No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
SMALLBROOK,QUEENSWAY, BIRMINGHAM, B5 4EW
Stay central at the comfortable Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre hotel, 2 minutes' walk from Birmingham New Street train station. Friendly staff is ready to welcome you to the Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre . Contemporary decor makes your guest room a stylish home-from-home experience, complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel. We're located in the heart of the city in a great location to all of Birmingham’s main attractions such as the ICC, Bullring Shopping Centre, NIA, Hippodrome Theatre, Alexandra Theatre, Sea life Centre and many more, certainly making us the ideal choice when you are looking for a hotel in Birmingham . We are able to host banquets and conferences for up to 600 people in Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre's 13 meeting rooms which makes for an impressive corporate event, dinner or conference . Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre's Albany Restaurant serves a full English buffet breakfast each morning and our Albany restaurant makes for an impressive spot to enjoy tasty dishes throughout the evening. Our Albany Bar is a great place to watch sports on plasma TVs and enjoy drinks on the terrace. The Hotel is a short stroll to The Arcadian complex, where you can dine on world cuisine from British to Chinese, spending an evening sipping cosmopolitans and watching hilarious stand-up comedy at the famous, Glee Club .
Picture of Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 132 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay room 906 Sat 22nd June 2013
We were very surprised by the size of our room ,it was amazing and very clean ,the room was perfect. However we were not so happy as having other guest walking past our window every 5 mins.
I informed reception immediately as we were on the 9th Floor and with it being windy, I believed that this was not safe at the best of times not to mention an invasion of our privacy.
The receptionist was very polite but had to check if guest were allowed on the service balcony. I was informed that it was not permitted but on the other hand they had access - this I found very strange.
The next morning at approx. 4am my wife was woke up and then myself at 5am by the same guest having a shouting match and a party complete with chairs & bottles of beer outside of room 905, I again informed reception and they sent someone up, who knocked 4 times but was unable to get an answer at the door, however shortly afterwards everything went quiet.
This service balcony is such a safety risk, guest should not be permitted any access at all and the doors needs to be locked.
A few other points - the Wi-Fi signal needs boosting, as the signal went every minute or two which when you composing an email is no help at all.
Also it might be an idea if a film service or use of a dvd player was on hand.
Apart from the above, the hotel was very good and my thanks go to Ahmed who was such a friendly member of staff that I felt I had known him for years - thank you.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Smith

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Stayed over for one night. Booking in was very quick and polite desk staff. Our room was exceptional value and the spaciousness of the room gave us a nice stay. I must say that the cleanliness and excellent shower together with quality fittings in the bathroom made us appreciate freshening up in a little luxury. Well recommended.

Reviewed by
R Ramsey

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service. Every member of staff right from reception thorough to waiting staff in restaurant were polite, pleasant and very helpful. A really enjoyable stay and a very pleasant surprise.

Reviewed by
E Goldsmith

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really enjoyed my overnight stay and would book again in the near future.

Reviewed by
Carol Chance

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

safe bet
I get very uneasy about having to book places in the UK (especially B&B because I have had bad experiences), so lately I book in known hotel chains because they are a safer bet. The location was great, just a couple of blocks away from the main train station, the bed was very comfortable, same as the room, which was big in European standards. The bathroom was a bit uncomfortable, the shower is in the tub, so I don't recommend this for people with mobility issues, and the tiles (small white tiles like from the 1950s) were not that clean for a Holiday Inn. But then again, I got the room at a great price, so I don't complain. I came late at night and the bar was still opened and the food and service were good. I would go back.

ManagementResponse

Dear Laura B, We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guest to stay. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered due to the condition and cleanliness of the bathroom. Your comments will help us improve our services and offer a great experience for our guest. Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you next time you are here for leisure or business. Sincerely, Zelyn IHGCare

Reviewed by
Laura B

From Costa Rica
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel - Great Location
Very clean and comfortable room, the fridge was especially useful.

Reviewed by
Bernadette A

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value
I usually use the Holiday Inn for business stays in Birmingham as it is a short walk from New Street Station. I got an excellent rate this time and as ever it was a good stay - a decent sized room and a very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
E McLeod

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay at hotel birmingham
had great stay when I met my steady girlfriend for a stay at your hotel it was first time I met her . thanks for the service meant a lot to us to have the option of breakfast and felt very nice and quiet loved the modern feel in what seemed to be converted hotel. the surroundings very near life of it all and easy to find from station where I disembarked.my girlfriend is local. was easy to get to cinema where we went for film and also a meal out. thank you very much for hospitality. yours faithfully jane hichens

Reviewed by
jane hichens

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

holiday inn review
Thought the room was very well organised, with a lovely comfy bed and pillows, and additional extras such as fridge and complimentary toiletries were helpful. Stayed 2 nights, and found the experience very cosy and enjoyable.

Reviewed by
hollie c

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very polite and helpful room was clean and tidy only issue have to move climber move bed to draw curtains

Reviewed by
robert f

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next