Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow Hotels > Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
59 Union Street , Glasgow, G1 3RB
The Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Glasgow and forms part of the Architectural Landscape of the city.

As the name suggests the Hotel has many features in connection with Charles Rennie Mackintosh. Over the years the hotel has been refurbished but always with an eye to keeping the Mackintosh era alive also every effort is made to retain as much originality as possible. Unfortunately, because the hotel is of a Victorian era there is no passenger lift but we ensure our guests have every assistance with their luggage by prior request. Rooms have got Flat screen TV's, complimentary mineral water, cookies and tea / coffee making facilities.

The rooms vary in size from a single to a family room depending on your needs and all have ensuite bathrooms. The rooms have all the basic amenities required by a business traveller or a tourist. Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a 24 hour bar to accommodate hotel guests if required.

There is a very quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has a free wi fi internet access for the residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.
Picture of Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 239 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

going north
The cooked breakfast was a disappointment as one is lead to believe a cooked full breakfast in Scotland is a wonder to behold. This was not coked to order but assembled from food off a hotplate.
Although the second days poached were great.

Reviewed by
david c

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
I only stayed for one night at the Rennie Mack intosh station hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of accommodation and food for the amount paid.

Reviewed by
j newman

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom we had needed tarted up a bit, bed was extremely comfortable , shower was great, excellent central position, for
Trains taxis and underground.a bit noisy traffic wise as hotel is on a main road, and our room was to the front.Downside to hotel was no lift, I have M.S. so it was a struggle to climb to the 3rd floor.Breakfast was very good.For the price we paid breakfast included it was an excellent deal.

Reviewed by
Moira M

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Glasgow
The hotel could not be nearer the station and therfore more centrally located.
The room was of adequate size for a single traveller and suited my requirements.
All thelinen was clean and towels were replaced daily.
My only gripe was that the pillow was terrible and needed replacing-it was like resting my head on a
brick.

Reviewed by
P Holmes

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast sausages a bit like sawdust and disappointed it was tinned fruit for breakfast not fresh

Reviewed by
patricia kell

From Annan, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Complancency
Hard to find, slapdash in general decor, this hotel does the bare minimum to provide semi adequate accomodation. Having had my own hotel in the highlands and islands I can say that we needed to work many times harder to provide far superior accomodation for a fraction of the returns. Trading on the back of the famous Rene Mackintosh is a gimmick especially when the staff cannot even tell you where the various art galleries and museums are, if they are open or how much it is to enter. Good job they are in a vibrant and friendly city.

Reviewed by
david m

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comical check in, it only take 2 surnames the same to throw some folk.
Breakfast was good, room very small, and lots of street noise if at the front of the hotel, ok for what we needed

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was ideal for my needs that night
I was travelling to the Hebrides and needed an early start from Queen Street station and that meant the RMH was ideal, especially as to my overall budget.

Reviewed by
A McNeillie

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
All the rooms are up 3 flights of stairs which is rather annoying and in the room you can not walk without the floor boards creaking and occaisionally the room will shake because of passing trains. On the other hand though the food is good in the mornings and the staff are pleasent and helpful.

Reviewed by
A Marini

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Good value. Very handy for Central Station and the shops.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next