No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - York House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
10 Drury Lane , Wakefield, WF1 2TE
In the heart of Wakefield city centre, just metres from Wakefield Westgate railway station, York House Hotel offers free Wi-Fi, stylish, modern en suite accommodation and limited free parking.

York House Hotel was fully refurbished in early 2008, as a part of the development and regeneration of the Westgate area of Wakefield. Today, the hotel houses 20 stylish and contemporary rooms, each with a flat-screen TV and a modern en- suite shower room. We also have 2 fully functional disabled rooms.

Free Wi-Fi wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Conference and function rooms are available.

The hotel is situated next to the newly built Art House and behind Wakefield’s Theatre Royal and Opera House. The very centre of the city is less than 2 minutes’ walk away, as is Wakefield Westgate railway station. Westgate has now become the city’s main railway station and trains run regularly to Leeds and London.

Picture of York House Hotel, Wakefield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location rooms need updating
Great value for money, great location although the rooms need a lick of paint. Fantastic customer service and the restaurant serves really good quality Italian food with a warm welcome

Reviewed by
Robert I

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location hotel
Right in centre of Wakefield in a great location. Excellent price, room decor and furniture was a little in need of refurbishment but was nice and comfortable. Hotel and food great overall

Reviewed by
Mark D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

close to Wakefield Westgate and easy walk from shops
A nice comfortable place to stay.Just round the corner of Westgate train station and nearly next door to Wakefield Theatre.If nobody answers the hotel door when you ring the bell you will have to go to the restaurant next door and go in through there.Friendly and welcoming staff.There is a lift to the rooms.The bedroom is ensuite and has tv, wifi, A kettle with some teabags, coffee and milk cartons.Clean towels are provided and shower with soap dispenser and shampoo dispensers. I had trouble sleeping as the blinds did not cover the windows properly and my room was lit all night because of this.Otherwise a very clean, convenient place to stay close to the city centre.Breakfast was included; cereal, tea/coffee, orange/apple juice, toast and full english if you require it.I like the place but just pity I could not sleep.

Reviewed by
ERICA J

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff, room clean and comfortable, excellent value!
Enjoyed an excellent meal in the Restaurant.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel, great value. Easy access to/from Westgate Train Station, being a couple of minutes walking distance. Cooked breakfast not a huge portion, but cereals and toast available, good value for money though. Would definitely use again

Reviewed by
E BURKS

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Very clean, great food, trust worthy and very helpful staff. They make you feel at home. I will be back York Hotel

Reviewed by
Kayode O

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York House Hotel Wakefield
Lovely room excellent bathroom if a little small. Quiet , comfy beds, helpful hosts.

Reviewed by
A Jones

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good room, nice staff but awful food!
The room was much better than I expected, and the receptionist was very nice and helpful. A big bed took up most of the room but it was a one night stopover so I didn't really want anything else.
The biggest letdown was the eating experience - dirty glasses (it was hard to find a clean glass for the juice) and then the obviously microwaved breakfast with its dried up beans and crunchy sausage left a bad taste to the experience. I would have complained but I was in a hurry and had already waited long enough for it to arrive.
Stay for the hotel, but my advice would be to bring a packed lunch.

Reviewed by
Survindar Chahal

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money and comfortable but a few improvements and it could be excellent
The customer service at the York House Hotel and Sloanes restaurant was good, the bed was comfortable, the room clean, very little noise heard from other guests or from outside. The quality of the fixtures and fittings within the room and the bathroom was to a very high standard. The free off street parking is fantastic.
The evening meal was excellent but the breakfast service left a lot to be desired. No tables reset when I and other guests turned up at 10am. The cooked breakfast wasn't of the higest quality. Everything was fried, had to ask for non fried options (i.e. poached egg, no scrambled egg offered), the sausages and bacon where either enaemic or over cooked/burnt. The bar wasn't open upon return to the hotel at midnight.
There was a problem with the heating or the control of the heating. Even on full the room was still cool (talking to other guests the heating was either cool in the new rooms or baking hot in the old rooms), there was no wi-fi detected, no bath (only a shower) and the size of the bathroom was of some concern in my room. In that it was extremely narrow getting past the sink to the shower. Had I been a larger person then it would not have been possible to get to/from the shower.
Yes I would stay there again. For 65 a night bed and breakfast it was still good value, it was comfortable and with a few improvements it would be excellent.

Reviewed by
R Lapraik

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality rooms
Very well looked after. will definitely go back if I have to.

Reviewed by
A Ganesan

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next