Reviews - Highfield Hotel


101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (93)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Sharon C

  • May 2014

Pleasant room

For a one night stay,the highfield hotel had everything you would need.

  • John L

  • May 2014

Just the job for Durham/Sunderland

Third time I've stayed here which probably tells you all you need to know.

Perhaps not the poshest Hotel in County Durham but has everything you need for a comfortable stay. A friendly welcome, good sized room with everything you need, very good value for money. Breakfast doesn't have much "continental" option, butt cereals, full English and toast fine with me and well worth the cost.

  • Mark K

  • May 2014

Value for money

I stayed here as it was close to an event I was attending.

First impressions weren't great as reception was unmanned but it was a busy Friday night in the bar. Staff were very friendly. Room was bigger than expected, paid for a single and got a twin. Bathroom could have done with an update, missing grout in places. Water pipes were a little noisy, but the bottom line was it comfortable, clean and cheap.

  • A foster

  • April 2014

for what it is .

For what it is the hotel was OK .

10 years ago it was probably a very good hotel but time has taken its toll and the fixtures and fittings are looking a bit ragged.could do with a makeover instead of scrappy maintenance.

  • E Dodd

  • April 2014

Could do better

We stayed in the Highfield Hotel for 2 nights recently.

Booked a double room but were given the bridal suite as all the doubles had been booked. Large, nicely presented room and very large bed but with firm mattress. Lovely soft carpet. Kettle had to be plugged in at a small table away from drinks preparation area as it didn't stretch to the plug underneath. Jacuzzi bath was nice but needs a shower attachment for hair washing at the very least. Radiator in the bathroom was useless, either off or barely lukewarm, needed bleeding, hence quite cold. Breakfast was served in the Thai restaurant and the first morning the floor was really sticky. First morning had buffet style cooked breakfast, second morning ordered cooked items using tick sheet. Food was ok although poached egg had been cooked with vinegar which was all I could taste. The staff were very friendly and helpful except the man who locked my husband out when he was out having a cigarette before bed. Luckily he had his mobile, I had to go down and let him back in.

  • P Terry

  • April 2014

Highfield Hotel

Room 6 - first impression looked good however the bedroom furniture looked tired, handles were loose.

No heating in the room we had to ask reception, they repaired the fault quickly. The double glazing door to balcony was blown and we could not see the view. The bathroom toilet seat was so wobbly to the point that there was a good chance you could fall off the loo. Evening meal in the Star of Siam was very nice and the Breakfast was very good indeed - lovely staff.

  • James B

  • March 2014

basic but comfortable

good value for money as a no frills stop over

  • D Burgess

  • March 2014

Going Back To Stay Again

Very simply great value for money.

The staff went out of their way to be helpful, and the meal at the restaurant was just exquisite. I am looking forward to staying there again later this year, and thank you to all the staff.

  • B Shaw

  • March 2014

Value for money

Excellent value for money.

This is my second stay.

  • B Abbot

  • March 2014

Weekend away

Pro's - nice clean rooms, very large rooms, balcony, powerful hot shower, very nice decor, staff were efficient and available at all times, bar was very nice.

Areas for improvement - balcony was dirty (full of fag ends, ear buds and needed mopping etc), had to fill out a form at the table for breakfast rather than waitress taking the order (very strange - not had that before), staff weren't over friendly & welcoming, I didn't like breakfast as everything was over cooked (however my girlfriend loved it as she likes her food overlooked).

All in all, I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends.