No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Knock Castle Hotel & Spa

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Drummond Terrace, Crieff, PH7 4AN
Knock Castle is an imposing place, but it’s there to be enjoyed. We want you to relax and to feel totally at home – and we hope you’ll come back time after time. We have many regular guests who treat Knock Castle as a home from home – that’s a real measure of success for us.
Attention to detail is everything: we are dedicated to service and want you to experience only the very best here. Whatever you want, just tell us ahead of your arrival and we will make it happen for you.
Picture of Knock Castle Hotel & Spa, Crieff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most Decidedly Not Worth The Money
Very poor amenities not worth the exorbitant room rate. Toilet does not flush properly. Room Door does not lock because of cheap wood construction. Bedside drawers fall out because of cheap wood construction. Carpets old and used. No desk or table in the bedroom. Bathroom barely functional. Manager on duty refused a small bucket of ice when requested though we were the only guests in the hotel, witness the empty parking lot, empty dining room, empty bars, empty guest rooms. And worst of all charged 2% interest fee on $30 upgrade charge when the upgrade should have been waived as a gesture of courtesy when the hotel is running empty and as proof of customer retention. Breakfast was awful, frozen items heated, warmed over or fried, and served to guests. We are extremely disappointed by the lack of quality when we were expecting an exceptional castle stay experience. Definitely never recommending this property to friends or family. Will post unsatisfactory experience on trip advisor and other travel websites so that others don't waste their hard earned money. We even saw a family of four leaving the Knock Castle Hotel without booking their stay after inspecting all the rooms. Evidently they were more wise and discerning.

Reviewed by
M Deshmukh

From USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Evening meal.
Took the rib eye steak on recommendation of the waiter not as good as he said. Breakfast first class.

Reviewed by
James Hope

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous room and food
I stayed in one of the junior suites so wasn't expecting anything great. I was pleasantly surprised to find a beautifully decorated room with a four poster bed and a shower so high tech it took me a while to work out all the functions. The food was superb, one of the best meals I've had in any hotel in the UK. Will definitely stay again if visiting the area.

Reviewed by
S Smith

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous customer service!
What a fantastic weekend. Went for a leisurely break with my Mum and that is exactly what we got. Food was fabulous, staff could not be more helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel for a restful weekend. I am a recruitment consultant and I think that the staff recruitment could not be better. Every single member of staff was attentive, friendly and really cared about our stay. If you want to be looked after unobtrusively this is the place to go. I am going back with my husband for our 30th Wedding Anniversary next month. If you want to be spoiled go here!

Reviewed by
Alayne Clark

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were booked into the main hotel building for 2 nights, but the room offered was not acceptable. only 1 small window which was overlooked by 2 windows in the 'new' block. We were told that no other rooms were available but could have a room in the Lodge, 200 yds away. The view from the bay window was stunning, and we accepted this. After moving into this we realised that many of the extras provided in the hotel rooms were not provided in the Lodge. We asked about a move back to the hotel for our second night and fortunately this was granted. We had dinner in the hotel on our second night which was disappointing. Staff were all very pleasant and as helpful as they could be, but the general air of the way this hotel is being run is amateurish I'm afraid.

Reviewed by
Robert T

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
No sport shown in the hotel bar, But other than that it was an excellent stay and we would highly recommend. The facilities were top notch and the staff were perfect.

Reviewed by
G Courtney

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A home from home
I stay at this hotel regularly and as someone who spends over 100 nights in hotels every year the staff are the best I have ever come across. They always make me feel extremely welcome, their service is peerless. The hotel itself is a beautiful building, although the public areas do outshine the rooms.

Reviewed by
Russell Blything

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
Thoroughly enjoyed out stay and it surpassed our expectations. The staff were friendly and welcoming who couldn't do enough to help. The food was excellent and well presented. The only thing that I was disappointed with was the view from our hotel room window. This however was not something we specified to wanting, so in effect we got what we asked for. Will definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
BRIAN JOHNSON

From BLACKBURN, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky
We liked it, but it is quirky, and gives the impression of slightly fading period elegance. The swimming pool is excellent but the gym equipment is dated. The spa experience was very good. The food very also very good but they need to change their red wine supplier - if I went again I'd pay the £20 corkage and bring my own.

Reviewed by
Neil H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Very good

Reviewed by
Richard A

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next