No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT
For whatever reason you have chosen to visit the North East, you will find that the Highfield Hotel is ideally situated for all amenities.

As a base for your holiday you will be within an easy drive to the North Pennines, Hadrian's wall, Northumberland and the borders. To the east lie many coastal resorts and sailing facilities. The ancient city of Durham with its Cathedral, Castle and market are just minutes to the south. For shopping you will be spoiled for choice. The world famous Metro Centre and Eldon Square are within 20 minutes drive and you will find the city of Durham and Sunderland a shoppers paradise.

Our well appointed Star of Siam authentic Thai restaurant is the longest established Thai restaurant in the North East It caters for 195 persons giving them magnificent views of Penshaw Monument and surrounding valley.We are open seven days a week,serving lunch and dinners .Whether it's a simple business lunch for two or that special occasion, our menus will suit all.Six of our rooms have balcony's with views of Penshaw monument and surrounding valleys. Most of our rooms have free wi-fi connectivity, which is also available in the bar.which is ideal for that quiet meeting where coffee or snacks can be arranged.
Picture of Highfield Hotel, Houghton-Le-Spring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, welcoming staff, cosy room :-)
We stayed at Highfield Hotel as we were going to a 40's themed event at Beamish Museum (the Hotel is ideally located as it's only 20 mins from Beamish Museum) the event turned out to be absolutely rubbish, but the Hotel was the best part of our stay! The staff were welcoming, and very accomodating. When we were given our room keys (Was travelling with my mum, auntie and 2 year old son) our rooms were far apart. We were hoping to be close. But upon request of possibly getting rooms close together, the lady on reception instantly checked the system and moved our rooms so they were next door. The restaurant/bar area was beautiful! Really cosy, decorated beautiful and had lots of space. The food was delicious and my son and I received our food quite quickly. The bedrooms were lovely and warm and again decorated beautiful, spacious and clean. Overall really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Rachel W

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay.Rooms are a good size.Value for money
The hotel bathrooms are looking a bit tired and require updating ,but this will not stop me from booking a stay again.

Reviewed by
Robin N

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff very friendly and very attentive, room nice but found hairs in the bath and on the dressing table.
Breakfast was very nice.

Reviewed by
Allison H

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and so friendly
Great value and would not hesitate to stop here again. Staff were genuinely warm and friendly. Food was tasty and again great value. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
A Owen

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large well presented room with a comfortable bed and powerful shower. Although it was on a busy road the windows were very soundproof.

Reviewed by
Julie G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Cannot find fault with the hotel. The room was extremely comfortable, and the shower can only be described as being exceptional. The staff, from arrival to departure, were very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Definitely will stay there again when in the area.

Reviewed by
A Brown

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and clean
More than happy with my stay , nice spacious rooms and I thought very good value

Reviewed by
R Bradley

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All too brief a stay
Was able to book in without any problems. Room was clean and tidy with decent facilities. Didn't actually get back to the room until very late, which again was not a problem. Friendly night staff were on hand to make sure I had all I needed. Bed was comfy and room was nice and warm. Can't complain at all

Reviewed by
Richard B

From Merseyside, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highfield Hotel, good value for money
Perfectly adequate hotel with all the usual facilities including free wifi. Very reasonably priced and convenient for Durham and Sunderland. Friendly and helpful staff - for some reason our twin room booking had become a double on the system, but was quickly and cheerfully corrected.
There is a Thai restaurant, but I'm not a big fan of Thai food, so we ate off the Bar Menu, which had enough scope to keep most people happy. Breakfast was more than adequate without being thriling, worth adding to your booking.
I will cheerfully stay here again next time.

Reviewed by
John L

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large room
Booked a cheap single, got a large double with balcony. food and beer very good.

Reviewed by
S Wood-Antill

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next