Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow Hotels > Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
59 Union Street , Glasgow, G1 3RB
The Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Glasgow and forms part of the Architectural Landscape of the city.

As the name suggests the Hotel has many features in connection with Charles Rennie Mackintosh. Over the years the hotel has been refurbished but always with an eye to keeping the Mackintosh era alive also every effort is made to retain as much originality as possible. Unfortunately, because the hotel is of a Victorian era there is no passenger lift but we ensure our guests have every assistance with their luggage by prior request. Rooms have got Flat screen TV's, complimentary mineral water, cookies and tea / coffee making facilities.

The rooms vary in size from a single to a family room depending on your needs and all have ensuite bathrooms. The rooms have all the basic amenities required by a business traveller or a tourist. Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a 24 hour bar to accommodate hotel guests if required.

There is a very quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has a free wi fi internet access for the residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.
Picture of Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 214 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

idealy situated for a very pleasant city break
staff were friendly and helpfull. accommodation clean, pleasant, quiet, big enough, the breakfast was really good, freshly cooked and piping hot! the hotel served me well for shops, food n drin, and getting to glasgow concert hall and back. great hotel. will stay again, and again

Reviewed by
fiona vivers

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget fare in central Glasgow
One night stay in this budget hotel. Some scruffy corners, but very clean bed and en suite. Room was 3rd floor, and hotel has no lift. Good job I can still climb, but less able guests need to be aware. Room was over busy Union St, so we were a bit worried about noise potential, but thick walls and double glazing gave a quiet night. Decent breakfast, with choice of cereal, juice, tea, coffee and usual full breakfast. Only the tinned mushrooms disappointed
There are a couple of original stained glass windows in the hotel, the rest is Mockintosh, but fairly unobtrusive. Free wifi in public rooms worked fine.

Reviewed by
B Miller

From Penicuik, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in an excellent location
This hotel has a lot of character and was ideal for an overnight in Glasgow, especially with it being less than 5 minutes from Central Station. I would have preferred it if breakfast was served earlier than 7.30am but the range of food on offer was very good. The room itself was comfortable and clean and surprisingly spacious for a one bed. My only issue was that the window wouldn't shut. Great value for money at £39/night, considering I booked it the day before.

Reviewed by
Frances I

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed my stay, hotel was central for glasgow city centre. Room was very clean and bed v comfy.
Great value for money. Hotel was very traditional decor. Hotel was clean, staff were attentive and breakfast was very yummy. Very good stay and so central for Glasgow main attractions. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
claire p

From renfrewshire, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine
Covered all our needs. Was clean and tidy, close to city centre. Staff were friendly

Reviewed by
graham vass

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap City Centre Accomodation
I planned a one night stay in Glasgow for a night out about 100 yards away from the hotel . I got no more and no less than I expected as I didn't pay a lot of money for my room .
On arrival I was met with a receptionist who seemed uninterested and was pretty much off hand and rattled off details of breakfast , checkout times etc and the required information was given with little of no eye contact and certainly lacking any of the well known Glasgow humour or banter . I was instructed to go up two flights of well worn carpeted stairs to my room .
The whole place looked shabby and in desperate need of a makeover , my room was the same but it was clean with crisp,white towels laid out and crisp white bedding . I checked the toilet/shower room and it was the same , clean and functional . The shower itself lacked a bit of water pressure but it did the job required . The room had a TV and tea/coffee making facilities which I did not use . I have to add that the room was pleasantly warm on a cold and showery Glasgow afternoon . There was more than ample storage for clothing and luggage . I spent very little time in the room and I had a late night , early morning return to the room which was at the front of the hotel and as such it was very noisy due to revellers , police sirens then later what I assumed to be street cleaners ? I Have to say the night time receptionist was a bit more receptive than his day shift colleagues .
I rose for breakfast , utilized the shower room facilities again and made my way to the dining room which was in my opinion slightly better than the rest of the hotel . My breakfast was adequate and I was served quickly and without fuss especially given that I was very close to the 09.30 serving limit . Tea and or coffee was available self service from a machine , fruit juices , cereals , fruit cocktail , yogurts etc were all available , also self service as was a toaster which I did not utilise choosing to pick from the cooked breakfast menu .
Checkout was at or before 10.30 a.m. and was again completed without fuss or niceties . I can't say I enjoyed my experience but neither did I have any grounds for complaint . If I had a choice to stay there again , I would give it consideration as it suited the needs of a lone traveller in Glasgow for one night and to be honest I've stayed in far worse accommodation .

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite grubby
A cheap room but even at that it was not that pleasant and not great value for money. The whole hotel is rather tired, grubby and run down. Then again, a cheap bed in the city centre…? But I'm sure you could get something much nicer for not much more money. I don't think I'll be staying again.

Reviewed by
A B

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a bad place for a vista to Glasgow
Nice central location for exploring Glasgow, room was comfortable but nothing special. Aside from the trek up 4 flights of stairs it was a hotel I'd recommend. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful staff pleasant and bed comfy. All in all a very pleasant budget hotel.

Reviewed by
Gordon B

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
This was a nice room lots of character and very well located in the city.

Reviewed by
Ryan L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. However, the door to my room didn't lock from the outside! I was told that it would get looked at whilst I was out for dinner, but this did not happen. Luckily, it locked from the inside.

Reviewed by
Ashley Smokler

From East Barnet, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next