No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chilton Country Pub & Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Blackboy Road Fences Houses Houghton Le Spring, County Durham, DH4 6PY
Nestling in a quiet country setting, surround by beautiful countryside the Chilton Country Pub and Hotel is ideally situated to place guests with in easy access to Durham, Sunderland, Newcastle city centres, therefore making this the ideal base for short breaks, business trips or Lesiure breaks or residential breaks. Offering lunch and dinner from our extensive menu's served in the comfortably appointed Bar/lounge with it's homely atmosphere, or the popular Orangery Restaurant, with a choice of fine wines carefully selected to compliment your meal, along with a good selection of traditional ales. Each of the 25 en suite bedrooms are all carefully designed and decorated to a high standard.
Picture of Chilton Country Pub & Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rooms clean
rooms clean and spacious. bathroom a bit dated.
hotel staff very friendly and food great

Reviewed by
s davies

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Should be 4*
Comfortable and clean with friendly staff and good food .Ideal base to stay at for our 2 days spent at Beamish - we would recommend The Chilton as a good value for money hotel

Reviewed by
Ann B

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made to feel very welcome. Staff extremely friendly. We arrived too late for food on the first night but Nicola made sure we had something to soak up the alcohol!

Reviewed by
Julie P

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet country hotel ideal for visiting Beamish and North East
Spent a very comfortable two nights here with daughter and two grandchildren aged 2 yrs and 9 yrs. The rooms were a very impressive size with plenty of space for kids to run around. Got a package with bed, breakfast and evening meal and I must say the meals were superb! Praise for the very friendly, helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble ! A few niggles ---- disliked the brown blankets. Bathroom clean and large but dated, but I do beleive they are going to be refurbished. The bath was nice and low but lacked a grab rail. A larger kettle please! Although the area was quiet outside, we found that the sound travelled from downstairs rooms --- television, coughing, phone calls, etc . The rooms were a little chilly due to the change in the weather during August 2014. There was no way to turn on the heating and we didn't bother to ask the staff , so our fault really. A happy two nights for all, with superb food, good service and a comfortable bed. Would definately stay here again!

Reviewed by
Peter Smith

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonably priced, clean rooms, adequate bathroom, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms can be noisy, adjacent doors slamming, also they have theme nights with loud groups, check this out if you are a light sleeper...I would only recommend it to a friend after explaining the standard he/she could expect.

Reviewed by
Kenneth M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stop over

Reviewed by
S Pearson

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Great value for money. Quality of food was superb. Would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Edwards

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short stay but enjoyable
Our one night stop was to break a long journey and we could not have chosen better. Everything about the stay went smoothly and the staff very helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Brian E

From Longfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation - with above average service
We were visiting Durham - and just wanted somewhere clean and reliable to spend the night. Chilton offers good lodge-style accommodation - and friendly staff who seem willing to do all they can for you. We needed to leave early in the morning - and without a moments delay they had offered to start breakfast half an hour early for us. That wouldn't happen in a national chain.

Reviewed by
John S

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paper thin walls!!
We had a lovely friendly welcome from the Manageress on arrival. The other staff we encountered during our stay were all helpful and friendly. The reception not being manned during opening times (ie during a function) caused an issue when stray children from the function were not supervised by parents and staff did not pick up on this. The front lobby/reception unfortunately became a playground to a lot of excited girls. This continued past midnight and kept us awake. Once the girls had been put to bed by equally noisy parents, we were surprised to hear every step and creak of someone walking upstairs and into their room. When they turned on their light, we thought they had come into our room as there is absolutely no sound proofing. We continued to listen to their night time activities well into the night.

Reviewed by
S Cooper

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next