Reviews - George Hotel Stoke


Swan Square Burslem, Stoke on Trent, ST6 2AE

Price From 208.85 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (82)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • David Hudson

  • February 2015

Good stay

This hotel was just what I needed.

Reasonable priced, clean / tidy and very nice staff. breakfast was ok too.

  • B Chapman

  • February 2015

George Hotel Stoke

Small rooms, few marks on walls apart from that clean, tidy and cosy would stay again

  • NEIL K

  • February 2015

Clean and comfy

this is an old hotel bursting with character........we like it.

could it do with a makeover. well, maybe, but wouldnt want to see it all modern and flash.......maybe a bit of TLC would help to "refresh" some of it's tired features. But as far as VFM and cleanliness goes - all good.

  • Ryan B

  • January 2015

George hotel

We got a triple room.

Staff were ok. The hotels decor was poor,

The room was terrible.

Tv in room was tiny and the sound was awful, 2 windows in room that clearly had broken seals as cold air came gushing threw, there were 6 plug sockets in the room of wich only 2 worked, the extractor fan in the bathroom sounded like someone was drilling a hole into our room. The lino in the bathroom was all out of shape with giant bumps in it that you could trip over.

  • A Orr

  • January 2015

George Hotel Stoke

Room very dated and in need of decorating.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Patricia S

  • January 2015

History in the making

This Hotel is a classic example of faded elegance.

The service was great and the room was large and bright. The bathroom was also big with a bath and shower. There was some wallpaper peeling off though which only needed pasting back on and it would have looked much better. Overall though a very pleasant stay.

  • Sharon May C

  • November 2014

Hotel staff are helpful and friendly,room is clean

  • Ellen G

  • November 2014

Very dissappointing!

This hotel is dated and much in need of a total refurbishment.

First impression, having to run the gauntlet through a group of smoking wedding guests up the stairs to the front door wasn't good. Then there were the rabbit warren-like corridors to find our room, up and down stairs with our luggage . Then the freezing cold room, radiators not working. We were moved to a warmer room, but being next door to a screaming baby meant sleep didn't come easily(this was midnight). The TV didn't work, the lamp shade was in tatters, just felt very tacky and we couldn't wait until morning to check out!

  • K chadderton

  • November 2014

Very good highly recommend 😊😊😊

  • a smith

  • November 2014

Half term break

After 3 emails and 5 phone calls I managed to get a response to my request for two rooms next to each other, but when we arrived we didn't actually have two rooms near each other.

Eventually they managed two rooms of 5 and 2 (instead of 3 and 4) near to each other

The rooms were very old fashioned and hot couldn't turn heating down or off, the beds were comfortable as long as you weren't sharing as very springy

The tea coffee in the room wasn't drinkable as the kettle made the water smell of chemicals

The electric sockets that worked were inaccessible as was the light switch , behind the wardrobe.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless your desperate and just need a bed and leave without breakfast, which wasn't bad but wasn't good either.