No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT
For whatever reason you have chosen to visit the North East, you will find that the Highfield Hotel is ideally situated for all amenities.

As a base for your holiday you will be within an easy drive to the North Pennines, Hadrian's wall, Northumberland and the borders. To the east lie many coastal resorts and sailing facilities. The ancient city of Durham with its Cathedral, Castle and market are just minutes to the south. For shopping you will be spoiled for choice. The world famous Metro Centre and Eldon Square are within 20 minutes drive and you will find the city of Durham and Sunderland a shoppers paradise.

Our well appointed Star of Siam authentic Thai restaurant is the longest established Thai restaurant in the North East It caters for 195 persons giving them magnificent views of Penshaw Monument and surrounding valley.We are open seven days a week,serving lunch and dinners .Whether it's a simple business lunch for two or that special occasion, our menus will suit all.Six of our rooms have balcony's with views of Penshaw monument and surrounding valleys. Most of our rooms have free wi-fi connectivity, which is also available in the bar.which is ideal for that quiet meeting where coffee or snacks can be arranged.
Picture of Highfield Hotel, Houghton-Le-Spring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall Experience
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was clean, cosy, decent food, and gave a good experience after a hard days work.

Reviewed by
R Fearnside

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleased with my stay room great for the price,friendly staff and nice food

Reviewed by
christina w

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Practical Hotel
This hotel represents good value for money. It is not five star luxury, but it does what it says on the tin, clean, good nights sleep, reasonable breakfast, friendly staff.
Slight problem in that the radiators did not work in the room for some of the time, but there was an electric heater and I was offered another room. Slight noise of music late Friday night, from downstairs bar, but not too bad.
Close to bus stops which was handy for me, good view over fields, slight noise of traffic but it didn't worry me. Plenty of very hot water, room cleaned in day. Could have done with a plastic or glass cup in bathroom, but hey, I wasn't paying for the Ritz so not a huge problem.

Reviewed by
Jonathan B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There were a few minor repairs needed in the bathroom, and the double bed lay between separated headboards, which wasn't so good but the bed was still warm and comfortable and the lighting and access to switches quite adequate.I would have appreciated a non-caffiene option for a night arrival drink instead of tea and coffee, which would have kept me awake. The room was lovely, though and very well furnished and upholstered - apart from the bed heads. Plenty of towels but the bolt on the door was loose, perhaps due to someone previously forcing the door open against it. the time allowed for guests to stay in their room prior to departure was extremely helpful and generous, (11am) and the staff were warm, friendly, kind and helpful, too. The breakfast, including the pots of tea, offered good choice, but weren't actually hot. Maybe a hot cabinet is needed. Still, it was a good breakfast and the dining room was interesting as well. Maybe draught excluders on the glass doors? It was a lovely dining room, though and tables laid immaculately.

Reviewed by
A Landay

From St Andrews, Scotland
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best value in area, staff are v good, breakfast excellent value. i will stay again.

Reviewed by
M GREEN

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value in town!
We were a bit nervous about what twe would find having read some previous reviews. Based aon our experience we would thoroughly recommend this hotel on a value for money basis. Service was good and attentive, accomodation was clean and functional, food was ok: no complaints. Whoever owns this hotel is obviously trying hard and deserves to succeed. The solitary receptionist/barmaid/waitress/everything else worked very hard and was excellent: we hope she is rewarded appropriately.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Hesitation coming back time and time again!
Spent several weeks travelling South to North and back on business. After the first stay at Highfield Hotel I had no hesitation in returning week after week. It is great value for money. really spacious, clean accommodation. Personalised my stay by offering me the room of my choice when possible. Moved my room when I wasn't happy with the one I had previously and couldn't get a good wireless connection. Always contacted me if it was getting late and I had not arrived at expected time.
if you like luxury this is not the hotel for you. Nothing glamorous but if you want to feel safe, comfortable and not break the bank then this is the place for you.
The large bar area and fabulous Thai restaurant enabled me to enjoy my evening and eat great food with only a stair case to bed!

Reviewed by
C Street

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay! Would stay again!

Reviewed by
g h

From Houghton le Spring, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was lovely and clean, the staff were friendly and polite, was all that we expected it to be

Reviewed by
Mandy King-Holmes

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highfield Review
Location and price were 2 main factors in decision to stay. National Cross Country champs were down the road in Herrington Park so this location was ideal. Very reasonable price was what made us go for this hotel, and we were pleasantly surpprised by decent standard, especially for the price and the very friendly and personable staff working there. Didn't dine in eve, nut Breakfast the following morning was very decent for £5.

Reviewed by
R Burney

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next