No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cocked Hat by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Rugby Rd Binley Wood, Coventry, CV3 2AX
The Cocked Hat is a charming 17th Century, former bailiff’s residence that originally formed part of the estate of nearby Coombe Abbey. Situated in the village of Binley Woods, just 4 miles from Coventry, this Grade II listed hotel offers a comfortable stay in the heart of the West Midlands.
The hotel’s great location makes it an ideal stopover for business travellers and an attractive option for anyone planning a last minute break.

Each of the hotel’s 25 bedrooms are ensuite and come equipped with flat-screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi for all guests. Also on-site is a friendly Fayre & Square pub restaurant and ample free parking.

The Cocked Hat is within easy reach of Rugby, Nuneaton, Leamington Spa and Birmingham and is easy to find, sitting on the A428 Rugby Road, Just off the A46 a 4 minute drive from the M69 and M6.


Picture of Cocked Hat by Good Night Inns, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 111 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great breakfast
Room was comfortable but no toiletries shower and soap dispensers both empty. No loo brush no drinking glasses in bathroom. But great breakfast made up for it so all in all good value for money.

Reviewed by
c england

From Longfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We stayed at The Cocked Hat for one night bed and breakfast. The Irish lady on reception welcomed us on our arrival and did an excellent job throughout our stay, she was very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in number 25 was very big, very clean and a lovely comfortable bed, what more do you want! The breakfast was excellent, toast, cereal, fruit, muffins, pastries and a full English, juices, tea and coffee. The girls serving breakfast were very good, taking orders for the cooked breakfast and replenishing the rest of the breakfast food and drinks. All together an excellent stay and value for money.

Reviewed by
Paul D

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we expected
When shown to our room we were very disapponted the room was tiny, not like the picture shown on booking sites. After talking to the lovely lady behind desk she sorted things out and offered us a different room although it still wasnt the room shown it was abit bigger than the one they first put us in. If you want the long lovely room shown for a double ask for room 5 as that is the one on site shown. Athough that room was taken we decided to stay because they offered us a refund. Meal was lovely and all the staff are very friendly they just need to update their rooms abit musty smelling aswell.

Reviewed by
D Jones

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite how the picture looks.
From the picture did not expect to be on a roundabout near an industrial estate! Plenty of parking. No reception available had to walk to the very busy bar/ restaurant to find some to check us in. Rooms were ok. Couldn't have breakfast as we had to leave before it started as at weekends no breakfast before 8 am . No offered a reduction on the rate or an alternative such as a continental breakfast! On of my colleagues was an ex hotelier and was appalled at the comment " that's a bummer" when we mentioned that we had to be away by 8am.

Reviewed by
Sharon A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very welcoming
On arrival at 8.00pm (having forewarned that our arrival would be at this time) we found the Reception closed and the accommodation locked. We and other guests had to queue in the pub along other drinkers and diners to register and collect the keys. I was left out in the cold for twenty minutes guarding our suitcases which we had unwisely carried from the car park, while my husband waited for the keys. Inside the room was clean and warm but the furniture shabby - missing headboard and broken drawers. We discovered that we only had one set of towels after we had undressed - and we weren't going back out into the rain to the pub for another set!
Breakfast was a treat - beautifully cooked, lots of choice and the waitress could not have been more helpful or apologetic about the towels. Despite noting these comments to the hotel, I have not had a response - I don't think they care.

Reviewed by
Karen J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Think hard before you book this hotel
The receptionist was cheerful, pleasant and helpful.
The room was a disgrace, it smelled dank and musty even though the window had been left open. This was because there was no window in the bathroom and the ventilation fan did not run. The door into the bathroom did not close.
The bedside lamp was low powered, I couldn't read anything without sitting at the dressing table, even then the wall lights were poor.
I tried to eat in the restaurant, was shown to a table at the furthest distance from the bar and left there on my own in a room where there was a family party with noisy children. After at least 10 mins waiting no one had come to take my order so I walked out and found somewhere else to eat where there was good service.

Reviewed by
Peter D

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value. Helpful, friendly staff
Stayed overnight whilst visiting an exhibition at the Ricoh stadium. Very convenient, well priced with helpful, friendly staff and a decent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Chris M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

picked hotel off internet
every thing was exelant cannot fault at all, the food was superb,very small gripe the sat nav sent us the wrong way at the island be carfull

Reviewed by
K WILSON

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very helpful. Breakfast freshly cooked. Bed comfortable

Reviewed by
M Cook

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
The room was a reasonable size and I had an excellent breakfast in the morning. The one problem I had was the wifi didn't work.

Reviewed by
Carl R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next