You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Brighton

2

47-49 Brighton Grove, Fenham,, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 5NS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (26)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • kevin barrett

  • September 2016

The Brighton

This is a very good B&B with a strong sense of customer service.

Breakfast was good, the room was looked after, and there was always tea and coffee available in the living room (I guess regulations are a hindrance to kettles in rooms). They were happy to store luggage when I arrived somewhat early. Access is good - I walked forward and back to the town, often more than once a day. I imagine there is also a regular bus service. Pricing was about what I judge it should be, with a variety of room options. This was a choice I was glad I made.

  • Gordon T

  • August 2016

A safe cheap option

The location of this B&B is not brilliant.

The immediate area is a bit dismal but it is just a mile from the city centre and if you don't want to walk there is a good bus service. Even walking is OK and I never felt unsafe. Rooms are very basic as you'd expect. Staff are very friendly. Breakfasts are nicely cooked though the ingredients are obviously the cheapest available. It is a low cost option and you can't expect cordon bleu. At weekends this B&B caters mainly for stag and hen parties heading for Newcastle's night life but don't let this put you off if you are not in Newcastle for beer or football. They have a security man who keeps people in order and noise was not a problem during my weekend stay. In summary, it is what it is. A safe cheap no frills option if you are on a budget.

  • A Taplin

  • June 2016

My stay

The lock on the shared bathroom was broken and I didn't feel safe in using it.

The area was poor and further away from the venue than I was informed. Uncomfortable bed in a cramped room. Tea and coffee was in the lounge and couldn't use as coffee grains in sugar and allergic to coffee. Staff friendly though

  • Deborah R

  • June 2016

WOW...what a find!

We were warmly welcomed, and immediately given a cup of tea, perfect for this cold dank day.

Peter ( I hope I am remembering correctly) was kind, friendly and accomodating. He even printed our boarding passes. He suggested an amazing Indian restaurant, it's byob so stop on your way to pick up something. Now let's be honest, this is not a 4 star place, but for the money it is a ****. The room was as clean as you can get an older building, the bathroom clean, my husbands knees went past the door. But it more then met our needs and icame back to Newcastle we would stay there.

  • John M

  • May 2016

Nice place, great value

Friendly welcome.

Bedroom and shower room were both spotless. Enjoyed my traditional cooked breakfast. I've paid a lot more for worse places than this and would have no problem returning.

  • kenny macleod

  • April 2016

The Brighton

Good clean accommodation with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • K Ayre

  • February 2016

Northern friendliness

We got this room for a very reasonable price.

Our room was spacious, comfy and warm all day every day. We were delighted to be able to park directly outside on the street for our whole stay of 3 nights. It an amazingly convenient location for the bus route to town, which is 5 minutes away.

The staff were all polite, helpful and friendly.

Our only bother was some silly girls that kept us awake half the night on the Saturday, NOT from The North I may add.

  • S Bowen

  • January 2016

Cheerful (and cheap)!

Cosy local hotel with friendly staff.

The cooked breakfast included in the very reasonable price was a bonus (where other hotels might only offer continental breakfast).

  • T Foreman

  • September 2015

Basic but honest.

I travelled alone mid-week to Newcastle for the Sunderland/Man City Capital One Cup match on Tuesday 22/9/15, and I paid £35 for one night's B&B.

The Brighton is an old-school style B&B (I suspect 2 houses converted) on a residential street, and they are currently updating the decor (not sure how much of the place; the inside of the front door and what looked like a lounge area was being painted when I arrived). The gentleman who checked me in was pleasant, but seemed a little distracted/uncomfortable, telling me the info I needed to know as if by script. There was a young man lurking by the stairs as I arrived and checked in, who followed us upstairs to my room which, as a female (albeit an unattractive one!) travelling alone was a little disconcerting, but I assumed he was learning what to do from the proprietor, as he was being told what information to tell guests as they left me in my room. The room itself (room 2 on the 1st floor) was basic; 2 single beds, a dressing table/desk with mirror and a chair, built-in wardrobe, a small flat screen TV with remote and a sink. There was an en suite toilet (which didn't seem to have been secured into the floor properly) and shower in a very small space behind a door next to the sink, which looked grubby but was just well-used, with the usual marks of wear & tear; the decor was also very dated so hopefully this will all be part of the decoration upgrade. The bed was comfortable and the bed linen was clean and smelled fresh, although the towels provided had a dingy beige/brown pattern. No toiletries were provided, just a bar of soap; I always take my own so it was no problem, but the lack of private tea/coffee making facilities was definitely a major problem for me. On check-in I was informed that there was tea and coffee available in the back lounge area, but that's no good if you wake up at 2:30am and are desperate for a cuppa. As my room was at the back of the property, it was very quiet, and I had a good night's sleep. The water was hot and didn't run out halfway through my shower (this has happened to me in some very upmarket hotels before), which was a bonus. I would have liked to have washed my hair, but no hairdryer was provided and I couldn't find anyone to ask for one after I had finished breakfast. Breakfast (included in the price) was the usual B&B full English; self-service choice of frosties, bran flakes (and 1 other I can`t remember) with fresh milk, and while eating this a very nice lady came to ask what else I would like. There was orange juice and a choice of tea or coffee (one of the best cups of tea I've had in a long time) and the standard fry-up (1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon, a hash brown, egg and beans) with 2 slices of toast, butter and a choice of jams or marmalade. I requested scrambled egg as I hate fried eggs, which was no problem for them. This was very nice; cooked well and just enough to set you up for the morning without overdoing it. The breakfast room itself was clean, bright and airy, although the smell of cigarette smoke from someone smoking outside the window while we were eating wasn't very appetizing. In all, great value for money. I will definitely stay again when Man City play in the North-East again (Feb 2016) if there is availability, hopefully with my husband this time. It is EXTREMELY convenient for St James's Park (1/2 mile walk up the hill behind Leazes Park), another plus.

  • Matthew H

  • August 2015

Great over night stay

I stayed here over night with my father as my football team was playing at Newcastle St.

James Park, it's a short walk for 10-15 mins. so any visiting fans that want a close hotel nearby, this is it. The hotel has street parking outside,there was plenty of spaces available. The hotel itself was clean, nice room,comfortable beds and warm. The host is easy to talk to and will look after you. The breakfast (fry up) was good and quick and set me up for the day. Other options are available. The hotel is very good value for money. All in all, if you want a friendly clean hotel that is value for money and is a comfortable stay then this is the place.