No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT
For whatever reason you have chosen to visit the North East, you will find that the Highfield Hotel is ideally situated for all amenities.

As a base for your holiday you will be within an easy drive to the North Pennines, Hadrian's wall, Northumberland and the borders. To the east lie many coastal resorts and sailing facilities. The ancient city of Durham with its Cathedral, Castle and market are just minutes to the south. For shopping you will be spoiled for choice. The world famous Metro Centre and Eldon Square are within 20 minutes drive and you will find the city of Durham and Sunderland a shoppers paradise.

Our well appointed Star of Siam authentic Thai restaurant is the longest established Thai restaurant in the North East It caters for 195 persons giving them magnificent views of Penshaw Monument and surrounding valley.We are open seven days a week,serving lunch and dinners .Whether it's a simple business lunch for two or that special occasion, our menus will suit all.Six of our rooms have balcony's with views of Penshaw monument and surrounding valleys. Most of our rooms have free wi-fi connectivity, which is also available in the bar.which is ideal for that quiet meeting where coffee or snacks can be arranged.
Picture of Highfield Hotel, Houghton-Le-Spring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
I have stayed at Highfield previously and have enjoyed the hospitality and standard of service both in the past and on this occasion. Further, the location is very convenient for me. I will look to book this hotel again in future.

Reviewed by
A Jopling

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real value for money. Recommend it.
Knew the names of nearly all the staff after 1 night, very friendly, Bubbly Sophie, Steph behind the bar,, Kay, Gavin in the lovely recommended Thai restaurant, and large bar area. Would stay here again without hesitation. Requested a printed map of a particular location, at reception and this was brought to my room by I understand the owner, very quickly. Typical North East hospitality. The hotel manager, if he reads this may want to update his fire risk assessment, (fire signage).

Reviewed by
K Smith

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great price
Great price friendly staff. No complaints

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Skipton, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
If your on a budge then this the place for you, large clean rooms, excellent staff and enjoyable food.

Reviewed by
paul bell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value late rooms..
excellent value rooms, definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
L Shaw

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for business
Clean and very friendly staff

Reviewed by
Dan E

From Yarm, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
Very satisfactory

Reviewed by
B T

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant...Great value
Stayed at this hotel for an appointment at the passport office the next morning (should have been in the Dominican Republic but will be there on Friday!!).
The hotel staff were very friendly on arrival and made me feel welcome. The rooms were of a good standard, clean and tidy with all necessary facilities. Had a great meal in the Thai restaurant, the waiter was very friendly and accommodating and enjoyed the whole experience. The food was excellent, a must!
As I travel a lot on business I will definitely stay here again...Highly recommended and very close to Durham city centre.....Thanks

Reviewed by
MATT PRESTON

From REDDITCH, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an absolute pleasure
An excellent hotel with such friendly staff that I felt that they would bend over backwards to help with whatever came along. A bit dissapointed with one of the bar staff, but only on one occasion. The Thai resteraunt attached to the hotel served some of the best food I have had in a long time ( I used to live and work with some people from Thailand ) and the waiters were very friendly and helpfull.

Reviewed by
robert a

From Craigavon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room review
The room was for me n my partner as we just for married that day my wife had to go ask we're the bottle of wine was it was not given to us as said also there was no phone to contact reception and the breakfast was very poor very greasy n over cooked

Reviewed by
barry willey

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next