No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chilton Country Pub & Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Blackboy Road Fences Houses Houghton Le Spring, County Durham, DH4 6PY
Nestling in a quiet country setting, surround by beautiful countryside the Chilton Country Pub and Hotel is ideally situated to place guests with in easy access to Durham, Sunderland, Newcastle city centres, therefore making this the ideal base for short breaks, business trips or Lesiure breaks or residential breaks. Offering lunch and dinner from our extensive menu's served in the comfortably appointed Bar/lounge with it's homely atmosphere, or the popular Orangery Restaurant, with a choice of fine wines carefully selected to compliment your meal, along with a good selection of traditional ales. Each of the 25 en suite bedrooms are all carefully designed and decorated to a high standard.
Picture of Chilton Country Pub & Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chilton Country Pub & Hotel
Room was spacious and immaculate and great value for money. Quality would have been much
higher if it had not been for an uncomfortable worn out mattress and thin walls meaning noise
could have been somewhat intrusive. We had a very tasty and good value evening meal in the
restaurant. Staff could not be more helpful.

Reviewed by
J Davison

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Staff , great room and fantastic food
The room was more like a suite , very clean and modern. The bed gave me the best nights sleep away for ages. The best thing about this hotel- the staff and food . Both are fabulous !

Reviewed by
J Horrocks

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely pub/hotel and great value
Friendly service, lovely clean and comfortable room with all facilities including free WiFi. Great food. Highly recommended even if at double the price! Pub is full of character with real ales. Just outside the urban area in the country but handy for local cities and tourist sites. Plenty of free parking. We loved it and will go back.

Reviewed by
John Wright

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean comfortable and friendly

Reviewed by
helen M

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midnight police
Hotel was in a nice location. Short staffed but friendly. Room basic tired and not as clean as I would like. Staff friendly and bar nice. Did not have a evening meal but it all looked nice. Breakfest was cooked to order which I liked but choice nothing exciting just the usual. Alought cooked well. Downside was lack of sleep. A lot of nose. Found out police were called due to someone smashing up there room. Was not offered any discount or apologies for it. Not sure I would stay there again due to quality if rooms and disturbances.

Reviewed by
C Acton

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

EXCELLENT apart from people in room above me, under the influence of drink. They were arguing until small hours.
Apart from that could not fault this hotel.

Reviewed by
David S

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Fantastic room with lot of storage space. Shower could do with being a little more powerful along with floorboards being screwed down. Staff were all courteous and polite. I would recommend this establishment to my friends and family and I can't often say that about some of the establishments I have had the displeasure to stay. I will return when I'm next up that area

Reviewed by
Andy S

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, great stay
So much better than trying to get into a hotel in Durham and great value for money. Good country views, warm welcome and warm comfortable rooms. Good menu selection.

Reviewed by
Pauline C

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We found the room a bit cold could of done with another blanket

Reviewed by
Gareth Dickin

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chilton Country Pub & Hotel.
Fabulous hotel. food to die

Reviewed by
D Stewart

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next