No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Smallbrook,Queensway, Birmingham, B5 4EW
Stay central at the comfortable Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre hotel, 2 minutes' walk from Birmingham New Street train station. Friendly staff is ready to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre . Contemporary decor makes your guest room a stylish home-from-home experience, complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel. We're located in the heart of the city in a great location to all of Birmingham’s main attractions such as the ICC, Bullring Shopping Centre, NIA, Hippodrome Theatre, Alexandra Theatre, Sea life Centre and many more, certainly making us the ideal choice when you are looking for a hotel in Birmingham . We are able to host banquets and conferences for up to 600 people in Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre's 13 meeting rooms which makes for an impressive corporate event, dinner or conference . Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre's Albany Restaurant serves a full English buffet breakfast each morning and our Albany restaurant makes for an impressive spot to enjoy tasty dishes throughout the evening. Our Albany Bar is a great place to watch sports on plasma TVs and enjoy drinks on the terrace. The Hotel is a short stroll to The Arcadian complex, where you can dine on world cuisine from British to Chinese, spending an evening sipping cosmopolitans and watching hilarious stand-up comedy at the famous, Glee Club .
Picture of Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 134 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
We were very satisfied with our stay at this hotel. The staff were polite and attentive and we would recommend The Holiday Inn to anyone planning a visit to Birmingham.

Reviewed by
George Robinson

From Woodhall Spa, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it!
Service was amazing, people were very kind and helpful. You can go in and out of the hotel any time you want as long as you bring your room card with you. The hotel is right smack in the city center, so there is a lot you can do and everything you need is as close as it gets! You get 50% off your car park ticket.
The room was very decent for its price. I would definitely recommend it and would go there again.

Reviewed by
Aleksandra K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely loved it. Hotel was perfectly situated near the station which meant we could dump our stuff and start exploring. Room was perfect, best bed I've ever slept in, thought the firm and soft pillows were a really nice touch!

Reviewed by
Jessica King

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only negative feedback I have, is the extra car parking charges, I had to pay over £12 on the ncp car park for an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
J Gerrard

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Ideal location. Clean, spacious rooms. Everything you need from a hotel.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth S

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
Stayed overnight as we were watching a show at the Alexander. Pleasent, helpful staff, everywhere spotless, only niggle was that we like to sleep with the window open and were not able to as the noise coming from a generator or something very noisy prevented us from being able to do so, with the window shut you could hardly hear it, and the complementary ear plugs helped. Breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
claire b

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location and accommodation
Delighted with our stay - great room, clean, good bed, lovely staff.

Reviewed by
S Syme

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor facilities
No wifi reception in room. Advertised as wifi in all rooms though and had I known this wasn't the case, this hotel wouldn't have been booked.
Moved to another room where wifi signal was intermittent and regularly dropped out. The TV in this room failed to work.
I was disappointed that I reported the TV fault in the morning at 8am hoping that it would be fixed on my return that evening - it wasn't and had to report the fault again. However,to be fair when faults were reported to the appropriate personnel, they couldn't fix them but behaved professionally.
Also disappointed that the TV was fixed to the wall in a position where it couldn't be viewed from the bed and the TV could not pivot from the wall to allow viewing (when working).
Not the fault of the hotel but rooms to the front of the building are extremely noisy.
All in all a disappointing stay.

ManagementResponse

Dear D Taylor, Thank you for your review. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained as we pride ourselves on delivering a world class experience. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. If you have future concerns, please let the Duty Manager know so an alternate room could be offered if available. Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us. Sincerely, Connie, IHG Care

Reviewed by
D Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value - lovely room
Stayed for one night - great deal £65 Twin Room B&B at back of hotel on 3rd floor overlooking Birmingham New Street Railway Station - no noise as double glazing was efficient as was the air conditioning. Lovely clean room, loved the green "glow" lights in the bathroom that meant you don't have to put the bright lights on at night when going into the bathroom - great idea and first time I have ever seen that! Breakfast buffet -good variety of hot & cold food. Staff helpful and friendly. We used the "Town Hall" multistory car park a couple of streets away - also good value at £11 for up to 24 hours parking. Would certainly use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Liz H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel near Bull Ring, Arcadian Centre and Hippodrome and Alex Theatres
This hotel is in an excellent location if you want to go shopping in the Bull Ring, if you're going to the theatre (Hippodrome or Alex), you're going out to one of the restaurants, bars or clubs in the Arcadian Centre or Hurst Street. It's about a 5 min walk from all of these and also New Street station.
The rooms aren't luxurious but they're fine for the cost. The only drawback is that it can be quite noisy due to its central location but the hotel does provide ear plugs if you need them.

Reviewed by
Sarah M

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next