No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel Stoke

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Swan Square Burslem, Stoke on Trent, ST6 2AE
The George Hotel has a wealth of history behind it. This well loved hotel is situated in Burslem, 'the mother town' one of the six towns making up the city of Stoke-on-Trent known affectionately as “The Potteries”.

The George Hotel offers a warm welcome to business and leisure users and priding itself on the friendliness of the staff who aim to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Centrally located to explore the pottery trade, with attactions of Wedgewood, Burleigh, and Moorcroft to name but a few. The Potteries Museum & Art Gallery is a must for all pottery lovers, and gives an insight to the history behing the industry. Ideally located for Alton Towers theme park, Trentham Monkey Forest, Stapley Water gardens and Bridgemere, Stoke on trent has something for everyone.

Picture of George Hotel Stoke, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly hotel with exceptionally helpful staff. Great food and family friendly.

Reviewed by
Victoria G

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exactly what it says on the tin
we booked this last minute, the car park is tiny... you would be very lucky to get a space and all surrounding car parking is on a meter. Room was clean, no outside noise, but we were able to hear noise from the room above through the old ceiling tiles in the bathroom.

Reviewed by
M Massey

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and clean nice breakfast but would have preferred a bath to shower in ensuite

Reviewed by
Michael S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
Decided to stay due to early start at local university! Room was just what we needed, slight let down with a hole in the sink! Although we arrived late the staff were more than happy to help and very accommodating when I asked for a little extra time to leave the room the following morning due to an online lecture! We opted for for breakfast and it was fabulous with a range of choices available! I'm

Reviewed by
Kevin Downey

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just what we needed - though a little shabby
My son & I wanted to visit Keele University and this was the nearest accommodation we could book for the Open day. I thought we were booking a twin room with shared bathroom but in fact got en-suite which was a nice surprise. The room was a little shabby, and personally I prefer a much plainer décor, but it was clean and everything (shower etc.) worked fine. My only complaint was that there was only a net curtain at the window, no proper curtain, and as the window faced the main road, and a junction, the car headlight and traffic lights irritated me for a short while, after which I fell asleep. I wasn't sure if breakfast was included in the £65 price, but it was, even the vegetarian full English that was slightly too much even for my hungry 17 year old.

Reviewed by
Judith h

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wish we had gone to premier inn
Arrived late at the hotel and there was no space in the car park, a car park that we didn't find our whole stay!. So we parked on the road a pound a night till 9am. Given the room key for our room it was either 201 or 210 cant remember but you need to avoid if stay there. The room was damp, unclean with a hole in the back of the sink in the bathroom that some one had tried to fix with putty but this looked worse then if they had just left a hole. The bed was rock solid and lumpy a patio would of been more comfy to sleep on and the curtains didn't shut fully so early morning we had day light shining as if the curtains were open. The next morning we went down to reception and asked for a refund for the coming night, the receptionist was helpful but said the person that could authorise a refund wouldn't be in till 2pm so could we come back then to sort it out. This was something we couldn't do as we was off to Alton towers for the day. The receptionist looked through the computer and found a family room. room 105 that had just been checked out so asked if we would like to see this and swap if we liked it. We did the room was 10 times better then the one we had and the bed was reasonable. The room was in need of renovation though but the whole hotel is like this it needs bringing up to date and total renovation.

Reviewed by
J Goodwin

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Acceptable
I was only there for one night, but the staff I encountered seemed friendly, and the room was clean, if perhaps a little run-down. But for the price, it was absolutely fine; I certainly wouldn't avoid staying here in the future.

Reviewed by
Daniel S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful building in need of some TLC
This is a beautiful building which must have looked glorious in the past but needs some time and attention now. The decor is a bit dated and the carpets rather vibrant. The marble steps up to the main door would benefit from a composite repair and give a first impression that no-one really cares. The staff are lovely and very helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable although the plumbing could be a bit noisy.

Reviewed by
Allison C

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly place to stay
Perfect budget stay, couldn't have asked for more for the price paid. The staff were friendly and helpful, hotel quiet and located to some nearby pubs

Reviewed by
Sarah M

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Only paid £65 for a twin room so considered the room good value for money. Clean room and large bathroom. Central position without being noisy. Staff were very polite and helpful. We didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
c henry

From Romney Marsh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next