Reviews - pentahotel Derby


Locomotive Way Pride Park, Derby, DE24 8PU

Price From 137.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (128)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Mann

  • June 2014

Very helpful staff-very friendly

Nice clean room and good location

  • Victoria H

  • June 2014

Great value for money, very friendly

I recently stayed here and booked a twin room, I had stayed here previously and was impressed, however on this occasion there was a renovation taking place which I was unaware of, despite this it caused no issues at all, business was as usual and staff were really friendly.

I was particularly impressed when I asked to book a taxi to go to a wedding and the man at the desk asked for them to send a nice taxi for us. It was a really nice touch. I would stay here again.

  • p ranford

  • June 2014

Pleasant Stay

Nice, clean room, friendly & helpful staff.

No issues whatsoever

  • Marie B

  • June 2014

met a need

Stayed here recently the room was clean and on the whole facilities were good, however the bed was terrible itcwas like sleeping on a futon.

I did asked to be moved which the staff kindly did but no change really. Was disappointed that the bar was closed due to refurb to.

  • Anne J

  • June 2014

Excellent value

Excellent value for money, the room was comfortable and clean, the bathroom was particularly good, complimentary toiletries too, would stay again.

  • d smith

  • June 2014


Great hotel friendly staff and excellent rooms

  • Joseph T

  • June 2014

Lovely looking room, but with a few overall problems.

We spent a little extra money and bought the executive suite, this was supposed to come with two complimentary robes and slippers, a free drink and an upgraded ensuite.

Unfortunately the only bit we got was the wetroom upgrade, the room was full of alarm pulls for people who are disabled and the wet room was full of rails and seats again for disabled hotel guests, the room also had an adjoining door to the next room whose occupants were noisey children and loud parents. Such a let down for such a promising hotel.

  • l cook

  • May 2014

Excellent hotel

Comfortable bed.

Polite staff. Good value for money. One of my favourite places to stay in derby!!

  • Rebecca E

  • May 2014

Good stay considering...

We booked this hotel due to the convenient location and the price, and noted that on the website it said that the communal areas were being refurbished so the dining would be in a marquee.

Not a problem as we weren't planning on eating there anyway. When we arrived there were skips and machinery in the car park which didn't give a very good impression, but we weren't staying there for the view anyway so we went on inside. The reception was in the fitness suite whilst the normal one was being refurbished so it was a bit cramped, and surrounded by builders bits and pieces. There was a problem with the computers at check in so a few guests were stood around waiting. Despite the stress this was causing the staff they dealt with it calmly and we were offered a complimentary drink as an apology. Once leaving the reception the room corridors were untouched by the building work and our room was the standard size and furnishing you would expect. The laminate floor was a bit of a surprise - much prefer carpet in a hotel, and the light in the bathroom is quite dim. Being in a room at the front we could hear the work starting at about 7.45 each morning, but that was because we had the window open due to the room being too warm and the air con being too loud to have on overnight. Towards the end of our stay the work moved further into the hotel so by the time we left the foyer was taped off and being plastered and painted. The only thing that let the customer service down was the lady from room service knocking on our door on our last morning at 8.30 asking what time we were leaving which seemed a bit odd as we had a couple of hours before check out time. Considering everything going on around us we had a good stay and the staff were very pleasant and dealt with the issues that arose professionally. The work is only temporary so once it is complete I'm sure the hotel will be great, especially if the staff are anything to go by.

  • david j

  • May 2014

Did the trick

Nice place to stay, but don't expect a view.

On an industrial estate with office blocks. Perfectly adequate for a city break as it's a short walk to the city centre. They were having a refurbished so can't comment on the gym or food.