No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alamo Guest House

3Visit Scotland Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
46 GRAY STREET Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow, G3 7SE
PLEASE NOTE; CHECK-IN IS BETWEEN 10am - 9pm (all rooms guaranteed ready by 2pm). EARLIER or LATER CHECK-INS TO BE ARRANGED PRIOR TO BOOKING/ ARRIVAL. Once checked in, you get your room key and front door key and can come and go as you please.

The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House, which overlooks Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University.

This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (The Maclellan Gallery, Rennie Mackintosh's Glasgow School of Art, Willow Tea Rooms, Modern Art Gallery, George Square, the Lighthouse, Theatres etc.); The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Hunterian Museum & Gallery, Mackintosh House, Kelvin Hall, Museum of Transport, Botanical Gardens, Byres Road, Ashton Lane etc.); Riverside (Science Centre, IMAX Cinema, the S.E.C.C. etc.). Also within 2 minutes walk are some of the best restaurants, bars, cafes and pubs in Glasgow.

We are only ten miles from Glasgow’s International Airport (20 minutes by car). Kelvin Hall and Kelvin Bridge underground stations are 5-10 minutes walk away and Central & Queen Street Stations only 5 minutes by taxi. All local buses, to almost all of Glasgow, as well as the Glasgow Tour Bus are 2 minutes away. Day trips touring the West Coast, Highlands, Loch Lomond, The Trossachs and The Clyde Valley are all within easy reach.
Picture of Alamo Guest House, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A blast from the past
Great location for local attractions and for getting around Glasgow.
Very helpful and hospitable staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.
Comfortable room, but an extra toilet would be helpful as facilities are shared among several rooms.

Reviewed by
M Cantor

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
A Tyson

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely folk, great art and in a very handy location. Friendly, fun and bit quirky
Friendly welcome, really personable people.
Some smashing art in dining area, lovely ambience, great street, handy for everything. Museums, all the sports events, Glasgow uni, the par. Just great. Choice of bathrooms and a quiet garden aswell

Reviewed by
Gordon K

From Troon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Stay @ the Alamo Glasgow
When myself and wife first went into the guest house., we were greeted straight away with emma, who welcomed us. She invited us to the main drawing room which was set up for breakfasts or just a rest area to relax. The actual owners managed and live on site with their family which i thought was fantastic that they has a large victorian guest house which they can use as a home and business. My wife and i were offered to choice from 2 bedrooms , we opted for the larger room on the first floor beside the breakfast room. It was beautiful and had a king size bed with en suite. (lcd tv, dvd,free wifi tea/coffee) etc. The building had real charm and homely atmosphere - even had the family cat there , flash (21). Every thing clean and peaceful. Next morning breakfast is between am- 10 am. All the normal on offer , fresh juice and tea/coffee. Steve served my wife and i and it was busy with the other guests. Very calm and relaxing. The alamo is located about 10 minutes from glasgow city centre via taxi/car. I would use again with no issue and will do so in the next few month and will recommend the family guest house.

Reviewed by
lee kerr

From GREENISLAND, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Best hotel I have stayed in. Friendly and easy going. Has a very homely feeling. Food was great, lots of choice. The room itself was gorgeous. Very unique style. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
A Rolland

From Shotts, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 Brilliant Days
We booked the Alamo with a little concern about not having an en-suite bathroom but there was no problem or worries. Dressing gowns were provided and the bathroom was very close. It was like home from home, relaxing and excellent service. The guest house was delightful very good breakfast, afternoon tea provided after a day in Glasgow. Beautiful views over Kelvingrove Park from the dining room looking over to Kelvingrove Museum and the University. Free parking from 6.00pm Fri to 8am Monday in the street outside. Good position for Glasgow shopping and sights. No negatives. Well done.

Reviewed by
Sheila M

From Pickering, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

alamo
Lovely.friendly.the cat was lovely too.

Reviewed by
Kym B

From Edinburgh , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
We got this room at a great deal. It had to be one of the nicest hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. (and we have been to the Bellagio in Las Vegas). The mod cons were all new and we had a wonderful view (even though we were on the first floor). The people there welcomed us and were so accommodating (when we bought in some traditional black pudding, they cooked it for us). We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
W Muir

From USA
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly place to stay
Nothing was too much trouble.. Great location. Would go and stay again

Reviewed by
stephanie m

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Experience
Very nice family run hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. A bit more water pressure in the shower would be good but the whole experience was great. couple running the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
D Caldwell

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next