No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Harmony House

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
The Green Stillingfleet, York, YO19 6SH
Harmony House is a small family run bed & breakfast. It is 6 miles to the
South of York set in the quiet village of Stillingfleet overlooking the
Green. Harmony House dating back to the 18th Century has been
sympathetically modernized retaining many of the characteristics of log
fires, open beams and an inglenook fireplace. All rooms have en suites with
power showers, also hot and cold drinks, mini fridges, homemade biscuits or
cakes, Wi-Fi, flat screen TV's , free view and desks.

Harmony House has been awarded a 4 star silver award with breakfast award by
Quality in Tourism and use locally sourced ingredients as far as possible.
There are lighter alternatives such as smoked salmon and scrambled eggs,
croissant with mushrooms, bacon and brie, omelettes', poached eggs and
smoked haddock. It is also a cookery school run by Hilary Finney who
trained at the Cordon Bleu School of Cookery in London

There is a comfortable lounge for those wishing to relax after a long day
sight- seeing or at the office, and snacks or light meals with a glass of
wine are available. Guests can also relax outside watching the wildlife on
the Green. There are a variety of places to eat ranging from Thai, Indian,
Italian or pub food nearby, but nothing in the village itself. We may be
able to provide meals or snacks Mon-Thurs, but they must be booked in
advance

There are golf courses, fishing ponds, riding schools and the trans Pennine
65 cycle track nearby together with many country side walks. It is near to
Naburn Lock Caravan Site, Naburn Marina, Elvington Airfield, Sherburn Aero
Club, Cawood, Escrick Park & Queen Margaret's school, York race course,
Selby and all major trunk roads. M1. M62 and A1. It is an ideal stopover
for those travelling from the South before entering York, and is near to
York University. There is ample parking at the front and a secure storage
for motor bikes.
Picture of Harmony House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Harmony House
We stayed for 2 nights at this gorgeous bed & breakfast while attending a friend's wedding in Leeds. The room was gorgeous, the breakfasts delicious and nothing was too much trouble for our host, Hilary, who even drove us to collect our car from our friends farm 20 minutes away the following morning. All in all first class, would highly recommend!

Reviewed by
sarah white

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm friendly welcome,nothing was too much trouble. Room was very clean and comfortable. Would recommend Harmony house to anyone.

Reviewed by
David A

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful haven very York
Excellent attention to detail in our room, bathroom and guest lounge. The location was far enough away from York to be completely peaceful, but near enough to reach any part of the centre in15 minutes (the traffic was light). Paul and Hilary were very attentive and down to earth and friendly. It has become our first choice for future visits.

Reviewed by
Gordon W

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Went out of there way
Myself and my partner had a lovely stay at harmony house. The owners were so friendly and went out of there way to accommodate my dietary needs for breakfast. The room was lovely and clean as well as the bathroom. The place itself situated In a beautiful little village just outside of York. Will definitely stay again and reccomended to anyone staying in or near York. Thank u for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Bobbie D

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, charming hosts
I arrived late at night. I called ahead to inform the hosts. They were very friendly and accommodating. They gave me a few pointers on how to arrive and would wait for me to arrive. I found the address easily. The hostess was waiting for me. She showed me to the room. The room was very nice and comfortable. Went straight to bed. Comfy bed! Slept really well.
Following morning, the full English breakfast was excellent! Good coffee as well.
I recommend staying at Harmony House if you have business at the south side of York.

Reviewed by
Sven V

From Zolder, Belgium
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and friendly with good food!
We stayed here for a couple of nights on a weekend break to York. We were very well looked after by a lovely lady who was covering for the owners who were away at the time. The room was spacious with lovely wooden beams giving a cozy feel. Breakfast was really good, and staff and other guests were very all friendly. Apparently when the owners are there they do evening meals as well, although we had no trouble finding a couple of nice restaurants in the local area. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
G Yeo

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Harmony!
The stop at Harmony House was perfect in every regard on our way from Surrey to Newcastle. The service was excellent in every respect and I would, without hesitation, recommend the accommodation to anyone.

Reviewed by
David Parker

From Ashtead, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will return .lovely place and people.

Reviewed by
mark lester

From chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely first class highly recommend and I am coming back.
Faultless

Reviewed by
Martin Greenwood

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
A perfect place to stay. Hillary and Paul are everything a good host should be, nothing too much trouble. Room was beautiful, bathroom spacious and stunning. Park and ride for York is close by and after a busy day in the city visiting the tourist spots we came back to have a wonderful meal each night. Hillary's food was a perfect balance between home cooked and restaurant quality. Will be back as soon as we can.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed by
S WATSON

From BRACEBRIDGE HEATH, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next