No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT
For whatever reason you have chosen to visit the North East, you will find that the Highfield Hotel is ideally situated for all amenities.

As a base for your holiday you will be within an easy drive to the North Pennines, Hadrian's wall, Northumberland and the borders. To the east lie many coastal resorts and sailing facilities. The ancient city of Durham with its Cathedral, Castle and market are just minutes to the south. For shopping you will be spoiled for choice. The world famous Metro Centre and Eldon Square are within 20 minutes drive and you will find the city of Durham and Sunderland a shoppers paradise.

Our well appointed Star of Siam authentic Thai restaurant is the longest established Thai restaurant in the North East It caters for 195 persons giving them magnificent views of Penshaw Monument and surrounding valley.We are open seven days a week,serving lunch and dinners .Whether it's a simple business lunch for two or that special occasion, our menus will suit all.Six of our rooms have balcony's with views of Penshaw monument and surrounding valleys. Most of our rooms have free wi-fi connectivity, which is also available in the bar.which is ideal for that quiet meeting where coffee or snacks can be arranged.
Picture of Highfield Hotel, Houghton-Le-Spring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was lovely and clean, the staff were friendly and polite, was all that we expected it to be

Reviewed by
Mandy King-Holmes

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highfield Review
Location and price were 2 main factors in decision to stay. National Cross Country champs were down the road in Herrington Park so this location was ideal. Very reasonable price was what made us go for this hotel, and we were pleasantly surpprised by decent standard, especially for the price and the very friendly and personable staff working there. Didn't dine in eve, nut Breakfast the following morning was very decent for £5.

Reviewed by
R Burney

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed feelings
When booking the photographs of the hotel looked really good which decided us on where to stay.
On arrival, the customer service was first rate bit the room was disappointing. It was old, tired and in need of significant work to bring it up to standard. There was no double glazing in the room and this meant there was a high level of traffic noise as the hotel sits right by a main road. The bed had springs sticking up and didn't feel like it had been replaced since the hotel was built, although it was a king size (albeit two large singles so a big join down the middle.)
However, the food at both the evening meal and breakfast was excellent both in terms of quality and quantity.

Reviewed by
Trevor E

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst hotel ever
Total lack of service from every member of staff . Heating turned off during the day so don't come back early

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable value
Nice large room with good en suite, no exterior or interior noise when I stayed !! Food was good and a large Thai restaurant attached !
Overall great value for what I paid !!

Reviewed by
John W

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return to the north east
Our second vist to this hotel. Very convenient for visiting family and friends. Food and service were excellent . We were made to feel welcome as soon as we stepped through the door as the receptionist recognised us from a previous visit. Will be using this hotel again as it was good value for money too.

Reviewed by
Karen C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel for Sunderland
Worked at Sunderland FC and its an easy 11 mile drive to stadium. got a great value room at high field it was a VERY large room at high field. Very clean and tidy with a comfy bed and a pleasure shower. The hotel bar was lively
Luckily my room was at the other end of hotel but can imagine it can be disturbing. Will gladly stay again.

Reviewed by
Adam O

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it was comfy and staff are happy to help

Reviewed by
david m

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value
Staying for 4 nights, room nice size with balcony a little dated but very clean and well equipped.
Everything working ok good size Tv and great view. Very quiet at night despite being over restaurant and overlooking main rd. Have stayed in hotels way more expensive but no way near as pleasant. Staff on reception very helpful.Not tried food but everyone seems t walk out of restaurant with a satisfied smile. Would certaintly recommend a stay here for the price, overall very pleased.

Reviewed by
michael pope

From rotherham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely experience
Pleasant staff, lovely spacious room with large tv, clean bathroom

Reviewed by
Stephanie M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next