No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Highwayman Inn

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Cannards Grave Road , Shepton Mallet, BA44LY
Surrounded by views of the scenic Mendip Hills, The Highwayman Inn is situated in picturesque Shepton Mallet. There are 14 refurbished en suite rooms with multichannel TV, internet access and tea & coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy hearty, traditional food in the inn’s restaurant or enjoy a drink in acclaimed real ale bar.

Shepton Mallet is the ideal location from which guests can explore the Somerset countryside. There is a quaint but lively market every Friday morning and the historic cities of Bristol and Bath can both be reached in a 40 minute drive, and Glastonbury is a 15-minute drive away.

Picture of The Highwayman Inn, Shepton Mallet at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

b&b
We stayed here for 2 nights during a bank holiday weekend, we found it quite reasonable in every area, nice location, clean,friendly staff and of average to good food quality.

Reviewed by
michael oakes

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

things that could improve
the room ihad was roomy and clean it was number 2, if they could would be to fit double or secondry double glazing because the traffic noise was loud ,also to check and oil or grease the door furniture at regular periods otherwise the staff and the place was everything that i was satisfied with and enjoyed it all john revill

Reviewed by
john revill

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints
Very pleased with everything at this hotel; room, staff and food.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, lovely room, good breakfast!

Reviewed by
J Sandham

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent venue for New Wine when not wishing to camp!!
All great, we were with friends and we were able to sit with them for breakfast and drinks in the evening.

Reviewed by
Sue m

From Emsworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay whilst we visited the East Somerset Railway
When we booked we asked for a room with no stairs to climb as i am disabled we were put in a room up one flight stairs.The room had no chairs to sit down and be comfortable the bathroom was not that clean but acceptable but the bed was comfortable.At 18.30 the restaurant was full so we went to the Globe Inn at Wells fantastic food. Breakfast was good at the Highwayman plenty to eat well cooked and served on a hot plate.

Reviewed by
Jeff B

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel done the job
Staff very friendly room clean and tidy beds nice and firm good night sleep was had overall good value hotel will deffo stay again

Reviewed by
V Cole

From Pembroke, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great choice!
I was welcomed and shown to my room with a smile. The room was clean and had tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was a good size for a single room. The bed was comfortable and the flat screen TV was easily watched from the bed. The cooked breakfast was served on a warm plate and there was a good choice of cereals and fruit juice. Really good value. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Janet H

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

same price as Travelodge but way better
If you like generic, sterile and impersonal accommodation then stay at a Travelodge but for the same price why not stay here. The rooms are perfectly acceptable with the advantage of being only a staircase away from excellent food and good beer, all reasonably priced. Despite being in a pub, there was no noise penetrating the room. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for well priced accomodation with everything you need onsite

Reviewed by
Christopher Andrews

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Arrived and received a nice welcome, room comfortable with usual amenities, some road noise as room at the front of the hotel.
The toilet cistern constantly refilled every few minutes due to an internal fault which kept us awake initially.

Reviewed by
john christopher fazackerley

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next