No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashby's Boutique Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4 Auckland Road West, Southsea, PO5 3NY
Ashby's Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Southsea and is ideal for both business and leisure clients. It has been recently been refurbished and boasts 7 tasteful and individually designed ensuite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and tea & coffee facilities. The restaurant and dining room offer an extensive choice from light snacks to a la carte dishes and there is a friendly bar to relax in during your stay.

Clarence Pier and Southsea Castle is only a 15 minute stroll away, whilst the town’s shops are on your doorstep, with Gunners Wharf Quays less than 2 miles away. Portsmouth historic dockyard, the city centre, cathedral and Fratton Park football stadium are all easily accessible.




Picture of Ashby's Boutique Hotel, Southsea at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved the Ashby Boutique Hotel
excellent service, cleanliness and food, highly recommend this for business and leisure

Reviewed by
A Bagley

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Exactly what I needed. Little difficult to find but after a short phone call I got there. Very helpful staff. Wasn't given a parking permit as they had expired/ran out but that didn't mar my stay. Lovely room and in an ideal location for my needs.

Reviewed by
Steve H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome
The welcome was warm, friendly and nothing was too much trouble for the owners at Ashby's. The only downside given that the hotel has undergone refurbishment was that the carpet was a bit tired as was the decor. So I'm not sure if I was in a refurbished room. The room and bathroom was clean, the shower took a while for hot water to run through, when it did it was worth it!
Overall it was comfortable, a big plus was that the room was lovely and dark, so I did get a good nights sleep!

Reviewed by
Liz R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money :)
Can't really fault my room or the hotel at all. Room was clean and well maintained, bed was very comfy and bath room huge! Breakfast was fab and everyone was very friendly and couldn't do enough to please. Directions via the post code send you in via the back door but not that that's a problem. Area is nice was bars and restaurants close by. Great value for money and will go back if in the area.

Reviewed by
Paul J

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a problem with the first room allocated to me but the owner put me in another double room which was perfect. Did not eat in restaurant as I was visiting relatives and eating with them but the breakfast was adequate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
J ARMSTRONG

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay, lovely owners who make you feel very welcome

Reviewed by
C Westbrook

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
Room not ready for 2pm check in, pub itself was a mess from night before despite having had all morning to clear up!! Manger not really very apologetic!! Had to leave our bags in the cellar, manager said he'd put them in the rooms when they were ready, but when we arrived back they were still in the cellar. Room 1 where we stayed smelled of toilet, TV remote didn't work, white stains on the curtains, view from the window was on the bins, a broken chair and some trays. When we tried to sleep there was a constant buzzing noise heard through the wall, which I imagine was the cellar cooling fans!!!! In the end we drove home at 12:30am and didn't even stay!!! Apparently this was under new management!!!!! Do not stay here!!

Reviewed by
T Parker

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fit for purpose, unfortunate circumstances
Wanted to stay near the livelier part of Southsea and it was convenient without being in the thick of it. Room was generally of a good standard and clean, no negatives to speak of.
We were unfortunate to arrive after a major private event the night before and there was significant cleaning up going on during our stay. Probably not a true representation of a 'normal' stay but as a paying customer, its kind of not my problem what happened the night before, I should expect the same standard as any other Saturday night. Electrical failure meant the hotel bar was closed on Saturday night which didn't help! Credit to the Manager, he was friendly, helpful and obliging despite the pressure he was under.

Reviewed by
Nick H

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very good not sure it was a boutique hotel

Reviewed by
S Steadman

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cozy night
Wonderful relaxing stay with truly friendly staffakingbus feel welcome

Reviewed by
Jason D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next