Reviews - The Pheasant


Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth, CA13 9YE

Price From 210.13 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • J Mackintosh

  • September 2015

A night at the pheasant

An enchanting spot in a lovely old house

Close to vibrant Keswick and beautiful borrow dale

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend

The pheasant to all who want a quiet relaxing break


  • August 2015

The Pheasant- pleasant for a few days stay.

Food good.

Staff friendly. Public rooms in keeping with the Hotel being an old coaching inn, bedroom was acceptable. The inn is situated on it's own, which may not suit everyone, 15 minutes by car from Keswick. Detailed daily weather forecast provided- useful for fellwalkers.

  • Iona M

  • April 2015

Beautiful location

This is a very comfortable inn in a very nice spot.

A lovely pub atmosphere, comfortable lounges with roaring fires, very nice food (we recommend that you book for dinner), excellent welcoming service. The bed was rather too soft and it is a bit pricy for what you get (few hotel-quality services on site) but we knew that when we booked.

  • D Jones

  • February 2015

Disappointing ?

Stayed here and was not happy, why,room was damp in one corner,cobwebs in corners,bathroom radiator was not working,one of the owners came to have a look, no joy,said to leave hot water running to warm bathroom up??, asked for a room move said they were full up or he would have moved us, checked later on line, and reception, and yes there was a room available,so we assume he could not be bothered to look after guests, decor in room was in need of updating,bathroom decor was awfull, paper peeling of ceiling in a number of places,cobwebs in bedroom in all corners,very poor room.

  • Nicky B

  • January 2015

Cosy Break

If you get the Bassenthwaite room make sure there is no party going on as the noise is horrendous and you can hear every word the people are saying downstairs.

We had to ring reception and they did quieten down but £150,00 for a noisy room was a bit disappointing.

  • Brian Roche

  • November 2014

Long Weekend retreat

The Pheasant Inn is a superb retreat offering a very pleasant atmosphere in very comfortable surroundings.

The welcome was warm and all the staff were very professional and helpful. We had a very good meal in the bistro. We will return again for sure. Wonderful location.

  • C Hughes

  • September 2014

Some rooms better than others

Our room was generally excellent, clean, well set up and provided for, regularly checked and used items replenished, lovely sheets and pillows.

The only slight negative being its location over the kitchen and hence some early morning noise, not great but I would try to avoid it in future by booking one of the rooms overlooking the garden which are really, really good.

  • Alfred Huckett

  • July 2014

Good service in a comfortable old fashioned inn

This was one of five hotels that we stayed in and was far the best.

Will be returning as soon as possible as this is a gem and needs to be enjoyed for as long as it lasts. This is a place both to rest in the stunning garden or equally as a base to have a vigorous or not so vigorous walk on the nearby fells.

  • Roger Lawford

  • July 2014

Lovely lakes hotel all should visit

  • Danny L

  • May 2014

The pleasant phesant

We had a warm friendly greeting on arrival and help with our bags.

The room was of a reasonable size and very comfortable. The breakfast was made with fresh food, very tasty and enjoyable along with good service. The only quibble we had was with the noise from the plumbing on a couple of occasions. We only had a short stay whilst attending a wedding nearby and did not get the opportunity to try an evening meal. I was more disappointed because I didn't have the chance to sample the three excellent local real ales. We will definitely stay here again some time in the future, it has a very calm, relaxing atmosphere as well as being in a top class location.