No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Collaven Manor Hotel

2AA ประเมิน โรงแรม Ratings explained
Collaven Manor Hotel, Sourton, , Okehampton, EX20 4HH
Nestling on the North West edge of Dartmoor, this beautiful 15th century manor house, once owned by the Hamilton family, is built of granite and covered in creeper and stands in four acres of picturesque gardens and paddocks. All of the nine ensuite rooms have gorgeous views, are individually and tastefully furnished to a very high standard and offer a very special comfort. Guests can unwind in the cosy bar lounge, where in colder weather a log fire welcomes you. From the gardens, visitors can enjoy glorious views of magnificent countryside, with the vista of Cornwall in front and the ragged tors of Dartmoor towering behind.

Close by there are several fine 18 hole golf courses, walks directly on to Dartmoor and pony trekking and riding on Dartmoor can be arranged, as well as fishing. Horse racing at Newton Abbot and Devon and Exeter are just 40 minutes away and the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan are within easy reach.

Our Restaurant is open for evening food on most evenings, but to guarantee a
reservation, we would recommend you reserve a table in advance. Where
possible we serve a locally sourced menu, including some home grown produce.
Please inform us if you have any allergies or special dietary requirements
that we should know about, particularly regarding food

We take food very seriously at Collaven, and you can enjoy a four course dinner in the 'Hamilton Restaurant' with the best of local and home grown produce. The menu changes daily with the emphasis on the best of British cooking, enhanced with continental and oriental influences and also vegetarian Specialities. A selection of fine wines is available. A separate beamed Inglenook Restaurant is available for private parties. Children welcome.
Picture of Collaven Manor Hotel, Okehampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!!
Beautiful rooms and gardens... Very welcoming

Reviewed by
Bryony C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short notice booking but they coped.
A clean comfortable quiet room + great breakfast

Reviewed by
M Wilson

From Cobham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Possibly a very good hotel in the busy season
Facilities were excellent but lacked atmosphere in the quiet season. It would have been nice to see the proprietors more often. There were no newspapers in the lounge. Staff were friendly but, once food was served, were not particularly visible to talk to about possible places to visit in the area, although information in the room was good.

Reviewed by
A Harris

From Herts, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumn Break
Our first time in this area, which we thought was beautiful. Unfortunately, the weather was not too good, but the hotel was lovely and warm, our room was nice and spacious with a comfy seating area and the breakfasts were amongst the best we've ever had. The signage outside the hotel was excellent, easily visible on approach and saved all the uncertainty and peering around that normally accompanies these trips! We will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
S Plant

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel stay
The service, food and accommodation were very good. The room was warm and comfortable. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The owners were very helpful in finding a garage to sort out a problem with my car.

Reviewed by
G Bond

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite a disappointment
Having read the many positive reviews on Laterooms, my partner and I were quite disappointed with the reality. The house, grounds and views are fantastic, but, upon welcome we were made to feel like an inconvenience to the owner. An attitude which, unfortunately, prevailed throughout our stay. This combined with the extremely basic room made us feel that our money would have been better spent elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Alec M

From Braunton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!
This is definitely the best hotel I have stayed at ever. Jeff the Hotelier was so helpful and during my stay made me feel part of the family and not just a paying guest. The rooms are clean. The food is outstanding and the atmosphere is calming. Thank you for the experience. One of a kind.

Reviewed by
Stephen Edwards

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Choice
A large bed and a quiet and peaceful location are top priority for us. We got this and more. Down a long sweeping drive off the road so no traffic noise. The room was pretty and inviting. Facilities excellent. We arrived just in time for an evening meal and the food was superbly cooked. We strolled in the grounds which were lovely and the whole place, plus the proprieters, gave off an air of calm and peace but also a very interesting, well kept buildng. I took a brochure as I hope to make a return visit and recommend it to friends too.

Reviewed by
Sandy B

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, beautiful Hotel, good service

Reviewed by
M Short

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were made welcome all through our stay. The hosts, Mr and Mrs Mitchell are both lovely.
We will go back next year for sure.

Reviewed by
N Boycott

From Walton on Thames, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next