Reviews - Cocked Hat by Good Night Inns

3

Rugby Rd Binley Wood, Coventry, CV3 2AX

Price From 100.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (94)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Rosemary G

  • July 2015

Roundabout Madness

Despite the fact that this hotel is situated between two roundabouts and the traffic noise was awful, you get what you pay for so we shouldn't complain.

The staff were great, as was the food, and enhanced our stay, which was unfortunately cut short as my husband was poorly.

  • Carl D

  • June 2015

Beyond Budget

Tired accommodation, very basic facilities.

Pleasant staff on reception . Better budget alternatives available. Traffic noise an issue too.

  • G Calvert

  • May 2015

Visiting Coventry

We stayed here for two nights at spring bank.

My daughter was in hospital in Coventry, the hotel staff could not do enough for us, they were so caring and concerned. The bedrooms are of good quality and clean, the tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms are high quality products. Breakfast was fantastic for the price, I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • kevin o

  • May 2015

Kev's Trip

Been here before so I know the place, normally very good, only issue this time was the fire alarm going off early evening.

all the guests went outside, but no proper direction from the staff. The receptionist, a Trainee, tried her best, got some one from the PUb, who just seemed to let do running around. There was no fire, but no apology or sorry from the Chap, who I take was in charge, not good enough!!

  • Ken D

  • April 2015

Friendly & good but could so easily be great.

Easy to find, easy to park and easy check in.

Nice clean room but really does need an armchair even for one night stays. The wifi is by Cloud which involves signing up for marketing companies to phone you - No Thanks. For this price I expect free wifi with no drawbacks. The bathroom was clean but the soap/shampoo is in dispensers - OK for some but no good for anyone without a strong grip to squeeze the dispensers. The pub is next door and serves good food. Breakfast makes up for the room's shortcomings. The best hotel breakfast I have had for years. The Cocked Hat did the trick for a one night stay, and I will be back, but not for more than 1 night till there are armchairs in the rooms.

  • Jonathan E

  • April 2015

Knocks the competition into a....

Utterly faultless will be back, great value.

  • S Price

  • April 2015

Decent enough hotel

Nice enough place, plenty of parking, comfortable room, good breakfast, attached pub, friendly staff, good value, what's not to like?

  • Danny A

  • March 2015

Room was very clean, staff were freidnly & helpful both on the phone and in person. good food

Stayed for two nights in the end.

Phoned the hotel on the Friday (4 days before) to see if I could book the night before as well. Staff were helpful, friendly and made it possible for me to stay in the same room on both nights.

  • P Finch

  • February 2015

Went into this with eyes open!

After reading other reviews I kind of knew what to expect and we just wanted somewhere to put our head for the night, we had been up since 5.30am, been all round the caravan show and we were going on to Daventry the next morning so I booked a late room for a quick stopover.

To be fair we did arrive early, instead of 4pm arrived at 3.10pm and the reception door was locked and the receptionist had gone home, it was pouring with rain and a woman opened the door and said that the receptionist had gone home and we would have to book in at the pub. We ran round to the pub and the manager there said yes she would book us in, we then all went back round to the reception in the pouring rain and booked in. Once in all was fine and our room was fine, not tiny, we booked Room 12 a twin room with bath, very comfortable beds, I suffer from a back problem so its the first thing I check, nice bed linen and the bathroom was spotless. Room was a little dark and could do with redecorating and the curtains definitely need a good clean, thick dust at the top down the edges but honestly fine as a stopover. I had a bath, had hot water, everything worked fine. We walked over to the pub for the meal. The pub was fairly quiet as this was about 4.30pm again I didn't have high expectations and went in fairly relaxed, just wanting to unwind and get something to eat. We were shown to a nice table and said they would be back to collect our order. We were left looking at the wine/beer list and the menu. After 15 minutes past still no-one had come to see us and everyone seemed to have disappeared, husband was tired and thirsty and had been looking at the beers for 25 minutes, I managed to call a waiter over and ask to order. We ordered the lamb steaks, the mixed grill a glass of Shiraz and a Bombardier Beer. The waiter said "Sorry we are out of Bombardier beer" So my husband said "Okay, I will have Doombar" The waiter said "Sorry Sir we are out of Doombar too" So my husband looking at the list of around 12 beers said laughing "Okay, tell you what, tell me what you do have?" The young waiter said "Ah, um, I'm not sure?" So my husband said "Do you have Wainwrights?" "Yes!" he said. Great, so off he went to place the order. Ten minutes later a lady came up and said "I'm sorry we don't have the lamb and we don't have any beer, we only have Bass" We both laughed with tiredness, and I have to say frustration. All we wanted to do was eat and have a drink. We had been sat there for around 30 minutes by them. I ordered the Sirloin instead of the lamb. I think because of our reaction she said "I apologise and we will complement your food and drinks" So we ordered the drinks which then turned up promptly, there wasn't a long wait for the food which was pleasant, the steak was tasty and came with chips and peas and onion rings. Tasty and straightforward and all we wanted on a Sunday. After this a variety of waiters all came up and asked if we were happy with our meal. Then one came up to ask if we wanted a second round of drinks, she said same again and we said Yes please. She came back 5 minutes later and said "sorry it says Wainwright and we don't have any Wainwright, what beer did you want?" We laughed and said "Don't worry just give us the one beer you have left." She looked at me a little quizzical and I said "Just a Bass will be fine." We then ordered Sundae's for desserts which were lovely and I expected to pay for these. We asked for the bill and did have to say "We were told our food and drinks were courtesy of the pub apart from the desserts" and so he went off to check and the bill came for just the desserts, so they honoured what they said, although I hadn't complained and would have been happy to pay for the whole meal this was nice that they did this. I think communication seemed a bit of a struggle, no-one seemed to know that they had run out of all the beers on the list and it would have been nice to have received drinks on our arrival rather than to be sat with a menu of drinks for 25 minutes of which none of them they had. A very simple thing to correct which when isn't corrected leaves you with frustrated customers. Would I stay again, yes for a stopover, beds were comfortable, had good nights sleep and the cooked breakfast was excellent, the young girl who did the breakfast and booked us out was lovely, very obliging. All staff were friendly.

  • Maria O

  • February 2015

Cocked Hat by Good Night Inns

Very pleasant staff.

Rooms vary from adequate to nice, so worth specifying if you want to be upstairs, or down, have a bath, want a larger room or single. Food was nice. Good location. Would go again.