Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow Hotels > Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
59 Union Street , Glasgow, G1 3RB
The Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Glasgow and forms part of the Architectural Landscape of the city.

As the name suggests the Hotel has many features in connection with Charles Rennie Mackintosh. Over the years the hotel has been refurbished but always with an eye to keeping the Mackintosh era alive also every effort is made to retain as much originality as possible. Unfortunately, because the hotel is of a Victorian era there is no passenger lift but we ensure our guests have every assistance with their luggage by prior request. Rooms have got Flat screen TV's, complimentary mineral water, cookies and tea / coffee making facilities.

The rooms vary in size from a single to a family room depending on your needs and all have ensuite bathrooms. The rooms have all the basic amenities required by a business traveller or a tourist. Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a 24 hour bar to accommodate hotel guests if required.

There is a very quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has a free wi fi internet access for the residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.
Picture of Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 234 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Stay
This was a nice room lots of character and very well located in the city.

Reviewed by
Ryan L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. However, the door to my room didn't lock from the outside! I was told that it would get looked at whilst I was out for dinner, but this did not happen. Luckily, it locked from the inside.

Reviewed by
Ashley Smokler

From East Barnet, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

read some of the comments
thought hotel was good for the money staff was ok and helpful breakfast was ok very central did not here that much noise from out side only thing was the stairs but then again i am getting older.

Reviewed by
a mason

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clydesider training
I stayed overnight to attend a Clydesider training. This was my second stay as I stayed here when I came for my interview. The receptionist could not be more pleasant, welcoming and helpful. The single room was very basic but extremely clean a comfortable. Good shower warm and powerful. Included breakfast was good would prefer fresh rather than tinned fruit and plain natural yoghurt. However the cooked breakfast was excellently cooked complements to the chef. I am only disappointed the price has gone up by £20 for my next training so I may not be able to return. However based on the deal I have had for my two stays this is a good place to stay and so close to Central Station It is really convenient.

Reviewed by
Jacqui H

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight
It's good how close it is to the centre and right by the station as i needed it. The only down side was that i didn't get a good night's sleep as it was a Friday night and you can hear alot of loud music from the nearby clubs. If i did stay there again, i may opt for a room on higher floor or come earlier in the week if possible.
Also at breakfast, the waitress served 2 other customers before attending to me when i arrived before them. Was bit annoyed as i had to be somewhere quite early.

Reviewed by
Emily N

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unpretentious & value for money
I stayed one night to attend Commonwealth Games training. Location is excellent, staff were pleasant & accommodation is adequate. At £44 per night bed & breakfast in city centre next to Central Station it was all I needed & very acceptable. Stairs could be difficult if travelling with heavy bags or with mobility difficulties but this was well advertised on the website & was what I was expecting.

Reviewed by
Sally H

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
We stayed for the third time in this hotel to attend an early morning family funeral and found the stay to be very pleasant and comfortable. Room was lovely and warm on a wet,chilly night and staff very helpful.Breakfast was good . Have no hesitation in booking again and again.

Reviewed by
Anne C

From Girvan, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Excellent friendly reception and other staff members. Warm, dry and clean room for an old building. The only thing I would say is that they should give you more pillows!

Reviewed by
G Kelly

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would never come back here
Hotel was very dingy and in dire need of a re-furb. Room was very small and shabby. Shower was absolutely filthy. Water wouldn't go away in the sink. The breakfast was appalling. We had a full Scottish and they used the cheapest of produce. I would never ever stay here again

Reviewed by
r gilchrist

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cleanliness was the only let down
The customer service was great. The rooms were spacious. But the cleanliness was quite poor. Unable to shower. As the shower floor.was.really badly stained and covered in dirt. Apart from that it was ok x

Reviewed by
nicky c

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.