No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sir Douglas Haig

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Street, Effingham, Leatherhead, Guildford, KT24 5LU
Set in the rural heartland of Surrey, Effingham is a quaint village, close enough to the hustle and bustle of major towns such as Guildford and Epsom and only a 40 minute train ride into London and yet retaining a true country feel and community atmosphere. Located right in the centre of the village you will find the Sir Douglas Haig Public House and Hotel, named after the infamous World War 1 general.

There has been an Inn on this site since 1885, when passing traders used to stop here on their way to offer their goods in the markets of our capital city. Today the Sir Douglas Haig is a 7 bedroom guesthouse compromising of single rooms, doubles and family rooms. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and well equipped with tea and coffe making facilities, hairdryers, tv with freeview, free wifi connection and all with en suite facilities

We have an excellent restaurant offering breakfast, lunch and evening meals. Whatever your preference we are sure there will be something to tickle your taste buds. There is also an extensive bar area where you can catch up on the latest sporting events or sit by the open fires and enjoy a quiet chat with the village locals whilst sampling some of the extensive beer and wines on offer.

Whatever your reason for visiting the Sir Douglas Haig, be it business or pleasure you can be assured of a warm and friendly welcome and a delightful stay.
Picture of Sir Douglas Haig, Guildford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired but Clean
The room although clean with a comfy bed was very tired and could do with a lot of updating. The plumbing could only be described as interesting, but when the hot water did eventually come through it was very hot and plenty of it. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked but because the owner had to do the school run the person left behind seemed to forget us, so toast didn't arrive no extra tea and no one to ask, tea was only offered when we had finished and was getting ready to leave the table. The owner was friendly and the young lady when we arrived was very pleasant. For the money I would have expected a little bit more.

Reviewed by
S Miller

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sir Douglas Haig B+B
Very pleased with my B+B stay at the Sir Douglas Haig. A family run establishment, very friendly and accommodating. Very comfortable room with a good shower, good TV and good hairdryer. Breakfast was delicious. Will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Janice C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Room was clean and tidy but decoration rather tired, but new owners in process of updating.
Friendly welcome.
Did not eat at restaurant so cannot comment on food.

Reviewed by
Angela G

From Welwyn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard of room (room no.4)
While the room was to a generally acceptable standard, the window frame/sill was in a sorry state and needs urgent replacement with a double glazed unit(s) - possibly throughout. This would make the room quieter (our room overlooked the intermittently noisy smoking area) and preserve heat in the winter. There was some peeling of paint in the bedroom & bathroom.
Other aspects returned acceptable value for money. Would stay again if windows/sound-proofing had been sorted.

Reviewed by
C Kirk

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean room and bathroom. Breakfast was well cooked and promptly served. I would use this accommodation again if in the area.

Reviewed by
E Brady

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bed was comfortable
..and I did have a decent night's sleep.
I tried being clever and booking somewhere relatively cheap but, with seemingly good reviews. I made a mistake.
I'm sure there are plenty of folk who don't spend half of their lives in hotels and who will find the Sir Douglas Haig just fine. As a businessman who does spend half of his life in hotels, I'm just not one of them.

Reviewed by
D Francis

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute romantic gesture
Booked the morning of Valentine's Day - to get away from the kids and house - very friendly

Reviewed by
Derek M

From Etchingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sir Douglas.....
Accommodation was basic, and in a poor state of decoration, and cold, the heating was turned off on arrival and was on a timer? So the room never really warmed up!!
Laundry in the corridor out side our room was there all night, and the washing machine/ tumble dryer was turned on after 10pm!!
Food was good though!

Reviewed by
A Holmes

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pot luck
We booked this hotel as it was near to where we were heading the next day. We couldn't have been made more welcome. The landlord was very kind and helpful.. We ate in the dining room and the food was to die for. The room was very comfortable and very clean. Then breakfast the next morning, more than we could eat. Thank you for a pleasant stay, we shall stay again if we are in the area.

Reviewed by
Carolyn W

From Spalding, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was alone with my young son and was made to feel very welcome and incredibly comfortable. The staff were amazing with my little boy and went out of their way to accommodate his needs; providing meals that were not standard on the menu. Nothing seemed too much effort. Food was fantastic.The room was lovely, with pristine bed linen BUT, big let down in the bathroom. I don't mind basic but the shower temperature and pressure was variable, no plug in the sink, and the loo, when lifting the seat, was pretty disgusting. It was a real shame as everything else was perfect.

Reviewed by
anne s

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next