No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tan-Yr-Onnen Guest House

5Visit Wales Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Tan-yr-Onnen, Waen, , Saint Asaph, LL17 0DU
Tan-yr-Onnen Guest house is set within six acres of gardens and fields in the beautiful Vale of Clwyd at the foot of the Clwydian range. See the local area page for information on things to do in this part of North Wales.

Guests can relax in the comfortable lounge, or spacious conservatory - an ideal place to plan your next day exploring North Wales. A computer with free Internet access is also available for your use for checking webmail etc.

In the morning enjoy a tasty Welsh breakfast of locally sourced produce with home baked bread, cereals, fruit juices and fresh tea and coffee to set you up for the day. There are six bedrooms.

Four are ground floor king-size rooms with ensuite superior bathrooms. These rooms enjoy the benefit of French windows opening onto a terrace, for you to enjoy the beautiful view on a summer's evening with a cool glass of wine.

All rooms are furnished to a very high standard and all of them offer colour TV/DVD/Freeview, free wi-fi internet access, tea and coffee making facilities, radio alarms, fluffy towels and bathrobes, and all those little extras to make your stay all the more enjoyable.

There is also plenty of private parking at the property. Patrick and Sara are used to looking after their guests, and in 2002 they won the 'Booker Prize for Excellence - Best Forecourt Shop' when running their previous business.

Tan-yr-Onnen offers quality comfortable non-smoking bed and breakfast accommodation. All rooms have been recently refurbished to a high standard.

Picture of Tan-Yr-Onnen Guest House, Saint Asaph at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tan-Yr-Onnen Guest House
Wonderful.

Reviewed by
S Corker

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay in North Wales
Great hosts (Sara and Patrick made us feel especially welcome)
Great accomodation - beautiful family suite in secluded country side
Great breakfast
What's not to like?

Reviewed by
Keith Cross

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect stay
I have stayed in many hotels and b&bs and this is the easiest review I've ever done. Beautiful room, great welcome and breakfast. Cannot fault in any way. Ate at the Plough St Asaph - also a really nice welcome and meal.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I cannot recommend Tan-Yr-Onnen enough. Wonderful stay with wonderful hosts. Could not be more welcoming. The room was clean and modern and the breakfast was top notch! Could not fault.

Reviewed by
P Richardson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room and hotel, would definitely stay here again and would also recommend it to friends

Reviewed by
David W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
Quite simply..the best place we have stayed at in the whole country.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best b&b i have stayed in
Patrick and Sara are both very friendly helpful hosts.The room and bathroom was spotless with bath robes and chocolates waiting on our bed.The view from outside our room was stunning.The cooked breakfast was the best i have ever had and the fruit salad was fresh and very tasty.I would recommend staying there to anyone and we definitely will be going back.Only negative was having to leave.Dreading trying to find a place as nice as it to stay anywhere else.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Middlewich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This place sets the standard!
First class in every respect. Great attention to detail and guest comfort. They set the standard by which others should be judged.

Reviewed by
Mike Evans

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't praise this guest house enough
Sara, Patrick and their girls are a wonderful family and they make you so welcome, nothing is too much trouble and you really feel like you are part of their family. The Snowdrop room which we were in was immaculate, so spacious and the bed was sooo comfortable that it was hard to get out of in the mornings!!! Only the thought of the fantastic breakfast did the trick!!! The cleanliness of the bathroom had to be seen to be believed as Sara scrubs the bathrooms from top to bottom every day. This guest house really deserves its 5 stars and all the awards the family have won. We will certainly come back here again.

Reviewed by
T Hutt

From Banbury , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
My partially disabled wife and I stayed at Tan-yr-Onnen for 3 days in May to visit family locally. Our son also stayed in a room adjacent to ours. We booked Sara and Patricks disabled friendly room which has a very high quality spacious wet room and level access to the front patio area. Although the room would have been a bit 'snug' for a wheelchair user the room perfectly suited my wife's needs as she uses a walker. Just what we needed and much better than most of the more expensive hotels nearby.
Our hosts were so friendly and went out of their way to ensure everything was fine with us. They even made contact after our online late rooms booking to suggest that they moved our son from the room I had booked to the one immediately next to ours.
Brecky was great - really nice quality. They also kindly left us a light breakfast in our room's (silent!) fridges so we could get off very early to drive on to Scotland.
We'll be back

Reviewed by
Malcolm C

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next