No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chilton Country Pub & Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Blackboy Road Fences Houses Houghton Le Spring, County Durham, DH4 6PY
Nestling in a quiet country setting, surround by beautiful countryside the Chilton Country Pub and Hotel is ideally situated to place guests with in easy access to Durham, Sunderland, Newcastle city centres, therefore making this the ideal base for short breaks, business trips or Lesiure breaks or residential breaks. Offering lunch and dinner from our extensive menu's served in the comfortably appointed Bar/lounge with it's homely atmosphere, or the popular Orangery Restaurant, with a choice of fine wines carefully selected to compliment your meal, along with a good selection of traditional ales. Each of the 25 en suite bedrooms are all carefully designed and decorated to a high standard.
Picture of Chilton Country Pub & Hotel, County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 115 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midnight police
Hotel was in a nice location. Short staffed but friendly. Room basic tired and not as clean as I would like. Staff friendly and bar nice. Did not have a evening meal but it all looked nice. Breakfest was cooked to order which I liked but choice nothing exciting just the usual. Alought cooked well. Downside was lack of sleep. A lot of nose. Found out police were called due to someone smashing up there room. Was not offered any discount or apologies for it. Not sure I would stay there again due to quality if rooms and disturbances.

Reviewed by
C Acton

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

EXCELLENT apart from people in room above me, under the influence of drink. They were arguing until small hours.
Apart from that could not fault this hotel.

Reviewed by
David S

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Fantastic room with lot of storage space. Shower could do with being a little more powerful along with floorboards being screwed down. Staff were all courteous and polite. I would recommend this establishment to my friends and family and I can't often say that about some of the establishments I have had the displeasure to stay. I will return when I'm next up that area

Reviewed by
Andy S

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, great stay
So much better than trying to get into a hotel in Durham and great value for money. Good country views, warm welcome and warm comfortable rooms. Good menu selection.

Reviewed by
Pauline C

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We found the room a bit cold could of done with another blanket

Reviewed by
Gareth Dickin

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chilton Country Pub & Hotel.
Fabulous hotel. food to die

Reviewed by
D Stewart

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Customer Service
Staff were friendly and keen to please, rooms were lovely although bathroom rather small, great views out of the window looking over the field and beds were comfortable.

Reviewed by
clare d

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasure
Not often you find a hotel like this nowadays. Its not what you would imagine though because most people don't look for it. A great little quality hotel bursting with great customer care/service, cosy warm atmosphere all served by local people. Every member of staff from management to domestic staff all local North East people. Not only does this hotel provide great service it all supports the local economy - well done! We loved it as we needed somewhere to stay before travelling further North the next day. The room was just a little too hot for our liking but everything else was spot on. Thank you and carry on the good work.

Reviewed by
C Williams

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country Pub & Hotel
Having stayed here for one night it is safe to say that i will not be staying here again.
It is listed as a country hotel & pub; this was nearer to a budget B&B.
The whole experience was very amateur; although the receptionist was lovely I was given very basic information regarding my stay.
The food both for dinner and Breakfast was to the standard of a greasy spoon.
Upon requesting a VAT receipt- I was handed a receipt that was not readable.
Very disappointing experience indeed.

Reviewed by
P Allen

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, very good value.

Reviewed by
Tom R

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next