No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT
For whatever reason you have chosen to visit the North East, you will find that the Highfield Hotel is ideally situated for all amenities.

As a base for your holiday you will be within an easy drive to the North Pennines, Hadrian's wall, Northumberland and the borders. To the east lie many coastal resorts and sailing facilities. The ancient city of Durham with its Cathedral, Castle and market are just minutes to the south. For shopping you will be spoiled for choice. The world famous Metro Centre and Eldon Square are within 20 minutes drive and you will find the city of Durham and Sunderland a shoppers paradise.

Our well appointed Star of Siam authentic Thai restaurant is the longest established Thai restaurant in the North East It caters for 195 persons giving them magnificent views of Penshaw Monument and surrounding valley.We are open seven days a week,serving lunch and dinners .Whether it's a simple business lunch for two or that special occasion, our menus will suit all.Six of our rooms have balcony's with views of Penshaw monument and surrounding valleys. Most of our rooms have free wi-fi connectivity, which is also available in the bar.which is ideal for that quiet meeting where coffee or snacks can be arranged.
Picture of Highfield Hotel, Houghton-Le-Spring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

better than expected
A lot better hotel than a thought it would be. Room was good. Only flaw was lack of a shower.

Reviewed by
chris m

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent

Reviewed by
stephen w

From Sunderland, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Chap
The Hotel was clean and the Staff very friendly. During my stay I felt relaxed and at home, there was no ‘stand off’ attitude towards the customers (an attitude which I am seeing more and more on my travels but fortunately not here), everything that I asked for was given with a smile and very prompt on delivery.
After booking I was called by the management to inform me that a wedding was taking place over my stay and that it may become noisier than normal. I was ask if I wanted to change my room (which I had the opportunity to specifically book online) or indeed cancel my booking. The fact that the team bothered to carry out a follow up call after booking filled me with confidence that this hotel was right for me.
Would I use this hotel again? Simply ‘Yes’.

Reviewed by
A Mechen

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Very good hotel , will use again next time in UK

Reviewed by
Stewart Harrison

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Highfield Hotel
I enjoyed my stay as the room was spacious, there were two single beds (which I pushed together), it was quiet as I had requested to be at the back, and I was left in peace in the morning. I also like the option of not having breakfast. The only flaw was that there was no socket behind the bed, and the lamp flex did not stretch far enough to give adequate light to read in bed.

Reviewed by
W Hancock

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always good and great value when booking thru' Laterooms

Reviewed by
Steve Buckley

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
For the £35 price I did well, although I would recommend you ask fora room at the back of the hotel as I had to change mine due to the noise of the dual carrieagway and the lack of double glazing outside the one originally allocated. Having said that, the receptionist was extremely helpful and changed me to another, quieter and larger toom straight away. Breakfast lady was helpful and pleasant, and the food was edible but nothing special. Room was dusty but not dirty and bed was clean.

Reviewed by
R Wheatley

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highfield hotel review
When we entered the hotel we thought it looked ok.
The staff were very friendly and helpful but alas the room which we stayed in wasnt very clean.
The plughole was full of body hairs trapped in the waste pipe.the whole floor stank of cigarette smoke so someone was smocking in the rooms and the heating wasnt working correctly.

Reviewed by
nigel Beadle

From Cudham Kent, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall Experience
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was clean, cosy, decent food, and gave a good experience after a hard days work.

Reviewed by
R Fearnside

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleased with my stay room great for the price,friendly staff and nice food

Reviewed by
christina w

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next