No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel Stoke

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Swan Square Burslem, Stoke on Trent, ST6 2AE
The George Hotel has a wealth of history behind it. This well loved hotel is situated in Burslem, 'the mother town' one of the six towns making up the city of Stoke-on-Trent known affectionately as “The Potteries”.

The George Hotel offers a warm welcome to business and leisure users and priding itself on the friendliness of the staff who aim to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Centrally located to explore the pottery trade, with attactions of Wedgewood, Burleigh, and Moorcroft to name but a few. The Potteries Museum & Art Gallery is a must for all pottery lovers, and gives an insight to the history behing the industry. Ideally located for Alton Towers theme park, Trentham Monkey Forest, Stapley Water gardens and Bridgemere, Stoke on trent has something for everyone.

Picture of George Hotel Stoke, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service - first class treatment on arrival
Wow - excellent reception at the George and good info re parking arrangements. Service and food second to none, thank you! Would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
C Gannon

From Nomansland, Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All front no back.
When we arrived it looked ok but In our room the shower was dirty, mold around the rim We did not use it, very tired Hotel. Breakfast was poor beans and Tomatoes had been standing on plate for quiet along time and was set on plate not hot,no Vegetarian Sausages .Carpets through out, worn and frayed deco grubby.

Reviewed by
julia beadle-smith

From fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George Hotel
Really nice stay before we got to Alton Towers after a 3 and a half hour drive from Portsmouth, Very friendly staff and good clean accommodation, would definitely use again and would recommend to friends and family A+.

Reviewed by
S Bailey

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family friendly
Family friendly although not that close to Alton Towers

Reviewed by
c brooks

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a good night
First room bathroom door difficult to open, second room bed lump, we didn't sleep that well, wallpaper coming off the wall, in need of up dating. won't be going back.

Reviewed by
R Nunn

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super, really friendly service
Service was great, staff ever do kind and helpful. Breakfast was nice & easy and hot food served quickly. Room had everything you need with the only downside was we couldn't get the tv to work

Reviewed by
A Davies

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, we stayed in a big family room. Thank you...

Reviewed by
M Mamaril

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed Feelings
Stayed for 2 nights, going to Alton Towers. Booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 boys 12 & 13yrs. First night, first room was bad. The fold down bed was to small for the boys and they didn't get much sleep. The shower in the room would not hang on the wall so you had to hold it and the water was just a dribble. I spoke to reception and they moved us to the Bridal suit for the second night but this had the same problem with a small fold down bed. The 3rd room they offered was a decent size, double and 2 singles and the shower worked but the shower screen needed a towel wedged under it to keep it in place :-( The saving grace for this Hotel is the staff, very friendly and helpful, if they hadn't of been I would have walked after the first night. This place could be great if it had a complete refurbishment and a lot od money spent on it. I wouldn't stay again.....hate to say it but I would use a Premier Inn for the same money, as least you know the rooms will work. Big thumbs up to the staff ..!!

Reviewed by
H Owen

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George Hotel -Stoke On Trent
The staff at this hotel were really nice and friendly ,I seem to ask for lots of things even things to suit the children age 10 and 12 and they did evey thing to make us happy, nothing seemed to much bother .
our room was very clean and had verything to make us comfortable .would definatly recomend .

Reviewed by
WENDY KEEVES

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel needs updating
friendly staff, but needs lots of money spending as carpets were very worn & wallpaper hanging off.
floodlights outside bedroom windows come on at 10pm & go off at 12 keeping room very bright.

Reviewed by
D Everington

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next