No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell at Iden

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Church Lane Iden, Near Rye, RYE, TN31 7PU
Located in peaceful countryside on the Kent and East Sussex Border but less than 2 miles (5 minutes drive) outside of the historic town of Rye, we are perfectly sited for exploring Rye, Romney Marsh, Camber Sands, and other wonderful attractions. We are also 20 minutes drive from the market town of Tenterden, and 30 minutes drive from Ashford, where there is a large outlet mall, and of course Ashford International train station, for the passenger Eurostar. Folkestone Eurotunnel Terminal for vehicles is 45 minutes drive away.

Unlike hotels in Rye centre, we have free on site parking.

We are a quiet 11th Century traditional country inn offering a good choice of real ales, fine wines and draught beers. Our menu changes with the seasons and we support local producers and suppliers to ensure our food is of exceptional standards. We offer customer service on a personal level without intruding on your privacy. Our restaurant space is perfect for a romantic dinner, a business lunch or a coffee and catch up with friends around the log burner or on the patio and garden in the Summer months.

We have 2 delightful spacious letting rooms set in our cottage style garden, separate to the inn, in a converted stable block. Both the Hay and Tack Room have:

.King sized beds
.En suite shower rooms
.Original oak beams
·Tea and coffee making facilities with complimentary biscuits
.Mini bar with products set to bar prices
·Flat screen televisions with Freeview
.Power Hairdryers

.House trained dogs are very welcome - our garden is secure for them to roam
.Children also welcome - we have air beds and travel cots for no additional cost

Once checked in, guests have their own key and can come and go as they please at any time without need to access the inn, unless the draw of a pint is too much!

A full English breakfast is served in our restaurant or alfresco on our patio, the choice is yours! Breakfasts are cooked to order and you are welcome to sit and read the papers and plan your day with no rush.

Our restaurant is open every day for lunch and dinner. We serve lunch from 12.30-3 and dinner from 6.30-8.30pm. On Sundays we serve all day from 12.30-6pm. We often have foodie events throughout the year, so check our website for up to date menus and also our special events.

Check in time is from 3pm however we are happy to accommodate an early check in so just call us in advance.
Picture of The Bell at Iden, RYE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our favourite Place
This was our third short stay at The Bell and it was just as good as the first two. Lovely room, gorgeous food and the best service.
John, Lindsay and their staff couldn't do more to look after you and it's just a great place to lose a couple of lazy days.
Can't wait to book up again, see you soon guys.

Reviewed by
Darren G

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place
The room was lovely, set in a barn, with oak beams. Everyone was friendly. The breakfast was really good too. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
H Taylor

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, close to Rye
Very friendly and helpful staff at the Bell. Late Sunday lunch was very good with excellent desserts. Room was very good value and comfortable, even with a cold floor in the shower room. Take your slippers. Bit surprised the pub closed quite so early, but, it is quiet in Iden on a Sunday in January!
Happy to re-visit if we are back in that area.

Reviewed by
David R

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little country break
My wife and I booked The Bell at Iden for a couple of nights last weekend. All I can say, we will definitely go back! Family run, great room in an old stable house separate from the old public house, great food, great service... What more could you want? I've stayed in rooms costing three times this amount and been shocking.

Reviewed by
C Gilbert

From Benfleet, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely Fantastic
My Husband and myself stayed here for a 4 night break and we were very pleasantly surprised. We were immediately made to feel very welcome and shown to our room which was beautifully furnished and had oak beams. The bed was lovely and comfy and the room was very warm and toasty with heating that you can regulate. We had dinner in the evening and the food was exceptional and all home made and freshly cooked. If you're looking for a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings with great food and great staff then visit 'The Bell at Iden'

Reviewed by
C Dudman

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy and welcoming, very convenient for Rye
Great customer service from Charlie from the minute we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The food was first rate and they catered for my gluten free diet even putting a special fish dish with sauce on the menu for me. The room was cosy and warm and the bed extremely comfortable, best two nights sleep ever. A minor leak in the bathroom was sorted out immediately with profuse apologies and the customer service all round from Darren and staff was great. The location is convenient for visiting Rye.

Reviewed by
David S

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Few Days Away
We received a warm welcome to the Bell at Iden, our accommodation in the converted barn was comfortable and homely. Particularly comfortable bed, and a lovely warm room for the time of year. Breakfast was very good (excellent scambled eggs, the best I have tasted). We had a meal in the pub on my birthday which was superb, well cooked and presented, with a lovely log fire burning nearby. A lovely few days and we would definitely recommend this establishment. If we are in this area again we would not consider staying anywhere else but at The Bell.

Reviewed by
D Cheverton

From Harwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful weekend
Just returned from a very enjoyable 2 night break at The Bell at Iden. There was a roaring log fire in the pub which was most welcome and very cosy. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday evening and the food was excellent as was the breakfast on the Saturday and Sunday, with nothing being too much trouble for our host John. The room was lovely and clean and there was plenty of tea coffee etc, as well as a well stocked fridge if required. I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely quaint pub for a relaxing break, which was a 5 minute drive to the very pretty town of Rye and 15 mins to Hastings. Well done John and Lindsey (oh and of course Oscar) - you made us feel so welcome - keep up the good work!

Reviewed by
L LOVE

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Food & Accommodation
Accomodation is very good, completely independant to the pub, so you don't have to worry about the pub being open if you returned late. Food was excellent, well presented.
Not a great choice menu, but a couple of specials.
Lovely quiet location, nice village.

Reviewed by
P Brickett

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice escape to the country
A nice room, great bed on a beautiful spot just seperare from the nice old pub.
The pub has a very good kitchen with a nice menu.
The location is great to visit Rye and the other nice "midsummer murder"look alike villages.

Reviewed by
Gertjan Vlasbloem

From Edam, Netherlands
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next