No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cocked Hat by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Rugby Rd Binley Wood, Coventry, CV3 2AX
The Cocked Hat is a charming 17th Century, former bailiff’s residence that originally formed part of the estate of nearby Coombe Abbey. Situated in the village of Binley Woods, just 4 miles from Coventry, this Grade II listed hotel offers a comfortable stay in the heart of the West Midlands.
The hotel’s great location makes it an ideal stopover for business travellers and an attractive option for anyone planning a last minute break.

Each of the hotel’s 25 bedrooms are ensuite and come equipped with flat-screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities and free WiFi for all guests. Also on-site is a friendly Fayre & Square pub restaurant and ample free parking.

The Cocked Hat is within easy reach of Rugby, Nuneaton, Leamington Spa and Birmingham and is easy to find, sitting on the A428 Rugby Road, Just off the A46 a 4 minute drive from the M69 and M6.


Picture of Cocked Hat by Good Night Inns, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor quality room
The room we stayed in was very poor. Despite being a large space it looked unfurnished, with two 1980's style dressers looking lost under a wall mounted TV that was so small it was almost I viewable from the bed across the spacious room. One of the drawers of the dressers had a broken runner and hung off at an angle, none of the drawers opened properly. The door handle was loose on the door, the sliding door for the bathroom had no floor runner and swung out away from the wall freely. Both the kettle and hair drier had prominent PAT test stickers, both more than a year out of date (one over 2 years). Despite being non smoking the room stunk of stale smoke, the wallpaper was bubbling on the wall and peeling at the edges. We also had a patch repair of a randomly different patterned anaglipta strip on one wall. The grout around the shower tiles was black and poorly applied, the shower head was cracked and sprayed water in all directions. We had a door from our room into a courtyard but that was full of up turned tables and other rubbish. The gutters were blocked with plants and the window frames rotten. To cap it all there was a charity function in the pub next door which played extremely bassy music excessively loud until nearly 1am!

Reviewed by
Jenna M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent if I was going to be picky the wardrobe door was Brocken and would not shut.

Reviewed by
Kate J

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saturday 12th July
Excellent customer service starting with friendly receptionist Linda - good value for money accommodation and no complaints about noise! The room was nice and dark which helped with sleep - I'd have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone lookig for a no-nonsense, value for money hotel. There are no frills - just a nice clean room which us what we wanted.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
The hotel is conveniently situated of a main route. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and functional. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Joanna M

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy Room
We stayed in room 11 & unfortunately had the neighbors from hell above us.
They were arguing & banging about when they returned to the room at 11.30 isn.
It started again at 4.15 isn in the morning. Breakfast was super although a little expensive.

Reviewed by
D. J

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good alal round
Great welcome
Can't do enough for you

Reviewed by
CATH R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and Clean!
We didn't spend too long at the Cocked Hat, just because we had a busy weekend stop over. But we were pleased with the service from Reception staff who were friendly. The room was clean and we were fortunate to have a slightly larger family room (for 2 adults & 1 child) which had a double bed, one single (not a camp bed!) and even a small kitchenette which had a sink and small table top fridge! We didn't have time for breakfast so can't comment on the food, but the Fayre & Square on site was great with a good choice for all!

Reviewed by
J Collinson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend getaway
We spent the weekend at the Cocked Hat and found that the staff were very helpful. The room had everything needed and was clean and tidy. If you want large rooms and gold fittings, pay several times the price of this hotel, if you want good value with courteous and helpful staff, book here.The breakfast was lovely and plentiful, with a Pub alongside, without being noisy, all food and drink needs are catered for. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
anthony m

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant
staff we lovely and most welcolm

Reviewed by
D Friar

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Couldn't have been more helpful. Room was lovely especially as we had access to the garden even if the noise of the traffic made it uncomfortable outside. Nice choice of complimentary breakfast. Full English was a bit of a let down and slightly overpriced. Very comfy bed.

Reviewed by
Caroline P

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next