No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell at Iden

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Church Lane Iden, Near Rye, RYE, TN31 7PU
Located in peaceful countryside on the Kent and East Sussex Border but less than 2 miles (5 minutes drive) outside of the historic town of Rye, we are perfectly sited for exploring Rye, Romney Marsh, Camber Sands, and other wonderful attractions. We are also 20 minutes drive from the market town of Tenterden, and 30 minutes drive from Ashford, where there is a large outlet mall, and of course Ashford International train station, for the passenger Eurostar. Folkestone Eurotunnel Terminal for vehicles is 45 minutes drive away.

Unlike hotels in Rye centre, we have free on site parking.

We are a quiet 11th Century traditional country inn offering a good choice of real ales, fine wines and draught beers. Our menu changes with the seasons and we support local producers and suppliers to ensure our food is of exceptional standards. We offer customer service on a personal level without intruding on your privacy. Our restaurant space is perfect for a romantic dinner, a business lunch or a coffee and catch up with friends around the log burner or on the patio and garden in the Summer months.

We have 2 delightful spacious letting rooms set in our cottage style garden, separate to the inn, in a converted stable block. Both the Hay and Tack Room have:

.King sized beds
.En suite shower rooms
.Original oak beams
·Tea and coffee making facilities with complimentary biscuits
.Mini bar with products set to bar prices
·Flat screen televisions with Freeview
.Power Hairdryers

.House trained dogs are very welcome - our garden is secure for them to roam
.Children also welcome - we have air beds and travel cots for no additional cost

Once checked in, guests have their own key and can come and go as they please at any time without need to access the inn, unless the draw of a pint is too much!

A full English breakfast is served in our restaurant or alfresco on our patio, the choice is yours! Breakfasts are cooked to order and you are welcome to sit and read the papers and plan your day with no rush.

Our restaurant is open every day for lunch and dinner. We serve lunch from 12.30-3 and dinner from 6.30-8.30pm. On Sundays we serve all day from 12.30-6pm. We often have foodie events throughout the year, so check our website for up to date menus and also our special events.

Check in time is from 3pm however we are happy to accommodate an early check in so just call us in advance.
Picture of The Bell at Iden, RYE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Food & Accommodation
Accomodation is very good, completely independant to the pub, so you don't have to worry about the pub being open if you returned late. Food was excellent, well presented.
Not a great choice menu, but a couple of specials.
Lovely quiet location, nice village.

Reviewed by
P Brickett

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice escape to the country
A nice room, great bed on a beautiful spot just seperare from the nice old pub.
The pub has a very good kitchen with a nice menu.
The location is great to visit Rye and the other nice "midsummer murder"look alike villages.

Reviewed by
Gertjan Vlasbloem

From Edam, Netherlands
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at the Bell Inn Iden
This was our first trip to West Sussex. The accommodation at the Bell was excellent. We had a very friendly welcome and the room was very comfortable it felt like home from home. The Inn was in a beautiful little village. When we visit the area again we will definitely seek a reservation at the Bell again.

Reviewed by
Robert Hargreaves

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Very good accommodation, room very comfortable and clean also made to feel very welcome by the staff, nothing too much trouble.

Reviewed by
R Turner

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another very enjoyable stay at The Bell
Having stayed at The Bell before, we had a pretty good idea of what to expect, and were certainly not disappointed. Set in a lovely village with easy access to both Rye and Tenterden, the very friendly owners and their staff could not be more helpful and really go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay. We ate in the pub restaurant both evenings - a lovely atmosphere and superb food. The spacious and comfortable accommodation is set apart from the main pub and a nice touch to have a small fridge well stocked with drinks, and snacks all at pub prices (although we preferred to go into the pub for a drink). Will definitely look forward to our next visit.

Reviewed by
Yvonne A

From Sheerness, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No faults found all good!
A one night stay on our travels was a very pleasurable one. Staff were friendly and genuinely eager to please. Room set away from pub was cosy spacious and clean with all mod cons you would expect. Best of all though was the food! It was thoroughly delicious (home made rabbit pie for me) and in the morning a full English breakfast which was freshly cooked and set us up for the day! I would highly recommend anyone looking for a pub b&b near Rye to give this one a go!

Reviewed by
Phil P

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

John the landlord was very welcoming and cooked a great breakfast, especially creamy scrambled eggs and nice thick bacon. The Sunday roast we had was a bit tired but we ate right at the end of the day. The next night's meal was fabulous, far superior to the usual pub food. My other half loved the pub's own beer, Old Dairy Iden Top, which he said was stunningly good and I was very happy with the delicious Malbec. The room was a good size, the king size bed very comfortable, decor nice but will need a bit of TLC soon. We will definitely go back and would recommend to friends. If you are thinking of eating here do it, and if you need to stay in the area it's definitely good value.

Reviewed by
Susan M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely, friendly place
We stayed here overnight so we can enjoy the beach at Camber Sands. It was perfect for what we needed; friendly people, lovely room.
I'd highly reccomend it.

Reviewed by
M Thornton

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it!
Wonderful, friendly family run pub and B&B - excellent value for money, pub price mini bar, lovely food - would definately recommend.

Reviewed by
Christine H

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always very pleased to be back .
Its always so good to be back in The Bell , its dog friendly (very important for us) and the staff & owners doing a great job. If we come to the South of England just one address for us " The Bell "

Reviewed by
c audenaert

From zomergem, Belgium
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next