No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT
For whatever reason you have chosen to visit the North East, you will find that the Highfield Hotel is ideally situated for all amenities.

As a base for your holiday you will be within an easy drive to the North Pennines, Hadrian's wall, Northumberland and the borders. To the east lie many coastal resorts and sailing facilities. The ancient city of Durham with its Cathedral, Castle and market are just minutes to the south. For shopping you will be spoiled for choice. The world famous Metro Centre and Eldon Square are within 20 minutes drive and you will find the city of Durham and Sunderland a shoppers paradise.

Our well appointed Star of Siam authentic Thai restaurant is the longest established Thai restaurant in the North East It caters for 195 persons giving them magnificent views of Penshaw Monument and surrounding valley.We are open seven days a week,serving lunch and dinners .Whether it's a simple business lunch for two or that special occasion, our menus will suit all.Six of our rooms have balcony's with views of Penshaw monument and surrounding valleys. Most of our rooms have free wi-fi connectivity, which is also available in the bar.which is ideal for that quiet meeting where coffee or snacks can be arranged.
Picture of Highfield Hotel, Houghton-Le-Spring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good stop over
great for the price, friendly staff, warm room with a comfy bed and plenty of space, a bit dated and maybe a little frayed round the edges, but then again, so am I so it was all good!

Reviewed by
sarah g

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Brilliant. Couldn't fault a thing. Nice staff. Beautiful food. Excellent room. Will definitely go again .

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Great value, clean room, good facilities, would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Peter K

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
I have stayed here many times before and cannot rate this hotel highly enough given the price. The hotel incorporates a Thai restaurant which serves the best quality Thia food i can find anywhere outside of London!!
The rooms hsve been recently refurbished and this makes the whole stay even beter!!

Reviewed by
L Stubbings

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly, clean, comfortable but noisy
Nice welcome. Room comfortable and clean. Decor lovely. Facilities a little lacking - no glasses or phone in room (or wifi but you know that when you book). Breakfast staff very nice and breakfast good but not huge selection. Only issue i would raise was noise from pub and dual carriageway right outside pub which meant had to sleep with window closed so a bit warm.

Reviewed by
samantha V

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel an fab food.Friendly staff .All round a very nice hotel. Will defo be back!
Excellent all round. Couldnt fault it at all. Lovely rooms with comfy beds an to top it off a great bar downstairs and a fantastic chinese/ cantonese restaurant 2 dye 4. Cant wait to come again x

Reviewed by
robert edgcumbe

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight
Very good value at the price I paid. Very clean & pleasant facilities.

Reviewed by
B Leadbeater

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quirky but would stay again
As we were waiting to check in the couple in front were asked lots of friendly questions about their stay and weekend ahead. We were given the key and told where the room was. I'd booked the bridal sweet as a treat, it turned out to be a large room that was a bit tatty and dated with European modernist paintings next to the Thai and 80s decor. Very comfy big bed with clean sheets so had a great nights sleep. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath but no shower a but looked like it had been 're tiled recently so looked nice. Staff at breakfast were really lovely and were shocked to hear we had not been told about our breakfast in bed (part of the bridal room service) - the breakfast was very nice and cooked fresh. All in all a quirky family owned place that's nice to stay in. I get the impression that they are updating what they can when they can. I'd stay again but I'd probably go for the executive double next time.

Reviewed by
E Hunter

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good experience.wished i could have stayed longer.
Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Minnie L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for business travellers
A good value stay for business travellers. Clean tidy rooms. Have probably stayed here on around ten separate occasions over last three years.

Reviewed by
Dave M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next