No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel Stoke

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Swan Square Burslem, Stoke on Trent, ST6 2AE
The George Hotel has a wealth of history behind it. This well loved hotel is situated in Burslem, 'the mother town' one of the six towns making up the city of Stoke-on-Trent known affectionately as “The Potteries”.

The George Hotel offers a warm welcome to business and leisure users and priding itself on the friendliness of the staff who aim to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Centrally located to explore the pottery trade, with attactions of Wedgewood, Burleigh, and Moorcroft to name but a few. The Potteries Museum & Art Gallery is a must for all pottery lovers, and gives an insight to the history behing the industry. Ideally located for Alton Towers theme park, Trentham Monkey Forest, Stapley Water gardens and Bridgemere, Stoke on trent has something for everyone.

Picture of George Hotel Stoke, Stoke on Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 117 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed Feelings
Stayed for 2 nights, going to Alton Towers. Booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 boys 12 & 13yrs. First night, first room was bad. The fold down bed was to small for the boys and they didn't get much sleep. The shower in the room would not hang on the wall so you had to hold it and the water was just a dribble. I spoke to reception and they moved us to the Bridal suit for the second night but this had the same problem with a small fold down bed. The 3rd room they offered was a decent size, double and 2 singles and the shower worked but the shower screen needed a towel wedged under it to keep it in place :-( The saving grace for this Hotel is the staff, very friendly and helpful, if they hadn't of been I would have walked after the first night. This place could be great if it had a complete refurbishment and a lot od money spent on it. I wouldn't stay again.....hate to say it but I would use a Premier Inn for the same money, as least you know the rooms will work. Big thumbs up to the staff ..!!

Reviewed by
H Owen

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George Hotel -Stoke On Trent
The staff at this hotel were really nice and friendly ,I seem to ask for lots of things even things to suit the children age 10 and 12 and they did evey thing to make us happy, nothing seemed to much bother .
our room was very clean and had verything to make us comfortable .would definatly recomend .

Reviewed by
WENDY KEEVES

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel needs updating
friendly staff, but needs lots of money spending as carpets were very worn & wallpaper hanging off.
floodlights outside bedroom windows come on at 10pm & go off at 12 keeping room very bright.

Reviewed by
D Everington

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, only problem occurred was wifi signal didn't reach our room but we connected fine in the lounge/bar area.

Reviewed by
Craig W

From Callander, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overdue call from management regarding complaint and refund for breakfast
The double bed we paid for was made up of 2 singles side by side.
The room was dated and the furnature was tired and chipped - not as presented in the photos.
Breakfast was poor - as an example we recieved a rack of toast that consisted of all ends pieces, grilled tomatoes were in fact peeled plum tomatoes and the scrambled eggs were chewy. The tea provided was liked coloured warm water. When we eventually found a member of staff (that we had to go to the reception and ring a bell for - which was located outside of the dining room) we asked for some orange juice, which we did not relieve. The sachet sauces were presented in a dirty bowl. When arrived for breakfast, it was another guest who advised us we could sit on any table as there was no member of staff to greet customers.
When complained about the food on check out the young girl who took the keys said she would have a manger refund our breakfast, but added she was the only staff member in and could not process this and would have a manager call ASAP - this call has not been received!
When checked in, my licence plate details were taken for a space in their carpark - when drove round for the carpark i discovered no spaces were available. When i advised reception of this, I was told I had to park on the side of the road and pay for the metre.
The only positive was the receptionist on arrival who advised us of the best towns to enjoy an evening in but other than that we were very disappointed with many aspects of our stay.
Please can we receive a call regarding the refund.

Reviewed by
Danny Partridge

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the George hotel
We stayed as a family of three on our way to Alton towers. The room wa adequate and clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and all in all we had a great stay and would return again for another stay

Reviewed by
D McLaughlin

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noisy
the staff at the hotel were faultless, lovely and friendly and accommodating. The hotel is on a busy road therefore I was awake from about 6.30am. There were wood lice in my childrens room, and the night porter moved them straight away. Also the hotel compensated us with free drinks and desserts. It was close to were we wanted to be, the food was lovely,so I would say the only downside were the noise and the wood lice. It did not spoil our weekend though.

Reviewed by
c stoker

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
John B

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights at the George hotel.
My 18 year old son and I stayed for 2 nights. The Manager was very friendy and very helpful. Unfortunately the hotel is run down and the room was quite shabby and basic. The TV and Wi fi worked fine! We did enjoy our stay!

Reviewed by
Stephen Finney

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No room service available but didn't arrive until nearly midnight. Night porter friendly but staff in morning upon check out did not ask how stay was as too busy having gossip.

Reviewed by
Natalie J

From Sleaford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next