Reviews - Highfield Hotel


101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT

Price From 101.26 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (89)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Graham Crawford

  • October 2015

Ideal for any occasion

I am field based and always need to book last minute.

First time here and I loved it. Best sleep I've had in years and a great breakfast in the morning.

  • L Stubbings

  • October 2015

Simply Fantastic

This is my hotel of choice whenever I visit the North East.

And it simply keeps getting better and better. Great staff, Great food and a newly refurbished room. Very highly recommended!.

  • Suzanne w

  • September 2015

Fabulous nights sleep!

Lovely friendly hotel.

Very very clean and suited our needs. Close to Rainton Meadows Arena, so very handy.

Just watch the slope through the doorway on the first floor, I went flying. No bones broken I am glad to say.

  • l young

  • September 2015

Highfield Hotel

The Hotel was situated around 5 miles from Durham City Centre, and around 10 miles from Beamish Museum, an ideal location for visiting both.

Our room was clean and comfortable, but a little dated. Friendly staff and a great thai restaurant. We would stay again

  • Ken M

  • August 2015

Thai quando

A good budget-class choice, rooms a bit tired, double glazing all steamed up in mine.

Staff helpful and friendly. Bed clean and comfortable. Restaurant good if you like Thai food. Good breakfast.

  • Paul U

  • August 2015

Good find on

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at Highfields.

Good friendly staff, clean comfortable room. Good bar serving excellent bar meals, plus the added bonus of a Thai restaurant within the building. The bar and restaurants seem very popular with locals, as well as hotel guests.

Only slight downside, is that the hotel is sandwiched between a busy dual carriageway and the old main road. However, keeping the windows closed kept noise to a minimum, but did make the room very hot at night. Superb views across the countryside from the front side of the hotel.

  • Beryl W

  • August 2015

slight tweaking required

the bathroom was a bit iffy, shower curtain dirty along the bottom, and dripping tap that wouldn't turn off.

on a happier note, the bed was comfortable, and the staff were friendly and accommodating

  • L Baxter

  • August 2015

Lovely stay

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff couldn't be more helpful and the accommodation was clean and tidy.

Would definitely go back.

  • P Hart

  • June 2015

At last a hotel that gives what it promises

An absolute pleasure to stay at this family run Hotel, no fuss efficient check in/ check out , lovely clean rooms, polite, helpful, knowledgeable staff.

We had six bar meals and 6 breakfasts during our stay each one of them faultless. Top class Highfield, thanks


  • June 2015

Great Hotel

Everything about the hotel is great.

The Staff were so helpful and friendly could always find time to stop and chat. The Thai restaurant was excellent and well priced. I can only say good things about this hotel.