Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow Hotels > Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
59 Union Street , Glasgow, G1 3RB
The Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Glasgow and forms part of the Architectural Landscape of the city.

As the name suggests the Hotel has many features in connection with Charles Rennie Mackintosh. Over the years the hotel has been refurbished but always with an eye to keeping the Mackintosh era alive also every effort is made to retain as much originality as possible. Unfortunately, because the hotel is of a Victorian era there is no passenger lift but we ensure our guests have every assistance with their luggage by prior request. Rooms have got Flat screen TV's, complimentary mineral water, cookies and tea / coffee making facilities.

The rooms vary in size from a single to a family room depending on your needs and all have ensuite bathrooms. The rooms have all the basic amenities required by a business traveller or a tourist. Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a 24 hour bar to accommodate hotel guests if required.

There is a very quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has a free wi fi internet access for the residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.
Picture of Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 212 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looking tired
Hotel needs a bit of modernisation. First room smelt of cigarette smoke, so asked to be moved. Much smaller room with a bathroom that had holes where shelves used to be. Very noisy at night if facing the street side. On our last night, someone managed to enter our room at 4 in the morning which was scary. Staff said it was impossible!
Good location though, next to central station.

Reviewed by
I Brown

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value

Reviewed by
Geoff Levitt

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
Stayed here for one night, ensuite bathroom was immaculate and large, rest of room was basic but for the price it was clean, cosy and comfortable, excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
N graham

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

front or back
try and get a room at the back of the hotel as all the front rooms face a very busy main road that is noisy until about 0130 then starts again at 05:00 not ideal

Reviewed by
David Pearson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Short stay
excellent value for money ideal for rail travellers or citybreaks

Reviewed by
R Baillie

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My view
If you are looking for somewhere affordable to stay in the centre of Glasgow then this is a good choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and I had everything I needed within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Althea Bart

From Walthamstow,, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Short stay
excellent value for money ideal for rail travellers or citybreaks

Reviewed by
R Baillie

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exceeded expectations
very quick,polite and efficient check in by young man-perhaps could have been a bit more chatty enquiring about journey etc as I looked like a drowned rat when I arrived having walked through the city centre in a downpour. Had booked a small room on 4th floor and website states no lift so no surprises there - but I was surprised about the room - pleasantly - it was large with a large bathroom 'very clean - if a trifle dated but for the price and central location I certainly would not complain about it.Unfortunately I did not make breakfast having been to an office christmas party the night before - 9.30 for breakfast finishing seems slightly early for a weekend - having worked in hotels for 25 years 10am to 10.30 am has been the normal but I should have got up earlier though I blame the bed as it was very comfortable and I didnt want to get out it. All in all a very good stay and certainly could not fault it for the price

Reviewed by
H Macdonald

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget Deal
Quick overnight stay in central location. Staff friendly, room good quality for the price and would defiantly stay again.

Reviewed by
D AGNEW

From England
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Serious budget option.
Scores heavily for great position, friendly staff , comfortable beds , plain but filling breakfast and rock-bottom cost .But it`s old decor and old plumbing so best to shower in the evening; and if you get a room at the street side you need earplugs. Or a half bottle of whisky....

Reviewed by
richard b

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next