No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Lion Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street, , , Bourton, SP8 5AT
Here at the White Lion Inn we know what a pub should be like. After many years working hard eating and drinking in other pubs, purely for research purposes of course, we have used our extensive experience to offer you the very best traditional Dorset pub experience in the county, if not the world…probably. The White Lion is a beautiful old building dating from 1723 and we offer a warm welcome in a comfortable and relaxing environment, excellent beers and ciders, superb food with fine wines, a cosy bar with open fire, an elegant restaurant and a large beer garden, but so do other pubs, so what makes us special? The atmosphere – our locals and friends who make it feel like pubs used to feel, like home just with more beer and no washing up. So come along and meet us all! As if being probably the best pub in the world was not enough we are also located at the heart of one of the most beautiful and interesting parts of the West Country. As we are the most northerly Inn in Dorset we’re also very close to the borders of Wiltshire and Somerset, comfortably positioned close enough to the A303 to be a very welcome diversion from a drive between London and the West Country, while being far enough from the traffic to be a peaceful haven. Nearby is the wonderful National Trust property of Stourhead with its world famous English landscape garden complete with decadent follies. Just down the road Alfred’s Tower marks the spot where King Alfred raised his standard before marching to defeat the Danes. It’s well worth the climb for the spectacular views from the top. Stonehenge is just a short drive away and the old Anglo-Saxon hilltop town of Shaftesbury is nearby and worth a visit, while the sublime architecture of Bath is also within easy reach.
Picture of The White Lion Inn, Bourton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional Pub and Accomodation,
Our room was small but provided everything including, bottled water, tea and coffee making and biscuits in addition to the expected. The location is quiet and very close to a well known NT property and on a direct East/West to route Cornwall.
Breakfast was good and time was negotiable.
Do dine in the pub in the evening - excellent.

Reviewed by
J Sheridan

From Welwyn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A traditional pub with friendly locals. The food was great. My room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. I would certainly stay at this place again.

Reviewed by
V Wright

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Floorboards creaked loudly every time you moved in bed causing sleepless night. Bathroom slightly shabby. Decent price and location. White Lion could be a gem!

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Country Pub
Enjoyed a nice 3 night stay at the White Lion Inn, stayed there to go to Longleat and Monkey World, ate in the pub each night, food was great, with a cheeseboard to die for! Breakfast was also really good, full English, very tasty! Would definitely recommend this lovely tucked away country pub.

Reviewed by
J Bishop

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room and food

Reviewed by
vicky s

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at the White Lion for two nights to attend a wedding at Stourhead. The staff could not have been more helpful. The room was fairly basic but comfortable and could possibly have done with a bit more drawer space and the odd clothes hook and towel rail in the bathroom. Other than these minor irritations our stay was very pleasurable and the food excellent in beautiful surroundings.

Reviewed by
Sarah Bonning

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant, food excellent.

Reviewed by
Phillip S

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ratty and Mole get away from it all . . .
Mole loves surprises, as usual didn't tell her where we were going and couldn't find anywhere close to Wimborne for the folk festival and when various b and b's around on Late Rooms obviously hadn't kept their websites up to date Ratty got on the field telephone to Late Rooms and a good geezer found them the White Lion in Bourton for Saturday night. It was gem perfect, 18th century and away from the madding crowd of a place on the old A303.
Superb food, Mole had the pan fried salmon you could smell it cooking as we sat by the piano, made you hungry and thirsty all at once. Ratty on the host's recommendation went for the Shepherd's pie ala Mediterranean veg cooked to perfection by a polish chef. Napoleon could have marched an army on it. Otter beer too and no driving home. They slept like logs in a gorgeous old quirky room. Breakfast was perfect for them bacon eggs sausage, tomatoes, nothing too much trouble for the host.
The White Lion was perfect for us, small, friendly inn in the middle of nowhere and we explored the countryside around it which was steeped in history as was the inn.
Ratty

Reviewed by
Mike P

From xx, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy
mum not be her best for the last 12 months so took her for a break what a fantastic place friendly in fact have booked agian for aug would recommend to anybody

Reviewed by
andrew p

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lucky to have found such a gem!
The White Lion Inn was a friendly and welcoming country pub in a beautiful surrounding. It was an ideal place to stay close to a wedding we were attending. The staff were all friendly and welcoming, and the room was comfortable. The Inn was old and had lots of pretty features whilst also having a TV and power shower. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The full English breakfast was superb- food was excellent quality. I would definitely recommend the White Lion Inn- excellent value for money in a beautiful location.

Reviewed by
Nicola H

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next