Reviews - Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel


59 Union Street, Glasgow, G1 3RB

Price From 123.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (233)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • R Cameron

  • November 2014

cracking location/clean rooms

Came to Glasgow for a gig so really just looking for somewhere to rest our heads for a few hours- this hotel was perfect.

Fantastic location right next to station, shops and pubs. Fairly basic decor etc but comfy bed and well worth the money paid. Will definitely be booking with these guys next time I'm aloud out!

  • Alexandra Clark

  • November 2014

Overall a very positive experience. Great value for money in city centre hotel.

Great location.

Good accommodation for what we paid. And full cooked breakfast included. Breakfast good if bit on cool side, but we enjoyed. Would definitely make a return visit.

  • a cruickshank

  • November 2014

Excellent location, at a great price. Breakfast included

perfect for puting your head down after a nigh out if your not to worried about frills.

central, inexpensive were good points. on the minus side, if your room faces on to Union Street it can be a bit noisy if you haven't had enough ales.

  • Lisa W

  • November 2014

Will definitely be back

I previously checked reviews on this hotel and was concerned about what I was letting myself in for.

However I have absolutely no complaints and would recommend this hotel without hesitation. On arrival we were greeted by reception staff who was extremely polite, pleasant and vèry helpful. Upon returning to the hotel after an evening out, again the reception staff were very welcoming. The room was immaculate and well equipped - hairdryer, tv, shampoo, towels, tea, coffee, biscuits

The breakfast was more than enough and again service was excellent. The cost of this hotel for one night for 4 adults was well worth it - would recommend without hesitation

  • Christine M

  • November 2014

Somewhat disappointed

The hotel was pleasant enough but unfortunately there was no indication when booking that is was close to some sort of a nightclub.

Not the best way to get any sleep on a Friday night. The room was basic but clean, as was the shower and toilet. Unfortunately about half an hour after checking in, the lights went off. Not a power cut as the tv and kettle still worked. A man had to be called to come and sort out the problem, but he couldn't get there til 6pm. Leaving about an hour or more of sitting in the dark. This sounded like a fairly regular problem, but no refunds or reductions were offered. The worst problem with this hotel was the creaking. Everything you touched, creaked - the floor the doors the bed, - everything. There was also something that mad the whole room shudder intermittently. I don't know if it was heavy people thundering up the corridor, or a passing train at the nearby station, but every now and then a tremor like a mini earthquake would make the bed quiver. For me, probably the worst problem was the slab of rock hard material that passed for a pillow. There were no spare pillows in the room and the one on the bed was like sleeping on concrete. Woke up with a sore neck and shoulders both mornings.

  • Barbara M

  • November 2014

Good value for money

The room was comfortable and adequate, the hotel is ideally situated for Glasgow centre and the shops and represents good value for money.

My only criticism would be the slightly dirty stair carpets and a wonky sink tap - but for the money I paid I would definitely stay again

  • ian pearsall

  • November 2014

Ideal ...

I liked the hotel, I liked the room on the top floor overlooking the City.

It was warm, cosy and very hospitable.

  • Mary H

  • November 2014

Great experience

Central hotel.

Staff friendly and informative. Missed a lift but we needed the exercise. Room was to back of the hotel so no street noise. Room was very warm but a fan was supplied. Plentiful supply of tea coffee etc. Toiletries were re stocked daily. Breakfast was more than adequate and served quickly to order. A good experience and a great price.

  • C Kay

  • November 2014

good for what I needed

Room was pleasing but rest of the hotel a little dissapointing.

Also had book room and friends had also booked a room but my friends got moved beacause of double booking so kind of spoiled night a little as we had wanted to be close but they were moved to another hotel other side of glasgow

  • Mark R

  • November 2014

Brilliant for the Money!

Was travelling at short notice and on a budget when I found the hotel on here.

Staff were courteous and friendly, rooms were large and clean, breakfast buffet was more than passable and it's brilliantly located right in the heart of Glasgow. Only minor points of note would be that the rooms could be done with a bit of a spruce up - the bathroom sink didn't have a shelf to put my toiletries on, though it did have the holes where they should be and if it's possible upgrading the windows to something a bit more noise insulating would be good. I do understand that it is a listed building so that might not be possible though!