No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT
For whatever reason you have chosen to visit the North East, you will find that the Highfield Hotel is ideally situated for all amenities.

As a base for your holiday you will be within an easy drive to the North Pennines, Hadrian's wall, Northumberland and the borders. To the east lie many coastal resorts and sailing facilities. The ancient city of Durham with its Cathedral, Castle and market are just minutes to the south. For shopping you will be spoiled for choice. The world famous Metro Centre and Eldon Square are within 20 minutes drive and you will find the city of Durham and Sunderland a shoppers paradise.

Our well appointed Star of Siam authentic Thai restaurant is the longest established Thai restaurant in the North East It caters for 195 persons giving them magnificent views of Penshaw Monument and surrounding valley.We are open seven days a week,serving lunch and dinners .Whether it's a simple business lunch for two or that special occasion, our menus will suit all.Six of our rooms have balcony's with views of Penshaw monument and surrounding valleys. Most of our rooms have free wi-fi connectivity, which is also available in the bar.which is ideal for that quiet meeting where coffee or snacks can be arranged.
Picture of Highfield Hotel, Houghton-Le-Spring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight
Very good value at the price I paid. Very clean & pleasant facilities.

Reviewed by
B Leadbeater

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quirky but would stay again
As we were waiting to check in the couple in front were asked lots of friendly questions about their stay and weekend ahead. We were given the key and told where the room was. I'd booked the bridal sweet as a treat, it turned out to be a large room that was a bit tatty and dated with European modernist paintings next to the Thai and 80s decor. Very comfy big bed with clean sheets so had a great nights sleep. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath but no shower a but looked like it had been 're tiled recently so looked nice. Staff at breakfast were really lovely and were shocked to hear we had not been told about our breakfast in bed (part of the bridal room service) - the breakfast was very nice and cooked fresh. All in all a quirky family owned place that's nice to stay in. I get the impression that they are updating what they can when they can. I'd stay again but I'd probably go for the executive double next time.

Reviewed by
E Hunter

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good experience.wished i could have stayed longer.
Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Minnie L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for business travellers
A good value stay for business travellers. Clean tidy rooms. Have probably stayed here on around ten separate occasions over last three years.

Reviewed by
Dave M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saturday night stay
Reception and dining room staff could not be more helpful. Some noise from A690 but double glazing keeps it to a minimum. Decent bar and selection of food, very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Peter D

From Epping, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was clean with ample supply of lovely fluffy towels and tea and coffee.
Found the noise from the road a bit of a problem but good value for money.

Reviewed by
R Taylor

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a bit basic for a bridal suite. Doors wouldnt shut properly. Lamps had no bulbs and when I asked reception they didnt want to know. Also room didnt have the bare essentials which where an iron and ironing board which I asked reception to get me these and nothing. I had to go out and buy one to iron my shirt for a friend of mines wedding. And not to mention the food was disgraceful it arrived half cooked it was chicken breast. Nearly had a case of salmonella poisoning on our hands but it was resolved when I sent it back they did give me a fresh meal and a free starter.

Reviewed by
daniel w

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no light bulbs in bed side lights. No shower just bath in the bridal suite. TVs not working.

Reviewed by
Amy S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you liked the 1970s you will like this tired hotel

Reviewed by
Anne B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Needed somewhere inexpensive but acceptable and was recommended the Highfield by a colleague who had stayed there previously. It could do with some updating but was clean, with comfortable bed, a decent breakfast and good value bar meals (and a Thai restaurant on the premises, although I didn't try it) so I'm not complaining. Only £40 a night. With some cheaper options you just know you'll never go there again but I'd be happy to book here in the future.

ManagementResponse

Hello and thank you for your review. I am glad you had a pleasant stay while with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. The £40 is the lowest room rate we do for a stay in the hotel and as such those are the last rooms to be updated. We do have refurbished room available which are available at a premium and can be reserved through any of our reservation channels

Reviewed by
Jonathan C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next