No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chilton Country Pub & Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Blackboy Road Fences Houses Houghton Le Spring, County Durham, DH4 6PY
Nestling in a quiet country setting, surround by beautiful countryside the Chilton Country Pub and Hotel is ideally situated to place guests with in easy access to Durham, Sunderland, Newcastle city centres, therefore making this the ideal base for short breaks, business trips or Lesiure breaks or residential breaks. Offering lunch and dinner from our extensive menu's served in the comfortably appointed Bar/lounge with it's homely atmosphere, or the popular Orangery Restaurant, with a choice of fine wines carefully selected to compliment your meal, along with a good selection of traditional ales. Each of the 25 en suite bedrooms are all carefully designed and decorated to a high standard.
Picture of Chilton Country Pub & Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comments on my stay at the chiltern
On arrival we were told we could stay another night but would have to change rooms. We had already had a telephone call from the hotel to say that they could not put us up Monday and Tuesday but could offer Sunday and Monday. However they offered us another night despite saying on the phone that they were fully booked. Our first room was OK but there was no extractor fan in the en suite, no heating to the radiator, no telephone. The second room we stayed in had all the above. We mentioned these defects at Reception when we paid our bill. The food at the Chiltern was very good and the waiters and waitresses were very polite and helpful. We would stay at the Chiltern again as the position of it gave us good access to Durham, Beamish etc. The Hotel just needs updating.

Reviewed by
Philip E

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
Nice location.wonderful staff.room was nice.food excellent.very good value for money.

Reviewed by
A Jones

From Grangemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late Arriver - great welcome
I was so tired expected to have driven frther North - logged on and booked what I thought was a great deal - didnt read the small print (too tired I guess) Room was booked online at £40 was informed that there were conditions applicable etc etc - Receptionist gae me a fir rate includ breakfast - and I set off to my room - the corridor was in poor condition paintwork rubbed/worn needs an uplift room was modern butnot clean - cobwebs and spiders! too tired to eat went to Bed- Breakfast was acceptable - poach egg was undercooked rest of full english was ok service ok

Reviewed by
Gary A

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very enjoyable stay,there was a wedding in progress,but that did not affect our visit The staff were friendly and helpful..The food in the evening was really good and breakfast was served quickly,plentiful and hot.

Reviewed by
Paul K

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal situation for visiting the area. Room 2 under the stairwell. Noise levels high. Not acceptable
Our stay at the Chilton was as it was to expected as a 2 star hotel plus a wedding party!! It met our needs to see the surrounding area. On arrival and booked in with a professional Receptionist there wasn't a hair dryer in the room. Within 10 mins a hair dryer arrived shame that the bedroom was under the main staircase. V good customer focus at Reception. Breakfast acceptable. Would have been better with a few more options for cereals. V good service in the restaurant, waitress very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff and food however very noisy with a party that was there. No thought put into where they roomed us right in the middle of the party guests so had a poor sleep. Shame as it spoilt a nice weekend

Reviewed by
Garry P

From Choppington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was clean but bathroom was dated .a better quality bed required. a touch of mildew round window
enjoyable weekend apart from a wedding party on saturday night some of the guests trying to get in their rooms by shouting and banging on doors at 0500 in morning .pleasant bar area and dinning room ,with nice food and good breakfast . just needs the rooms updating .
on the whole not bad for the price.

Reviewed by
J LEE

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rooms clean
rooms clean and spacious. bathroom a bit dated.
hotel staff very friendly and food great

Reviewed by
s davies

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Should be 4*
Comfortable and clean with friendly staff and good food .Ideal base to stay at for our 2 days spent at Beamish - we would recommend The Chilton as a good value for money hotel

Reviewed by
Ann B

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made to feel very welcome. Staff extremely friendly. We arrived too late for food on the first night but Nicola made sure we had something to soak up the alcohol!

Reviewed by
Julie P

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next