George Hotel Stoke

3

Swan Square Burslem, Stoke on Trent, ST6 2AE

Price From 93.40 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (112)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • kerry g

  • October 2013

Clean and comfortable

We used the George as a pit stop whilst visiting Alton towers.

Our twin room was basic but clean and comfortable and at a price that I liked alot. The overall feel to the hotel is a little worn but has much more character than a chain and a more personal feel.

  • S M

  • October 2013

Sad, completely undercapitalised boarding house feel

The hotel has seen far better days probably 40 years ago.

The decor is tired; the rooms are like living in 3rd world containers - they were clean but dog eared and tired in the extreme; the whole place was soulless. The staff that were there were really super though and I felt for them - they have to do their best in a physical environment that I would be embarrassed to be associated with.

  • J Williams

  • October 2013

Disapointing

1st room had no heating, & wall paper hanging off wall.

Moved to alternative room where the cleanlines was sub standard, a pair of socks half eaten biscuit on floor , crisps behind the furniture & a rather large stain on the duvet which we expect was blood or coffee. For the inconvenince we were offered complimentary breakfasts however the scrambled egg was uneatable due to the large quantity of salt added to it, the bacon could have broken teeth.

  • John M

  • October 2013

Seen better days

Staff were very good polite and helpful.

Room was a touch small and could do with a lick of paint particularly round the windows. Room was a long walk from reception down a never ending corridor. Lots of noise in room late at night from adjoining rooms and in the morning from outside from the nearby café. Breakfast was just about ok, but when it says grilled tomato I do not expect to get a dollop of tinned toms with lots of juice, which I do not like.

  • philip w

  • October 2013

Better than a Travelodge or Premier Inn

A little tired in decor but staff were excelllent and friendly.

Would have been disappointed if we paid the rack rate, but at £48 for a family of 3 it was brilliant value.:)

Walls were made of cardboard as we could hear everyword of the next door when they came in at 03:30. But to the staffs credit they told them to keep it down. If only that bloke had a quieter voice . ;-). A good base for a jaunt into Alton Towers.

  • C Hopkins

  • October 2013

Excellent service, friendly staff and very pleasant atmosphere. Overall excellent value for money

  • Susan M

  • October 2013

The hotel is old and musty smelling, it had wallpaper hanging off he wall.

The carpets were thread bare and the area was threatening. The staff were nice but the hotel rooms are horrible.

  • Neil B

  • October 2013

Budget accommodation at hotel prices

The accommodation was booked through laterooms.com.

I would have been SERIOUSLY upset if we'd paid £95 for the room not £55. Perhaps we were put in the basement due to the discount. Room 127 requires maps to locate, even the receptionist got it wrong giving out directions. Woe betide anyone with a disability as this is not the hotel for you with all the steps. Our room had chunks out of the wall, mould all round the bath/shower, the cold water tap ran continually like Chinese water torture, toilet rolls on the floor as no holders fitted, we had to try and fix the window blinds which wouldn't close, but gave us a lovely view of the bins and the carpark. The bedding was clean and tea/coffee provided. Shame the tv wasn't tuned to anything, but thankfully it was somewhere to lay our heads after a night out.

  • Rachael Davies

  • October 2013

Very good for a 3 star!

Staff very helpful and pleasant, great location for me as I was visiting Swanbank a Methodist Church just across the road.

Food very yummy. Room clean and a decent size for a single room, not a good view I had overlooked the car park but I didn't mind. The shower was amazing so powerful and hot. All in all a pretty good hotel!

  • F Jones

  • October 2013

Brilliant

All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel had a great feel to it and the atmosphere was amazing, you could feel the history.

The food was wonderful and dinner very reasonably priced. I would definitely go again :).