Reviews - Holiday Inn BIRMINGHAM CITY CENTRE

3

Smallbrook,Queensway, Birmingham, B5 4EW

Price From 182.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (104)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jayne Bennett

  • January 2016

Price of snack foods

The only thing that disappointed me was the price of a sandwich and the cost of room service.

2 cheese and onion sandwiches and a pint of lager all in with room service £17.50.

  • Tanya W

  • January 2016

Sunday night stay

We could hear music until just after midnight apart from that the accommodation was comfortable, clean and we had a pleasant stay.

Response from hotel

Dear Tanya W,

Thank you for your stay and for posting a review about your experience.

Thank you for the high rating you gave us in terms of cleanliness and rooms. On the other hand, I regret to know that you perceived the noise level in the property too high. I am sorry for the inconvenience that the soundproofing conditions on site may have caused you. Your comments are noted and will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Until your next visit, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Ingrid,

IHG Care

  • Rachel Leese

  • December 2015

Holiday Inn BIRMINGHAM CITY CENTRE

Room nice but outside was horrendously loud with fight taxis beeping drunken people and so didn't get to sleep until after 5am.

Room nice and clean and staff nice.

Response from hotel

Dear Rachel Leese,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you liked our rooms and found our staff friendly. On the other hand, we regret that the noise levels may have negatively affected your overall satisfaction with our hotel. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback is instrumental for us to improve to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Faith,

IHG Care

  • c ward

  • December 2015

Excellent customer service

The hotel is convenient to New Street station and although in a busy part of Birmingham, I could not hear any road noise or city noise once inside the hotel.

The reception staff are friendly and welcoming giving a good introduction to the amenities in the hotel. The room I was given was a double room which was clean and spacious. The best part of my stay was the breakfast experience. The customer service from waiting staff at breakfast was superb. They were polite, attentive and seemed genuinely interested in meeting my needs. Tables were cleared promptly ensuring there was always a clean table for the next guest to occupy. This hotel is highly recommended. It is the hotel of choice for me whenever I stay in Birmingham.

  • B Wilson

  • December 2015

Weekend in Birmingham

Was handy for new street station, the room was clean and tidy with a comfy bed

  • K Metcalfe

  • November 2015

Conference

The reception staff were very friendly and responsive.

The restaurant had good range of choices and the food was very good.

  • D Travis

  • November 2015

Holiday Inn BIRMINGHAM CITY CENTRE

Food in the restaurant was dry and mediocre breakfast was good

  • M Harper

  • September 2015

A little overpriced

Response from hotel

Dear M Harper,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are truly sorry for falling short of your expectations with regards to the room rate. Rest assured that this will be addressed immediately to the hotel management for review to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope this will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Divina,

IHG Care

  • James C

  • September 2015

Typical Holiday Inn

Stayed for two nights.

Nothing particularly bad to say, the room was very comfortable and clean, although the decor was less modern than Holiday Inn Express in Birmingham Snow Hill that I stayed at last year.

Positives: location - great for accessing all of Brum's amenities, you're right by China Quarter and just a 10 minute stroll from Broad Street, where loads of bars and nightspots can be found. The Holiday Inn also has an excellent bar, plasma TVs and stayed open late.

TV in room, decent enough size but no Sky. Negatives: wifi was practically non-existent. If requested a top floor room so it was quieter, and I think it might have been out of range for getting a good signal. To be fair I didn't mention it to the hotel as it wasn't a huge deal for me so they didn't have chance to resolve it. One other thing, not really a negative but I found bizarre - they have a "bouncer" on the door from 11PM and you have to show your room key to get back in. No big deal, but why. I'm used to being able to walk in and out as I please.

Finally I think it's quite expensive for what it is, there are quite a lot of hotels in the area that are comparable and a bit cheaper, or similar priced ones that are a bit better. Having said that the stay was very comfy and I had two very good nights sleep, so if I was in the area again and there was a discount on the rooms then I may well return.

Response from hotel

Dear James C,

We appreciate your post regarding your recent stay with our hotel. Your review is important as it will help us monitor the things we need to improve on and the things we are good at. We are glad you found our location convenient for your needs. We apologize, however, for the disappointments you had with the Wifi connection that prevented you from enjoying your time at our hotel. Your comments and observations regarding the room check, television, and pricing will be shared with our management

team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements accordingly in order to help our guests get the most out of their stay with us.

Until your next visit, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Ingrid,

IHG Care

  • Peter P

  • September 2015

Show break

Very good.

Staff very polite and helpfull