No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Brighton

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
47-51 Brighton Grove, Fenham, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 5NS
The Brighton is a long established 2 star guest house in a residential area. We are just 1 mile from the centre on a good bus link, we are also close to the A1 and A69 the main routes into the city. We provide clean rooms at keen prices and all our staff are here to help. You will see from the reviews we are a friendly team. During the week we cater for contractors and tourists. Our main weekend trade is guests who have been drawn to the city for it's vibrant nightlife and shopping. Guests who know they will not be spending much time in their rooms can opt for the cheaper option with shared wc and shower facilities. Those who prefer can choose the en-suite rooms. We regret none of our rooms have baths only showers. Tea and coffee facilities are provided in the two guest lounges which gives you the opportunity to mingle. Should you prefer please ask for in room facilities on arrival or at the time of booking.
Picture of The Brighton, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap & Cheerful
This hotel was cheap and cheerful. You get what you pay for. I thought the rooms were a bit dated. The beds were nice and the linen fresh and plentiful. Breakfast was ok. Egg, bacon sausage, beans and hash brown was served up along with toast, cereal and fruit Juice. The coffee was extremely weak and I couldn't drink it. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I would return to this hotel and recommend it to anyone working on a tight budget. It is alight.

Reviewed by
keith m

From Scotland
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interview visit
The Brighton is a very warm and welcoming guest house with lots to offer. The gentleman running it is very attentive and goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. About one mile from the town center, but it is all up hill so call a cab if you are in doubt! very comfortable rooms, low price and amazing breakfast service! Lovely woman making breakfasts, couldn't of done more. I highly recommend this place. Got the job to make it better...

Reviewed by
M Wrennall

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ticked all the boxes
Exactly what I expected. Note that the laterooms website fails to include the fact that breakfast is included, so for £25 for a small single with breakfast, this was excellent value for money. It is also close enough to the city centre (just over 20 mins to get to the main train station) to be walkable.

Reviewed by
Nicholas G

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
always stay at the brighton when at newcastle good value nice breakfast anf friendly staff

Reviewed by
john cameron

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle Weekender
This is a nice place.
Its not too far from St James Park and the pubs/clubs.
You can walk or if not its about £5 or £6 in cabs.
Comfortable and clean and perfect if you want a nice place to be for a while, rather than if you were going to be in the room all day.
Would DEF use again tho. Nice people and decent breakfast.

Reviewed by
David R

From New Malden, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Geordie Weekend
Nice little place
Handy for St James Park as only 10 min walk
15 ins walk from Train station
Rooms are decent and comfortable
Friendly staff
Would use again

Reviewed by
David R

From New Malden, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the price this is good, clean accomodation. Breakfast was much better than I expected for what I'd paid, full English, perfectly cooked.

Reviewed by
Jo T

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Basic but Clean 2* B&B
A quiet area of town, a basic but functional room, and working wifi - all my criteria were met, and I have no complaints. The ensuite was old, but not grubby, beds clean and comfortable, and the freeview TV had perfect reception! Simples!

Reviewed by
steve w

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great North Run weekend
The room was clean, warm and comfortable. It was quiet and not a problem at all using the communal toilet/shower. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was basic but there was a choice of cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, yogurt and toast. It was reasonably close to the start of the run. Good value for money considering what others charge for the weekend. Recommended. I've booked again for next year.

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Mexborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Stayed after a night out, good clean accommodation, friendly and helpful staff and even gave us a free breakfast in the morning. Definitely good for a place to stop for a night.

Reviewed by
Katie M

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next