No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel Stoke

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Swan Square Burslem, Stoke on Trent, ST6 2AE
The George Hotel has a wealth of history behind it. This well loved hotel is situated in Burslem, 'the mother town' one of the six towns making up the city of Stoke-on-Trent known affectionately as “The Potteries”.

The George Hotel offers a warm welcome to business and leisure users and priding itself on the friendliness of the staff who aim to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Centrally located to explore the pottery trade, with attactions of Wedgewood, Burleigh, and Moorcroft to name but a few. The Potteries Museum & Art Gallery is a must for all pottery lovers, and gives an insight to the history behing the industry. Ideally located for Alton Towers theme park, Trentham Monkey Forest, Stapley Water gardens and Bridgemere, Stoke on trent has something for everyone.

Picture of George Hotel Stoke, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good for a 3 star!
Staff very helpful and pleasant, great location for me as I was visiting Swanbank a Methodist Church just across the road. Food very yummy! Room clean and a decent size for a single room, not a good view I had overlooked the car park but I didn't mind. The shower was amazing so powerful and hot.
All in all a pretty good hotel!

Reviewed by
Rachael Davies

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel had a great feel to it and the atmosphere was amazing, you could feel the history. The food was wonderful and dinner very reasonably priced. I would definitely go again :).

Reviewed by
F Jones

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellant
Me and my partner stayed in the hotel and we would definatley stay again. The room was clean and good value for money. We found all the staff very friendly and helpfull and nothing was to much trouble

Reviewed by
Sarah Daley

From Whiston, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel decor and furnishings are looking tired and jaded,in need of a revamp but the welcome from and friendliness of the staff more than make up for it.

Reviewed by
KATHRYN GOULDEN

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome received 1st impressions clean and tidy, we had a problem our room which the hotel dealt with immediately by upgrading us to a different room. Only downside car park to small.We used hotel as a base to travel to and from Alton Towers.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great experience
Lovely room. Lovely breakfast. Fab service. very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Neil K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb one night stay
Nice historic hotel made a change from the usual boxes.The girls on reception were very polite and helpful .

Reviewed by
g yearsley

From Alderley Edge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

george hotel,burslem,stoke
chose this hotel as we had a party to attend in smallthorne. stayed in a standard double room which had all the facilities needed for our stay which included flat screen tv with some freeview channels, iron and ironing board,hairdryer,kettle with complimentary tea and coffee,soap and shampoo. bathroom was clean and towels were large and soft.bed was large and comfortable. all staff were more than helpful and keen to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. when we were ready to leave for the party they called the taxi for us then called our room when it had arrived. didnt get back to hotel til 3.30am a short walk down the road was a takeaway that was still open so took this back to our room. hotel is secured after midnight but night porter answered the bell and was very friendly. went downstairs in the morning and although bar wasnt open the staff was more than happy to get me a jug of squash to take back to my room. checking out was hassle free and as we booked to dine 1 hour later sat in the bar until dinner was served,staff offered to keep our luggage for us until we left. had carvery for dinner which was very enjoyable,had 3 meats to choose from and good selection of vegies. was greeted on departure and thanked for our stay. if i was to be critical in anyway it would be that some of the facilities in the room wernt the best. the kettle was like an old travel kettle,the top of one of the taps was broken,the hairdryer was very dated (although i didnt use) but this aside didnt affect my stay in the slightest and would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
STEPHANIE B

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK but not worth the doe
I have been in better accommodation in the Peak district with a double room and better coffee. Also there was a strong smell of sewage in the room. The rail holder fell to the floor and the wardrobe knob fell off. No sign of maintenance or thought. There was an iron without an ironing board. For 1 night though it was OK and customer service was faultless.

Reviewed by
Josh H

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Past Glories
Once a grand town hotel. Now in need of an update. Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
S Hart

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next