Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow Hotels > Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
59 Union Street , Glasgow, G1 3RB
The Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Glasgow and forms part of the Architectural Landscape of the city.

As the name suggests the Hotel has many features in connection with Charles Rennie Mackintosh. Over the years the hotel has been refurbished but always with an eye to keeping the Mackintosh era alive also every effort is made to retain as much originality as possible. Unfortunately, because the hotel is of a Victorian era there is no passenger lift but we ensure our guests have every assistance with their luggage by prior request. Rooms have got Flat screen TV's, complimentary mineral water, cookies and tea / coffee making facilities.

The rooms vary in size from a single to a family room depending on your needs and all have ensuite bathrooms. The rooms have all the basic amenities required by a business traveller or a tourist. Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a 24 hour bar to accommodate hotel guests if required.

There is a very quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has a free wi fi internet access for the residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.
Picture of Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 252 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
If you don't plan to spend time in your room and want a clean ensuite room in a very central location with good transport links that's cheap it's great. If you are wanting to impress with a romantic break best avoid as it's basic and dated. Staff are first class helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
a gillan

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No frills but I'd use it again if needed
If all you want is a budget roof over your head this hotel will be fine. It's fairly basic but for less than £50 in central Glasgow quite a good deal. The pillow was almost completely flat but otherwise I was able to have a comfortable nights sleep. The breakfast was of decent quality with options of cereal, toast or cooked Scottish or vegetarian breakfast.The hotel is right next to Glasgow Central Station so ideally placed for travel connections incliding a shuttle bus for the airport. i would recommend to anyone who wants a reasonably priced, one night place to stay in central Glasgow

Reviewed by
Neil C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff made the stay
This is an old building, and the owners are obviously trying to do it up.
There are a lot of stairs and no lift, the staff are very friendly and are most helpful.
However, the room was not clean, there was cigarette ash all over the window ledge and a cigarette butt... also confetti on the floor and a half eaten bag of peanuts beside the bedside table.
The key card stopped working, but they did get that sorted very quickly.
However, the beds were clean and comfortable. I did like that they provided bottled water in the room. A bin in the bathroom would have been helpful.
The breakfast was well cooked, but there were no teaspoons?
They allowed us to leave our luggage to collect later on.
Its pretty noisy, but it does back onto Central Station.
All in all, the staff made the stay, and I think if all the wee things got sorted out it would be a handy hotel for those stopping over by train.

Reviewed by
H Haining

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay in Glasgow
Lack of lift facilities could be an impediment esp if three flights up, with a few cases. Comfort of stay would have been improved if more pillows had been available in room and also if all light fittings had bulbs that worked. However, helpfulness of staff compensated for these minor setbacks and, as booked at last minute and arriving late in evening, the position was ideal in the centre between both main railway staions, we did not need to pay for taxis and had easy access to food.

Reviewed by
Marjorie R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service was great at desk and taking my heavy suitcase upstairs... Wasn't impressed with the bed
Mattress hard as nails
Didn't get offered wi fi
Wasn't told when breakfast was finishing and missed out on it
But front desk service was great and location nice and central

Reviewed by
D Birch

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my mistake!
The lack of a lift meant that I had six sets of stairs up to the room and down again when I wanted to go out. I soon learnt how to avoid these exhausting exercises.
The lock on the door did not work - I placed the chair back under the handle.
The lack of double-glazing was awful.

Reviewed by
IVY M

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for been central
You get what you pay for. It was cheap and cheerful. Lots of steps , 29 to reception and 72 to our room on 3rd floor, if your on 4th floor there is 91(I counted them) so make sure your fit. Definitely ask for a back room, it is extremely noisy, clean, but needs an update

Reviewed by
D Knott

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not cheerful
Initially I booked a budget room, it appears this means it in on the 4th floor with sky lights without curtains. When I asked for a room with curtains I had to upgrade and pay a further £10 for a better quality room. This was absolutely rank, mould all over bathroom, filthy shower curtain, dirty floor, knackered furniture.
Although I was not treated rudely by the receptionist I overheard a pretty heated exchange between her and a potential guest on the phone which would have put me off staying.

Reviewed by
yvonne b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and handy for city sights

Reviewed by
Jennifer T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
I thought my room was well equipped for a budget priced hotel, though the pillow was due for a replacement due to its poor quality and lumpiness however it was not really uncomfortable. All the staff that I met were more than helpful, they were absolutely lovely. When I was leaving areas on the first floor were being repainted. Not sure that there is an actual connection to the architect whose name is used but it's a very old and beautiful building and I enjoyed my stay. Would have been nice if the breakfast scrambled eggs had not resembled chopped up omelette, I imagine it had been (over) microwaved, however this seems to be the norm now in quite a lot of places and the person at the next table said that they had enjoyed theirs! However it was a very good sized portion and I wasn't left hungry, there was also a self service counter where as much toast, cereals etc could be had as was wanted. Best bits? The staircase and the wonderful staff on reception.

Reviewed by
P Fillery

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.