No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel Stoke

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Swan Square Burslem, Stoke on Trent, ST6 2AE
The George Hotel has a wealth of history behind it. This well loved hotel is situated in Burslem, 'the mother town' one of the six towns making up the city of Stoke-on-Trent known affectionately as “The Potteries”.

The George Hotel offers a warm welcome to business and leisure users and priding itself on the friendliness of the staff who aim to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Centrally located to explore the pottery trade, with attactions of Wedgewood, Burleigh, and Moorcroft to name but a few. The Potteries Museum & Art Gallery is a must for all pottery lovers, and gives an insight to the history behing the industry. Ideally located for Alton Towers theme park, Trentham Monkey Forest, Stapley Water gardens and Bridgemere, Stoke on trent has something for everyone.

Picture of George Hotel Stoke, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 star
3 star just add quality to the rooms good stay and helpful team plus the porter stays a wake at night dog walking 3 am he is available

Reviewed by
jd o

From Dartmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here so we could spend 2 days at Alton towers. The staff were very friendly and the room good value for money. £55 for a triple room bargain. Exactly what you would expect for the price.

Reviewed by
Laura S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was clean and tidy but décor was poor. Staff were friendly and helpful and dealt with the problems we had quickly. Breakfast was well cooked Although in the main square all noise stopped at midnight.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Staff
The staff couldn't have been more helpful during my visit, always happy to help. The room probably needs a bit of redecoration, but was perfectly acceptable given the price.

Reviewed by
G Cruden

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decor looked tired but clean. Must have been quite grand years ago. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Karen B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was fantastic it was very clean the staff were all very helpful and the food was the best we have had in a hotel in a long time.

Reviewed by
pamela h

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room very out dated, no parking facilites, waitress staff at breakfast just standing around

Reviewed by
S Buley

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George hotel review
The hotel was very run down. Our room smelled of dampness and there was no heating or wardrobes. The breakfast was cheap ingredients. However the staff were all very nice and helpful. It's just a shame about the rest

Reviewed by
D Crossan

From Glasgow, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hostel for the homeless??
Our room appeared to be surrounded by young families and small children waking us at 6am continually jumping off the beds! It certainly did appear as though the hotels main purpose was to accommodate homeless families, if this is the case then tourists and should be give. A seperate side of the hotel as our requirements are much different. Our bed was two pushed together, both with very different surfaces and a big join in the middle, not at all comfortable, however, the room was very clean apart from the pealing wallpaper and awful damp stained walls. This hotel has sooooo much potential to be absolutely wonderful, it certainly deserves some serious investment.

Reviewed by
A Bowen

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst stay at a hotel in my entire life..............
A hotel that desperately needs upgrading from its time in the 70s. The '"cleaners" should be sacked, upon seeing the room. I didn't bring my slippers so i never once took my shoes of in the room as i didn't want my feet to touch the carpet.
The room i stayed (112) had this very bizzare issue. Every time you use water - by taps, shower or flushing the toilet, a massive rumble happens to the pipes which you could hear right down the corridor. It was also happening to the room next door. I show this to one of the staff the next day day and she said "Yeah, i know. Its the pipes. Sorry about that....." and just walked off !!!!!!!!!!
I could'n believe it. No word of about fixing it or moving me to another room. Due to this, i couldn't sleep well and the next day woke up late to check out. I got a call from reception saying "unfortunatley, because you're late checking out, we will charge you £12.50 as a late check out fee".............. I told them where to go and said that this worst the worst experience of staying at a hotel. A wedding party arrived and i just had to tell them my experience oif the place. I hope i didn't put them off too much...
It is seriously not a 3 star hotel.... at the very most, it could be a 2 star but that is at a big stretch. I'm sure if authorities were to carry out an inspection of the place, it would fail on many counts......
Good luck to all you people who are staying there..... You'll need it........

Reviewed by
p mok

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next