No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Acorn Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
140 Elderslie Street , Glasgow, G3 7AW
Glasgow's newest 3 star hotel situated in the beautiful listed Park area of the City Centre making it an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveler. Completed in July 2008 offering 19 stunning bedrooms designed by an award winning Scottish designer. Our executive rooms have walk in showers with 17 inch plasma televisions in the cubicle, 42 inch plasma in the room, super king size beds,(there is a charge for room upgrade and can be requested on check in). Unwind in our casual bar and marvel at the array of wines and champagnes on offer.
Picture of Acorn Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do you like Gems TV?
I stayed three nights and TV was stuck on channel 43 (it's a jewelry shopping channel - not recommended). Reported first morning but never fixed. That said wi-fi is much better than most hotels so I managed to watch the very, very few things I really wanted to see on laptop so I didn't make a great fuss. Location is handy for SECC and reasonably so for city centre, breakfast was freshly cooked and better than I expected. Room was fine, everything you expect and decent shower and quick hot water. Staff friendly and helpful (though that TV never did get fixed) but thin on the ground - same person covering reception and cooking breakfast. Scorched lampshades in dining area are not a good look. They were turned off when I pointed them out - but were back on and unchanged later - I assume they are safe with modern bulbs but at some point they haven't been and it's still not a good look - maybe enough to stop me returning. Frustrating, nearly very good value and potentially a little better than the competition in the area but....

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but disappointingly cold
Entrance area well kept and modern. Seemed to be only member of staff who did everything. Bit scatty! Room lovely and clean but cold and was so for the duration of the stay. Had to heat up with hair dryer. Went out for dinner and came back to no heating and cold shower. No hot water for shower in morning only warm. Breakfast nice and enough choice. Served quickly. Would stay again if heating was better. Bigger radiators in room and not turned off during night.

Reviewed by
erica t

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful establishment but souless
The hotel was further from the centre of town than I expected..Would have liked a more friendly atmosphere.Very clinical

Reviewed by
William G

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb affordable city accommodation
This is a place we would definitely return to - easy parking, no-fuss admin, single key-card for main and room door, comfortable bed, very little street noise (essential for country bumpkins), lovely shower-room, very good breakfast.......all within walking distance of the city centre.
Thanks to Joe for, in a very unobtrusive way, making our stay so pleasant.

Reviewed by
Alison C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay In Winter Conditions
Hotel booked the only taxi in Glasgow it seemed to take me to the station, delighted, really toasty and warm in such winter conditions.

Reviewed by
jacqueline w

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and centrally located.
Good deal. We'll try to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Chris Y

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Acorn Hotel
Good, clean Hotel with friendly staff in a good location near a big park. The only issue I had was hearing neighbours at night but otherwise I had a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Andrea W

From London, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, clean room with good extras; communal areas very small
Hotel choice based on other people's reviews/price. Arrived very early in the day from the London sleeper having advised reception in advance to leave my luggage. Staff seemed ambivalent and stressed on my arrival and my case was put behind a door in the reception/bar which I felt was not at all secure. Reception/breakfast room was quite small having no lounge area at all other than a couple of chairs in reception.
On the plus side, room was a good size, well equipped with good furnishings. Decent shower but lighting in the bathroom over the sink was terrible for make-up although there was an adjustable magnifying mirror on the wall.
Breakfast was a self service affair and staff seemed more interested in chatting among themselves than being attentive to clients. Average selection with a hot breakfast option. Tea and coffee were delivered from a machine and the cups were small.
Good location, quiet and easily walkable into town. Not a hotel for families but fine for a couple of nights on a business trip.

Reviewed by
Mandy M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

10/10
Me and a friends stayed here last weekend and can't fault it at all, can't comment on food as we didn't eat here but as for everything else it was spot on and I will be returning.

Reviewed by
Stacey G

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round good stay !
Stayed for one night room only with boyfriend and can't fault. Clean, short walk to the city centre and good quality rooms ! Will 100% be staying here again for our future trips to Glasgow !

Reviewed by
Fiona D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next