No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edge House at Bron-y-Graig

4Visit Wales Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Bron-y-Graig London Road, Corwen, LL21 0DR
Edge House is a luxurious 9-bedroom Victorian House in North Wales with tranquil river and mountain views. Enjoy relaxed bed and breakfast accommodation in the ideal base for exploring the whole of North Wales. We can arrange our 9 spacious ensuite bedrooms to accommodate families, and the house is an ideal venue for groups.

Built in 1888 as the family home of the Sheriff of Denbigh, this fascinating courtyard house nestles in the wooded slopes of the Berwyns on the edge of Corwen between Betws-y-Coed, Llangollen and Bala. The 19th century splendour of our William Morris decor is complemented by 21st century services including free wireless internet access. We have terraced gardens and woodlands to explore.

Food & Beverage Room service and residents' licence. Informal a la carte dining for groups of 8-18 (booking essential). Quality local produce featuring trout and steaks, vegetarian dishes, home-made casseroles and desserts, at very reasonable prices. We will do our best to meet your personal requests.

Travel information We are on the eastern edge of Corwen, directly off the A5, you can easily find us on Google Maps with street view. and look for our signs, Do not try to turn left into Edge House from the A5, it can't be done!
Picture of Edge House at Bron-y-Graig, Corwen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very friendly. Very clean accommodation but very cold, needed some heating, bathroom was like going into a fridge.

Reviewed by
P Booth

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent breakfast and friendly hosts
A must for William Morris fans! A lovely period property

Reviewed by
Jill A

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

henley
Only stayed for one night but the cleanliness and character of the place means we will stay again and reccomend to others.

Reviewed by
sandra difford

From somerton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for the new Railway
An old fashioned B@B with superb views over Corwen and the new extension of the Llangollen Railway. Décor a bit intense for my liking but all needed facilities in place.
Good sleep and great breakfast. Will be a boon when the railway opens.
Very dodgy entrance up a steep hillock that can be daunting to nervous aged motorists.

Reviewed by
G Turner

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit hard to find, but worth it
The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Jason C

From London , Canada
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Guest House with interesting architecture and furnishings
A great place to stay, although one has to be careful entering the steep drive the first time. From the east it's best to go into Corwen first and come in from the west,. It's easier that way. You can see the new Corwen extension to the Llangollen Railway from the house and Corwen itself has some interesting buildings. The welcome was very friendly. We were on the top floor. The rooms are all decorated using William Morris designs and each one has a selection of books to read or buy (proceeds to Help For Heroes). Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, superbly cooked and served with a smile. Lots of good walking in the area, well catered for by signage and info boards.

Reviewed by
Ian Sant

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight in Corwen
Lovely surroundings, picturesque and the hotel situation is almost fairytale, nestled into the terraces that rise behind it into woodland. The building itself is very well maintained and beautifully decorated, obviously a lot of thought went into the styling. Service was good, the breakfast was very good, the room, although 'compact' was clean and well appointed, with a lot of character. The only slight gripe would be the bathroom, which although well appointed had a disappointing shower which was also a squeeze to negotiate! Otherwise great place to stop, I would have liked time to explore the surroundings more.

Reviewed by
c tranter

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, cosy and friendly
Hotel in a lovely elevated position on the edge of Corwen. Stayed in Room 1 overnight, sharing with my teenage son, with nice views overlooking the front gardens. Room presented beautifully, with period features, a comfortable settee and chairs in the bay window. Little touches including books and games were nice, and there was a neatly laid out table for refreshments. Bathroom had a good shower, with plenty of towels and some toiletries. The room was nice and warm too. We were made to feel welcome and enjoyed a nice home-cooked breakfast. The drive is steep but the on-site parking is helpful. Corwen is a nice little village and we were able to walk to the local Indian restaurant for a great evening meal too. Edge House is a lovely base for exploring the Llangollen area and would please couples looking for a quiet, comfortable , friendly retreat.

Reviewed by
wendy b

From Lutterworth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and nce hotel. The room was great and very spacious and the breakfast was great. I will defiantly be returning there again. They were very kind as they changed our arrival date die to our son being ill and you don't find that sort of kindness to often these days..

Reviewed by
David P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome. Fantastic view room 1. Info book very useful. Great breakfast. Challenging driveway

Reviewed by
J Davis

From Knebworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next