathroom were not as advertised /are the pictures the same hotel???????? overall the hotel needs a good clean outside and in

Reviewed by
j riley

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room small, mismatched and very dated
I was disappointed in the quality of the bedroom and bathroom. Obviously room had recently been redecorated, new pictures to replace the faded ones, , curtains that matched each other, and a TV that worked properly would have made the stay more pleasant. We decided to skip breafast as our general opinion was not wanting to spend longer than necessary in the hotel- or town!

Reviewed by
P Brown

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next