No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Higher Faugan

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Chywoone Hill, Newlyn, , Penzance, TR18 5NS
The north wing of the house, originally the artist studio now comprises of 4 one room suites, designed for 2 but will sleep up to 4 utilizing sofa beds, all offer privacy, are comfortably and tastefully furnished, quite simply more than a room offering unpretentious comfort, incorporating studio kitchens, king size beds, sofas/beds, LCD TV's, en-suite bathrooms with bath & shower. Suite facilities include refrigerator, microwave, toaster, tea & fresh coffee making facilities which allow guests flexibility to cater their own complementary continental breakfast in the privacy of their room at times to suit, with freedom to explore & sample the wealth of restaurants in the area. Suites serviced daily. En-suite rooms also available with similar breakfast set up. Well behaved children over 3 yrs welcome. Accommodation only. No restaurant or public rooms, All our rooms are non-smoking. Due to location although not essential a car is recomended. IMPORTANT; GPS SYSTEMS COULD MISLEAD WHEN CLOSE, PLEASE SEE OUR WEBSITE MAP PAGE FOR DIRECTIONS. PLEASE ADVISE US YOUR ARRIVAL TIME AS LATEST CHECK IN IS 10PM Discounted rates/special offers are payable in full at the time of booking and non refundable or transfereble. The House is approached by a 500m long drive and set in 10 acres of private grounds with a large lawn for guest use, in a very secluded and quiet location 100 metrs high above the fishing port of Newlyn, also close to the famous coastal village of Mousehole, The area is magical and ideal for all outdoor pursuits, close to Mounts Bay for the wind and water sports enthusiast, many local attractions such as St Michael's Mount, The Minack Theatre, Lands End, Porthcurno Telecommunication museum, Geevor Tin Mine, and stunning beaches such as Lamorna Cove, Porthcurno, Sennen cove, St Ives and Hayle are all within easy reach. landing co-ordinates; Lat = 50.098725, Long = -5.560708 Lat = 50 degrees, 5.9 minutes N Long = 5 degrees, 33.6 minutes W
Picture of Higher Faugan, Penzance at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay.
Secluded location close to town. Friendly and clean. It was a shame they don't offer a cooked breakfast, however they do supply cold foods and toasters in the room.

Reviewed by
Jessica P

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for the Minack Theatre
This is a very comfortable self-catering studio hotel where you have complete independence to come and go as you wish. The room was excellent with a very comfortable bed and a small but functional kitchen area. The owners stocked the fridge with milk and provided a continental breakfast mix that you make yourself in the room. The location is very convenient for Penzance and the Lizard Peninsula and is a 15 minute drive to the Minack Theatre. It is set in its own grounds down a long driveway so is very quiet and peaceful. Could do with higher quality towels though and the bathroom only has a pump-action soap gel so you may want to bring your own. Apart from that it was very good, thank you.

Reviewed by
Ian Lynch

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An extremely warm and pleasant welcome
We eventually arrived at the house long after the ten pm check in curfew a tad stressed however upon our arrival our host,Doug, casually dismissed the matter, welcomed us in with a smile and handshake then offered us a much appreciated drink.
Over the whole weekend we were made to feel that the house and grounds were ours to share and experience.
When local guide advice was required before venturing out again Doug was more than happy to take the time to offer a wide variety of sightseeing routes,pubs,eateries etc.
This is a family run guest house that is managed with professionalism,pride and good taste.
I'll definitely be heading back for more when next in Cornwall.
Excellent.

Reviewed by
Andre O

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful setting, brilliant views, oustanding
lovely rooms, brilliant setting and views, really nice change for breakfast

Reviewed by
J de Berry

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic room
I had booked the standard room. But on arrival the owner told us there was storm damage near our room which was allocated. So he upgraded us to a fabulous room at no extra cost. Great service exactly what we wanted. We will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Angie McKinley

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Will definitely be back.
Really can't fault this hotel. Our room was clean, spacious and decorated to a high standard. My only criticism is that the website doesn't do it justice.

Reviewed by
J Williams

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful place, very well located and well managed by the owners. The grounds are very relaxing. To be seriously considered when visiting Cornwal.

Reviewed by
Rui Santos

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late Rooms upset
I booked this wanting to stay two nights at this lovely place but was bitterly disappointed at Late Rooms for not informing us that it was fully booked. After driving over five hours to get there we were kindly helped by the family to find other accommodation which took over three hours to amend! Fortunately we weren't there late at night... Many thanks to All for the concern and we will try with you again and book directly!

Reviewed by
A GUY

From London, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful 2 night break at the Higher Faugan
Our stay at the Higher Faugan was nothing short of wonderful. The room was of a very high standard in terms of decor, aize and cleanliness. We found our host Doug welcoming and helpful to ensure we had the perfect stay. I would highly recommend the Higher Faugan to anyone visiting South Cornwall.

Reviewed by
R Russell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay, the owner is lovely and you feel looked after. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite room, which was much appreciated. The standard of decoration is very high. On our first day in the standard double (also gorgeous!) the owner kindly found us somewhere to dry our wetsuits. Brekkie is good, liked the fact it's already there in the room, not only can you snack on it throughout the day, but means no set times which we liked. Lots of it and fresh fruit too a plus. It's nice and quiet and the grounds are very pretty but very close to the town. Very happy and hope to go back.

Reviewed by
cherry williams

From Leamington Spa, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next