No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashby's Boutique Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
4 Auckland Road West, Southsea, PO5 3NY
Ashby's Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Southsea and is ideal for both business and leisure clients. It has been recently been refurbished and boasts 7 tasteful and individually designed ensuite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and tea & coffee facilities. The restaurant and dining room offer an extensive choice from light snacks to a la carte dishes and there is a friendly bar to relax in during your stay.

Clarence Pier and Southsea Castle is only a 15 minute stroll away, whilst the town’s shops are on your doorstep, with Gunners Wharf Quays less than 2 miles away. Portsmouth historic dockyard, the city centre, cathedral and Fratton Park football stadium are all easily accessible.




Picture of Ashby's Boutique Hotel, Southsea at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
Room not ready for 2pm check in, pub itself was a mess from night before despite having had all morning to clear up!! Manger not really very apologetic!! Had to leave our bags in the cellar, manager said he'd put them in the rooms when they were ready, but when we arrived back they were still in the cellar. Room 1 where we stayed smelled of toilet, TV remote didn't work, white stains on the curtains, view from the window was on the bins, a broken chair and some trays. When we tried to sleep there was a constant buzzing noise heard through the wall, which I imagine was the cellar cooling fans!!!! In the end we drove home at 12:30am and didn't even stay!!! Apparently this was under new management!!!!! Do not stay here!!

Reviewed by
T Parker

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very good not sure it was a boutique hotel

Reviewed by
S Steadman

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cozy night
Wonderful relaxing stay with truly friendly staffakingbus feel welcome

Reviewed by
Jason D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite nice room needs to be better standard
Stayed in the four poster Room for the price was expecting slightly better finish, few niggly points but overall ok, 75 to 80 per night probably fairer price.nice and central to bars and restaurants on selsey 20/25 min walk to gunwharf.

Reviewed by
c evans

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Introduction and welcome very poor, uninterested staff throughout, poor customer service, hotel lacks atmosphere.

Reviewed by
clare p

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Stayed one night on business and more than adequate. Did not eat at the hotel so am unable to comment on catering.

Reviewed by
David F

From London, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Despite obvious staff shortages the excellent remaining staff at this lovely little boutique hotel coped admirably - we stayed as we were attending a wedding and a room was prepared for us an hour prior to official check in so we could get changed. Staff remained friendly and cheerful . We would certainly stay again. Many Thanks

Reviewed by
john h

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous small hotel tucked away in Southsea
Ashby's Boutique Hotel is small but delightful in a quiet location in Southsea, perfect for sightseeing and relaxing in Portsmouth. Very close to the sea front and a good shopping area with good restaurants. Only a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of Portsmouth with all the tourist attractions there. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
A Cooper

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissappointed
Stayed for one night (luckily), small room, shower stank and no head room, poor service. The chap who greeted us looked like the local car service mechanic(no offence to them), he had a large stain across his shirt. Breakfast was poor.

Reviewed by
J Turton

From Chesham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good cooked breakfast. Bed needed new mattress, very uncomfortable. Staff pleasant.

Reviewed by
Rowena H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next