No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Distant Hills Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Roy Bridge Road, Spean Bridge, , Fort William, PH34 4EU
Distant Hills Guest House, Spean Bridge near Fort William provides visitors to the Highlands with stylish bungalow accommodation. This four star guest house offers modern B&B facilities and delicious home cooked food in a quiet village location. The guest house is located in its own spacious grounds on the edge of Spean Bridge but only five minutes walk from the village centre. If you enjoy sight seeing Ben Nevis and Loch Ness are 10 and 20 minutes drive respectively. A day trip to the Isle of Skye is one of the breathtaking drives in the area and perhaps exploring the beautiful beaches on the road to the Isles on another day. Distant Hills is the perfect place to relax after a busy day touring the Highlands. There is a large guest lounge with satellite television, DVD player, selection of books, magazines and FREE secure wireless internet access throughout the building. The guest house is set in lovely gardens which can be enjoyed in good weather. In the morning a delicious home cooked breakfast awaits, sourced from local suppliers where possible. Please note: We prefer payment by cash or UK debit card. We also accept credit cards,non UK debit cards and some charge cards but please note that these card payments will incur a premium of 4% which represents the processing cost of the transaction There is no "family room" in Distant Hills so we have decided to focus on creating a relaxed and peaceful place for singles, couples and older families. We therefore do not accept children under 12 years of age.
Picture of Distant Hills Guest House, Fort William at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3rd visit.
Our third stay was as comfortable as our first two.
Company always good and welcome given just as generous
Thank you

Reviewed by
Cameron Fraser

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Distant Hills Guest House proved an excellent place to stay. From the welcome to the room and the breakfast all were very good. The owners worked as a team and were so organised in all aspects of looking after guests. They also knew the area very well and were able to suggest places to visit and walks in the area.

Reviewed by
Kathleen S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
From the moment you book to stay here the owner emails you to ensure your stay is good. He emails links to good restaurants and even has their menu's and to top this he even offers to book a table for you. We arrived and received such a warm welcome and an offer of a drink in the lounge. The room was beautiful and had everything you could need/want. They also had such a comprehensive folder with great ideas for days out with and without the car. Breakfast was just superb, the fruit juice fresh and the produce local and everything of the best quality and so well cooked. There are no negatives we can say about this place. I would recommend here to anyone and will certainly book here if in the area again

Reviewed by
Tracy S

From Turriff, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
M Lloyd

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb accommodation, hosts, food and location... Couldn't ask for anything more. Faultless.
If you are looking to be spoilt and need to chill and relax then don't pass this by....stayed here for four nights and felt thoroughly spoilt! Superb accommodation, very clean, fabulous friendly hosts who were very helpful and very welcoming; superb breakfasts and all so very relaxing..... Would definitely stay here again! Thank you Lesley and Peter!

Reviewed by
Karen F

From Baldock, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous breakfast
Distant Hills is set about 1mile from the Commando Monument, just on the edge of the small town. The road in front of the guest house is very busy but it most certainly doesn't seem to spoil the tranquility of the rooms or the back garden. Peter, our host kindly offered us a very welcome pot of coffee & some homemade cake on our arrival ~ a lovely, homely touch.
We chose a twin room which was softly decorated & was a reasonable size. However, the washing facilities were a little odd. On one side of the room there was an excellent, powerful shower in a cupboard & on the other side of the room was a toilet in a cupboard with the sink in a corner of the bedroom. The bungalow is tastfully decorated & there is a very comfortable lounge for guests to use if they so wish. Outside in the back garden there is patio furniture & chickens!! I must say that they are the healthiest looking chickens I have ever seen!
Breakfast is to die for!!!! My husband had a full English breakfast on the first morning & scrambled eggs ( from the chickens) with salmon on the second morning & he thoroughly enjoyed both of them. I had the cheese platter on my first morning which included oatcakes, fruit & a selection of Scottish cheeses & it was delicious. But on the second morning I had the pancakes & I thought that I'd died & gone to heaven they were so delicious & so beautifully presented. There was an abundance of coffee & toast & Peter & his wife ( sorry, I can't remember your name!) were most attentive. Peter even booked an evening meal for us at a nearby restaurant. Distant Hills is certainly a place that we would stay at again if we are ever in the area. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Denise Marie Hardman

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
Lovely couple running a lovely B&B. A call to my mobile when late down from climbing to check all was well was very thoughtful. Great pancakes for breakfast to boot!

Reviewed by
Daniel M

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The experience was first class - from a pot of tea on arrival, to arranging a table for the evening meal to a spot on breakfast. Great hosts and an imaculate room and facilities. Would reccomend to anyone.

Reviewed by
steve b

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing could be better !!!
Probably the best of this type of accommodation I have every stayed in (seriously). Nothing could be faulted and I wouldn't want to if it could as the hosts were so pleasant, helpful and dedicated. We only stayed one night as we were moving about, but if I am back in the area for longer next time, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Everything after this on the trip, that was more expensive, kept being compared back to Distant Hills, by myself and my son and didn't come close. Lastly for those who like their food the breakfasts are amazing, no scrimping on the obvious quality of the ingredients. I am still on the trip now, but wanted to leave this review already.

Reviewed by
Geoff Smith

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hospitality and outstanding breakfast

Reviewed by
hanns b

From South Africa
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next