Reviews - The Clarendon Apartments

3

28 CLARENDON SQUARE, LEAMINGTON SPA, CV32 5QX

Price From 190.20 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (14)

57% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Marie p

  • July 2015

Homely

It was very friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

Carlo kindly greeted us outside our apartment since we were visitors from Liverpool. The apartment had everything you could need for your stay so it was very homey and relaxing.

  • Keith H

  • July 2015

Need a good clean

The owner called us the day before to arrange our key collection he was friendly and helpful.

The Apartment was good value for money but the décor is very tired and the place needs a good clean, most surfaces were dusty and we found fat filled trays in the cooker oven which had not been washed. the beds are low quality. the apartment was well appointed but with old and dirty items. I think you get my drift cleanliness was by far the biggest issue on one which could be easily fixed

  • andrew s

  • June 2015

The Clarendon Apartments

Nice.

  • Mark felli

  • April 2015

weekend away

Superb spacious apartment ideal for groups ,families or couples excellent accommodation and friendly owner ,highly recommend

  • Sarah B

  • April 2015

Great

We were visiting a friend in Leamington Spa - this place was perfectly located.

We were met promptly by the owner's son who was extremely friendly and showed us around. The apartment (we stayed in #5) was a really good size (much bigger than we expected) and ended up being a nice place just to hang out and relax particularly during the evening.

  • D M

  • November 2014

Embarrassingly bad

I booked this apartment as an alternative to a hotel hoping it would give me a home-from-home feel while i attended a week long training course.

I read the reviews and decided to risk it in the hope the previous reviews were overly picky. Unfortunately I was wrong. My original booking was made for 'a recently refurbished' apartment in the Portland West address however I was advised by email a few days before arrival that this apartment was not available due to works in the communal areas and I would be moved to a similar apartment at the Clarendon Square address. I accepted this even though it was further away from the location of my course. I arrived at the address and was met by a nice Italian gentleman. When he opened the door and lead me into the communal hall and stairway I knew I had made a mistake. The place was filthy with peeling wallpaper and dirty paintwork. He seemed oblivious to it. The apartment itself appeared cleaner than the communal areas but did not stand up to close inspection. The windows and paintwork were dirty, none of the random pictures on the wall had been dusted in months. The furniture had been roughly vacuumed around (previous guests socks under the bed) and the shelves and in the living room were scattered with dusty directories and other peoples mail (!)

On a positive note, the sheets and towels were clean.

The place is like a student flat with old and grubby mismatched furniture, the mattress on the bed was uneven and lumpy with missing slats underneath – at 2am on the first night I had to prop the slats back up and pull a spare duvet from another bed to try and pad up the mattress. The cups, crockery, cutlery, pots and pans were a random mishmash of what looked like hand-me-downs and glasses acquired from local pubs, however the oven, hob and microwave were relatively new, clean and in good working order. I wondered if it’s maybe a holiday home for the owners family that they have decided to let as ‘serviced apartments’. These are not like any serviced apartments I have ever stayed in before. The absolute worst issue in this apartment was the horrendous smell in the bathroom. I tried various options of leaving the fan/light on, switching it off, opening and closing the door but nothing I did got rid of what I can only describe as, a combination or dampness, drains and a stale cooked food smell. By the 2nd night I had managed to improve it by pouring bleach down the drains, putting in neutralising air fresheners and an oil burner. In reality, I should have complained at the time but I was so tired form my course I decided I would try and remedy it myself rather than the drama of an altercation with the owner and the upheaval of trying to find alternative accommodation. It wasn’t the end of the world but it was bad enough that I felt I had to warn others to know what to expect. Unless you have a group of 8 people (there were enough beds!) that need to crash for a night, I wouldn’t consider it. I paid over £100 per night for accommodation which was embarrassingly bad, if I owned these apartments, I’d be mortified.

  • A Hillard

  • September 2014

Do Not Recommend!

The address on the email was incorrect and when i phoned him, he was yelling at me saying it was right and that i was an idiot...

i didnt need to be disrepected by an italian man on my stressful enough day. The shower was always cold, the microwave's power worked but it didnt turn or heat up and cooker didn't cook the food properly even if when it was on the correct settings and for the alloted time. The apartment was cold as I didn't get shown where to turn the heating on and half the cutlery, plates and bowls were left dirty. Did not enjoy my three days here... I was counting down the hours going back into work.

  • Mark O

  • August 2014

Business meeting in Warwick

Professional, courteous and exactly what was required.

  • D Kane

  • July 2014

could be so much more !!!

The apartment is well located in Leamington Spa.......that is the best part of this apartment.....and the only one.

The apartment is situated within a v nice art deco facade building but it is poorly maintained......lacking any security and is now a typical run down student style accommodation block.

I would not recommend this apartment to anyone unless you have more than 6 young children and you need to stay in Leamington, otherwise this apartment is a total let down and soooooo over priced, not to mention the uncleanness.

  • G Miller

  • May 2014

Great location and value

Visiting friends in Leamington, we were looking for somewhere simple and central.

The apartment was both of these as well as being significantly better than staying in any one of the identikit chain hotels that we could have. Will definitely stay here again and recommend to others.