No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel Stoke

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Swan Square Burslem, Stoke on Trent, ST6 2AE
The George Hotel has a wealth of history behind it. This well loved hotel is situated in Burslem, 'the mother town' one of the six towns making up the city of Stoke-on-Trent known affectionately as “The Potteries”.

The George Hotel offers a warm welcome to business and leisure users and priding itself on the friendliness of the staff who aim to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Centrally located to explore the pottery trade, with attactions of Wedgewood, Burleigh, and Moorcroft to name but a few. The Potteries Museum & Art Gallery is a must for all pottery lovers, and gives an insight to the history behing the industry. Ideally located for Alton Towers theme park, Trentham Monkey Forest, Stapley Water gardens and Bridgemere, Stoke on trent has something for everyone.

Picture of George Hotel Stoke, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 101 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

much more than expected
being from the area I do know the hotel however never stayed before because I had an expectation that it would be dated this was unfounded. my stay was very pleasant the room although not modern was no where near dated and very clean also it was a good size for the money paid I was more than happy and will recommend it to anyone additionally even though it was a bank holiday and I checked in late and checked out early the staff where very appreciable and efficient

Reviewed by
c smith

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Town center Burslem
Faded town centre hotel in Burslem that is less grand than the pictures imply. Adequate at the price paid but not a place to expect any luxury. Small off-street car-park but difficult manoeuvring. Breakfast greasy leaving nasty aftertaste.

Reviewed by
Terry M

From Aberhonddu, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money ,
good value for money, clean room, didn't eat there so cant comment on that, very friendly helpful staff and a car park underneath, I wouldn't like to leave my car on the street, looks a bit dodgy but the actual hotel was nice.

Reviewed by
SONIA S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

meeting up with friends who lived in Burslem
Arrived earlier than check in time but we were given a warm and friendly welcome of the lady on reception who checked to see if our room was ready which it was so this was perfect!The room was huge and in character of the hotel with all the facilities that you needed . We had a king size bed and 2 single beds , tv, iron, hairdryer, tea, coffee, facilities and a huge bathroom. The room was spotless and reception staff very helpful and friendly. Booked in with our friends and family the next day for the carvery which priced at 5.95 was excellent value and with a choice of 3 roasts and as much fresh veg as you wanted ! This was a perfect end to our stay and would definitely stay here again !

Reviewed by
J FITCH

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was in Stoke for a friend's "do" and this was the closest and best value place. Slight difficulty when I arrived as parking was not obvious and I had to go into reception to get someone to open the door to the garage. The hotel itself has obviously seen better days (burnt marks and loose wires where lights used to be) but overall pretty decent for the price with pleasant staff. Breakfast was a bit hit & miss, but partially coloured by my hangover no doubt as it didn't stay with me for long! Room was as good as could be asked for. Glad there was an iron, but no ironing board or obvious surface to use it on? Comfy bed and windows kept out noise from street.

Reviewed by
Jonathan S

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic service but basic room
The staff were so friendly and helpful went above and beyond normal service for us. However the rooms were very dated and cud do with some fixing up and fresh decor but on the whole comfortable and relaxing stay and would stay again

Reviewed by
S Markham

From Burntwood, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

George Hotel Stoke
OK the hotel could do with a face lift but the staff were very friendly and the food was excellant. Good Value for your money.

Reviewed by
R Hooper

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
A great hotel and friendly staff. great value for money and an excellent location. easy walking distance to all amenities

Reviewed by
paul s

From Blaydon on Tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first class service from friendly staff

Reviewed by
R Yeardly

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Goerge Hotel Experience
We arrived at 22:00 and were met by very friendly and helpfull staff.We put our stuff in our room then went down to the bar for a couple of drinks in a very cosy/comfortable atmosphere.The bar staff were also very friendly and helpfull too.Great nights sleep in very comfortable beds then an excellent breakfast. I cant recomend highly enough,well worth the money. THANKYOU

Reviewed by
Stephen Adam

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next