No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel Stoke

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Swan Square Burslem, Stoke on Trent, ST6 2AE
The George Hotel has a wealth of history behind it. This well loved hotel is situated in Burslem, 'the mother town' one of the six towns making up the city of Stoke-on-Trent known affectionately as “The Potteries”.

The George Hotel offers a warm welcome to business and leisure users and priding itself on the friendliness of the staff who aim to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Centrally located to explore the pottery trade, with attactions of Wedgewood, Burleigh, and Moorcroft to name but a few. The Potteries Museum & Art Gallery is a must for all pottery lovers, and gives an insight to the history behing the industry. Ideally located for Alton Towers theme park, Trentham Monkey Forest, Stapley Water gardens and Bridgemere, Stoke on trent has something for everyone.

Picture of George Hotel Stoke, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb one night stay
Nice historic hotel made a change from the usual boxes.The girls on reception were very polite and helpful .

Reviewed by
g yearsley

From Alderley Edge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK but not worth the doe
I have been in better accommodation in the Peak district with a double room and better coffee. Also there was a strong smell of sewage in the room. The rail holder fell to the floor and the wardrobe knob fell off. No sign of maintenance or thought. There was an iron without an ironing board. For 1 night though it was OK and customer service was faultless.

Reviewed by
Josh H

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

george hotel,burslem,stoke
chose this hotel as we had a party to attend in smallthorne. stayed in a standard double room which had all the facilities needed for our stay which included flat screen tv with some freeview channels, iron and ironing board,hairdryer,kettle with complimentary tea and coffee,soap and shampoo. bathroom was clean and towels were large and soft.bed was large and comfortable. all staff were more than helpful and keen to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. when we were ready to leave for the party they called the taxi for us then called our room when it had arrived. didnt get back to hotel til 3.30am a short walk down the road was a takeaway that was still open so took this back to our room. hotel is secured after midnight but night porter answered the bell and was very friendly. went downstairs in the morning and although bar wasnt open the staff was more than happy to get me a jug of squash to take back to my room. checking out was hassle free and as we booked to dine 1 hour later sat in the bar until dinner was served,staff offered to keep our luggage for us until we left. had carvery for dinner which was very enjoyable,had 3 meats to choose from and good selection of vegies. was greeted on departure and thanked for our stay. if i was to be critical in anyway it would be that some of the facilities in the room wernt the best. the kettle was like an old travel kettle,the top of one of the taps was broken,the hairdryer was very dated (although i didnt use) but this aside didnt affect my stay in the slightest and would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
STEPHANIE B

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Past Glories
Once a grand town hotel. Now in need of an update. Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
S Hart

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome, nice food. Very quiet hotel and decent wifi

Reviewed by
C Linford

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stop by when visiting Alton Towers from a distance - just wish breakfast had two eggs but suspect I could have asked ....

Reviewed by
Tanya S

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money

Reviewed by
A Roberts

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Double Room
Our room was an en-suite double room. It was ok for the 3 nights we stayed , a bit old fashioned and small , very basic. Was also really hot as heating was full blast alltime but overall we had a pleasant stay with tv and wifi and extremely friendly and helpful staff. The hotel was also nice and quiet although not alot of shops nearby.

Reviewed by
Katie S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a great hotel all the staff I spoke to were very friendly and helpful
I stay in alot of hotels but from a staff point of view all the staff 2 reception ladies and 1 male bar staff were fantastic nothing was to much trouble they are all a credit to the owner of this hotel and I would stay there if I was in the area again even if it meant travelling a little further to get there.
The night porter was very helpful when we returned later in the evening.
WELL DONE ALL OF YOU T Hewitt

Reviewed by
Tony H

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, friendly helpfully staff

Reviewed by
DAVID W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next