No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel Stoke

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Swan Square Burslem, Stoke on Trent, ST6 2AE
The George Hotel has a wealth of history behind it. This well loved hotel is situated in Burslem, 'the mother town' one of the six towns making up the city of Stoke-on-Trent known affectionately as “The Potteries”.

The George Hotel offers a warm welcome to business and leisure users and priding itself on the friendliness of the staff who aim to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Centrally located to explore the pottery trade, with attactions of Wedgewood, Burleigh, and Moorcroft to name but a few. The Potteries Museum & Art Gallery is a must for all pottery lovers, and gives an insight to the history behing the industry. Ideally located for Alton Towers theme park, Trentham Monkey Forest, Stapley Water gardens and Bridgemere, Stoke on trent has something for everyone.

Picture of George Hotel Stoke, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George hotel
We got a triple room.
Staff were ok.
The hotels decor was poor,
The room was terrible.
Tv in room was tiny and the sound was awful, 2 windows in room that clearly had broken seals as cold air came gushing threw, there were 6 plug sockets in the room of wich only 2 worked, the extractor fan in the bathroom sounded like someone was drilling a hole into our room. The lino in the bathroom was all out of shape with giant bumps in it that you could trip over.

Reviewed by
Ryan B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George Hotel Stoke
Room very dated and in need of decorating. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
A Orr

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

History in the making
This Hotel is a classic example of faded elegance. The service was great and the room was large and bright. The bathroom was also big with a bath and shower. There was some wallpaper peeling off though which only needed pasting back on and it would have looked much better. Overall though a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Patricia S

From Appleby in Westmorland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff are helpful and friendly,room is clean

Reviewed by
Sharon May C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dissappointing!
This hotel is dated and much in need of a total refurbishment. First impression, having to run the gauntlet through a group of smoking wedding guests up the stairs to the front door wasn't good. Then there were the rabbit warren-like corridors to find our room, up and down stairs with our luggage . Then the freezing cold room, radiators not working! We were moved to a warmer room, but being next door to a screaming baby meant sleep didn't come easily(this was midnight). The TV didn't work, the lamp shade was in tatters, just felt very tacky and we couldn't wait until morning to check out!

Reviewed by
Ellen G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good highly recommend 😊😊😊

Reviewed by
K chadderton

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half term break
After 3 emails and 5 phone calls I managed to get a response to my request for two rooms next to each other, but when we arrived we didn't actually have two rooms near each other!
Eventually they managed two rooms of 5 and 2 (instead of 3 and 4) near to each other
The rooms were very old fashioned and hot couldn't turn heating down or off, the beds were comfortable as long as you weren't sharing as very springy
The tea coffee in the room wasn't drinkable as the kettle made the water smell of chemicals
The electric sockets that worked were inaccessible as was the light switch , behind the wardrobe!
I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless your desperate and just need a bed and leave without breakfast, which wasn't bad but wasn't good either.

Reviewed by
a smith

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly hotel with exceptionally helpful staff. Great food and family friendly.

Reviewed by
Victoria G

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exactly what it says on the tin
we booked this last minute, the car park is tiny... you would be very lucky to get a space and all surrounding car parking is on a meter. Room was clean, no outside noise, but we were able to hear noise from the room above through the old ceiling tiles in the bathroom.

Reviewed by
M Massey

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and clean nice breakfast but would have preferred a bath to shower in ensuite

Reviewed by
Michael S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next