No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT
For whatever reason you have chosen to visit the North East, you will find that the Highfield Hotel is ideally situated for all amenities.

As a base for your holiday you will be within an easy drive to the North Pennines, Hadrian's wall, Northumberland and the borders. To the east lie many coastal resorts and sailing facilities. The ancient city of Durham with its Cathedral, Castle and market are just minutes to the south. For shopping you will be spoiled for choice. The world famous Metro Centre and Eldon Square are within 20 minutes drive and you will find the city of Durham and Sunderland a shoppers paradise.

Our well appointed Star of Siam authentic Thai restaurant is the longest established Thai restaurant in the North East It caters for 195 persons giving them magnificent views of Penshaw Monument and surrounding valley.We are open seven days a week,serving lunch and dinners .Whether it's a simple business lunch for two or that special occasion, our menus will suit all.Six of our rooms have balcony's with views of Penshaw monument and surrounding valleys. Most of our rooms have free wi-fi connectivity, which is also available in the bar.which is ideal for that quiet meeting where coffee or snacks can be arranged.
Picture of Highfield Hotel, Houghton-Le-Spring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant...Great value
Stayed at this hotel for an appointment at the passport office the next morning (should have been in the Dominican Republic but will be there on Friday!!).
The hotel staff were very friendly on arrival and made me feel welcome. The rooms were of a good standard, clean and tidy with all necessary facilities. Had a great meal in the Thai restaurant, the waiter was very friendly and accommodating and enjoyed the whole experience. The food was excellent, a must!
As I travel a lot on business I will definitely stay here again...Highly recommended and very close to Durham city centre.....Thanks

Reviewed by
MATT PRESTON

From REDDITCH, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an absolute pleasure
An excellent hotel with such friendly staff that I felt that they would bend over backwards to help with whatever came along. A bit dissapointed with one of the bar staff, but only on one occasion. The Thai resteraunt attached to the hotel served some of the best food I have had in a long time ( I used to live and work with some people from Thailand ) and the waiters were very friendly and helpfull.

Reviewed by
robert a

From Craigavon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room review
The room was for me n my partner as we just for married that day my wife had to go ask we're the bottle of wine was it was not given to us as said also there was no phone to contact reception and the breakfast was very poor very greasy n over cooked

Reviewed by
barry willey

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ambience
Everyone was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for our comfort

Reviewed by
S Kay

From Rotherham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
Lovely and friendly people and nice room with balcony. Great thai restaurant.

Reviewed by
J Farley

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value accommodation
Lovely big room, with an extremely comfortable king sized bed. The room had a fridge which was very handy for keeping drinks cold during the hot weather. Our room was at the back of the hotel and may have benefitted from a half net curtain to give privacy from the houses opposite. Ate in the hotel bar both nights, excellent food, but couldn't find anyone easily to pay!

Reviewed by
Janet A

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Quite a way out of Durham and although close to the busy A690, we were not disturbed by traffic noise at night. Finding this place via Late Rooms was a godsend, as accommodation was at a premium during the height of the graduation season. Room was spacious and very comfortable and clean. The rest of the hotel could have done with some attention, the decor is tired looking and public areas not as clean as could be. Breakfast was reasonable, however I would suggest they sort their hot water source out as the tea/coffe was disgusting! Altogether it was a relaxing and comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
M C

From Whitstable, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Excellent value for money

Reviewed by
R Woodhouse

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
very nice room

Reviewed by
William Hunter

From Aldershot, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the way north...
I needed somewhere to stay overnight while travelling north. This hotel offered good value for money with the added bonus of an excellent thai restaurant for an evening meal. The hotel is quite closeto a busy road so if you're a light sleeper you might ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Julia S

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next