Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow Hotels > Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
59 Union Street , Glasgow, G1 3RB
The Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Glasgow and forms part of the Architectural Landscape of the city.

As the name suggests the Hotel has many features in connection with Charles Rennie Mackintosh. Over the years the hotel has been refurbished but always with an eye to keeping the Mackintosh era alive also every effort is made to retain as much originality as possible. Unfortunately, because the hotel is of a Victorian era there is no passenger lift but we ensure our guests have every assistance with their luggage by prior request. Rooms have got Flat screen TV's, complimentary mineral water, cookies and tea / coffee making facilities.

The rooms vary in size from a single to a family room depending on your needs and all have ensuite bathrooms. The rooms have all the basic amenities required by a business traveller or a tourist. Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a 24 hour bar to accommodate hotel guests if required.

There is a very quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has a free wi fi internet access for the residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.
Picture of Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 242 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely be back
I previously checked reviews on this hotel and was concerned about what I was letting myself in for. However I have absolutely no complaints and would recommend this hotel without hesitation. On arrival we were greeted by reception staff who was extremely polite, pleasant and vèry helpful. Upon returning to the hotel after an evening out, again the reception staff were very welcoming. The room was immaculate and well equipped - hairdryer, tv, shampoo, towels, tea, coffee, biscuits
The breakfast was more than enough and again service was excellent. The cost of this hotel for one night for 4 adults was well worth it - would recommend without hesitation

Reviewed by
Lisa W

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhat disappointed
The hotel was pleasant enough but unfortunately there was no indication when booking that is was close to some sort of a nightclub! Not the best way to get any sleep on a Friday night!
The room was basic but clean, as was the shower and toilet. Unfortunately about half an hour after checking in, the lights went off! Not a power cut as the tv and kettle still worked. A man had to be called to come and sort out the problem, but he couldn't get there til 6pm! Leaving about an hour or more of sitting in the dark. This sounded like a fairly regular problem, but no refunds or reductions were offered.
The worst problem with this hotel was the creaking! Everything you touched, creaked - the floor the doors the bed, - everything. There was also something that mad the whole room shudder intermittently. I don't know if it was heavy people thundering up the corridor, or a passing train at the nearby station, but every now and then a tremor like a mini earthquake would make the bed quiver.
For me, probably the worst problem was the slab of rock hard material that passed for a pillow. There were no spare pillows in the room and the one on the bed was like sleeping on concrete! Woke up with a sore neck and shoulders both mornings.

Reviewed by
Christine M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
The room was comfortable and adequate, the hotel is ideally situated for Glasgow centre and the shops and represents good value for money. My only criticism would be the slightly dirty stair carpets and a wonky sink tap - but for the money I paid I would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Barbara M

From Campbeltown, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Central hotel. Staff friendly and informative. Missed a lift but we needed the exercise. Room was to back of the hotel so no street noise. Room was very warm but a fan was supplied. Plentiful supply of tea coffee etc. Toiletries were re stocked daily. Breakfast was more than adequate and served quickly to order. A good experience and a great price.

Reviewed by
Mary H

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, at a great price. Breakfast included
perfect for puting your head down after a nigh out if your not to worried about frills.
central, inexpensive were good points.
on the minus side, if your room faces on to Union Street it can be a bit noisy if you haven't had enough ales.

Reviewed by
a cruickshank

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never got in got sent yo diffrrrnt hotrl. New jotel had a vrry cheeky yirl who fidnt ldt us into the room till 2pm hsd to go to a pub till 2pm eith our suitczse very dissapointed

Reviewed by
stewart finlay

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy ladies
Great location for city centre attractions, modern and warm room with comfy beds, value for money and would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
M Hughes

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for what I needed
Room was pleasing but rest of the hotel a little dissapointing. Also had book room and friends had also booked a room but my friends got moved beacause of double booking so kind of spoiled night a little as we had wanted to be close but they were moved to another hotel other side of glasgow

Reviewed by
C Kay

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant for the Money!
Was travelling at short notice and on a budget when I found the hotel on here.
Staff were courteous and friendly, rooms were large and clean, breakfast buffet was more than passable and it's brilliantly located right in the heart of Glasgow.
Only minor points of note would be that the rooms could be done with a bit of a spruce up - the bathroom sink didn't have a shelf to put my toiletries on, though it did have the holes where they should be and if it's possible upgrading the windows to something a bit more noise insulating would be good. I do understand that it is a listed building so that might not be possible though!

Reviewed by
Mark R

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grotty hotel, grotty room, questionable food and uninterested staff.
Considering you can get a room in a travelodge for under £30 per night I expected a lot more than what I got at this hotel. I paid £39 for one double room and soon realised I had been robbed. Paint was peeling off the walls, the bathroom floor tiles were uneven and sticky, the bathroom wall tiles hadn't seen a bottle of cif, ever! I also refused to walk on the bedroom carpet in my bare feet for fear of what might cling to me! The overall appearance of the hotel was run down and in need of a good clean and refurbishment. Would I stay here again? No way! Nor would I recommend it to anyone. I chose this hotel purely for its central location. Huge mistake, even the rats checked out!

Reviewed by
L Bruce

From Banchory, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next