Reviews - Acorn Hotel


140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow, G3 7AW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (38)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Mandy M

  • October 2014

Comfortable, clean room with good extras; communal areas very small

Hotel choice based on other people's reviews/price.

Arrived very early in the day from the London sleeper having advised reception in advance to leave my luggage. Staff seemed ambivalent and stressed on my arrival and my case was put behind a door in the reception/bar which I felt was not at all secure. Reception/breakfast room was quite small having no lounge area at all other than a couple of chairs in reception.

On the plus side, room was a good size, well equipped with good furnishings. Decent shower but lighting in the bathroom over the sink was terrible for make-up although there was an adjustable magnifying mirror on the wall.

Breakfast was a self service affair and staff seemed more interested in chatting among themselves than being attentive to clients. Average selection with a hot breakfast option. Tea and coffee were delivered from a machine and the cups were small.

Good location, quiet and easily walkable into town. Not a hotel for families but fine for a couple of nights on a business trip.

  • Stacey G

  • October 2014


Me and a friends stayed here last weekend and can't fault it at all, can't comment on food as we didn't eat here but as for everything else it was spot on and I will be returning.

  • Fiona D

  • October 2014

All round good stay !

Stayed for one night room only with boyfriend and can't fault.

Clean, short walk to the city centre and good quality rooms . Will 100% be staying here again for our future trips to Glasgow !

  • david marlow

  • September 2014

Firstclass !!

  • M Hinchliffe

  • September 2014

Nice little hotel

Nice little hotel, modern and clean, good location.

Good value for money.

  • H Adair

  • September 2014

Quite a small room but very comfortable and nice en suite.

  • M Lee

  • September 2014

Great service

Very helpful and friendly.

Good room, very clean, and good bathroom.

  • Deborah K

  • August 2014

Great Stay

Simple but very comfortable.

  • J Kearney

  • June 2014

Stayed here for the Robbie concert at the Hydro

Great little hotel.

The location was great, only about a 10 min walk to the Hydro. Room was fabulous, we booked a twin room which was lovely. Very nicely decorated, comfy beds and not only did it have a reasonable hair dryer but there was GHD straighteners !!!!!. Bathroom was amazing, super shower and a T.V in it ,unfortunately it didn't work as it hasn't been upgraded to digital ,but not really an issue. Louise on reception was very nice and welcoming and we parked outside the hotel for a very reasonable £2. My only complaint (if it is a complaint!!!!) is that the doors bang and we were wakened by this. Definitely would re book this hotel and have told my friends about it too. We didn't book breakfast but it certainly smelt good!!!.

  • S Patel

  • May 2014

Had to call the noise police!

Be very wary if you are given a room at the front of the hotel and expect any sleep...

the hotel is located above a late night 'Bollywood Bar', and the front rooms face directly onto its beer garden. The street party levels of music and the sound of people talking directly outside my window when I arrived at 6pm were no different at 1am, and I actually ended up having to call the Glasgow noise police. I don't know if they were able to contact the bar, but in any case I could only sleep by wearing noise-cancelling headphones.. although the bathroom and room were very clean and well kept, it's impossible to give this hotel a decent rating if sleep is effectively impossible.