No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George and Pilgrim

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 High Street , Glastonbury, BA6 9DP
Built in the 1400s, The George and Pilgrim is the oldest purpose-built pub in the South West of England. Situated in the heart of Glastonbury, it is steeped in history and old folk law. The building has a paneled stone frontage, mullion windows, and old oak beams. All 14 rooms feature a TV and tea and coffee-making facilities, and some have impressive draped four-poster beds. Guests are welcome to enjoy an aperitif or traditional ale in the charming Pilgrim’s bar. The hotel also has a comfortable restaurant with an à la carte menu, offering fresh, succulent homemade food. Licensed for Civil Ceremonies, The George & Pilgrim is a popular choice for weddings, holding functions for up to 90 guests and groups are made most welcome. Free on-site parking is also provided.

Glastonbury has been inhabited since Neolithic times and today it has more than its fair share of attractions and festivals. There is something to interest most tastes from Glastonbury Abbey that was the site of Edmund Ironside’s coronation as King of England in 1016, museums & churches to the interesting hippie shops selling books, charms, clothes and crystals. Step back in time and prepare to be overwhelmed by the charm of this hotel and the cultural town. Easily accessible to Milllfield, Street, and the city of Bristol, the George and Pilgrim look forward to welcoming you.

Picture of The George and Pilgrim, Glastonbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a romantic break
Lovely old hotel with really nice staff.

Reviewed by
Greg Stapleton

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cant wait to go back
There's only one thing I can say about this Hotel and that is 'WOW'. What a fabulous place. From the moment we arrived the Staff were so friendly,from the Lovely gentleman serving at the Bar,the Manager, the Waitress and the Kitchen Staff. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them and we were given a lovely account of the History of this wonderful Hotel. Would reccommend the Fourposter Rooms which are spacious and clean with quality bedding,so comfortable too. Our Breakfast was superb and the waiting Staff were courteous and efficient. The Furnishing of the Hotel is so Authentic and really blends in with the History of this place and it was spotlessly clean throughout. For anyone to find fault here is just pure silly,as I have stayed in so many Hotels all over the World and this will take some beating. Its an Old 18th century Building,of course the walls ar'nt straight and the windows may creak on opening but hey that adds to the whole fabulous Atmosphere of the place.. its well run, very well staffed and the food is great. I just cant wait to go back as this is now one of my most favourite places out of everywhere ive been. Thankyou to all the Staff for making our stay so welcome and comfortable..see you all soon.

Reviewed by
J CULLEN

From Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth it!
We've visited the George and Pilgrims on several occasions but this was the first time we've actually stayed here. We booked a four poster room and must say it was all we expected.. atmospheric and full of character. If we had to pick faults; the lighting was a bit harsh, a couple of lamps either side of the bed wouldn't go amiss! Also the TV was a bit on the small side but as we didn't want to watch TV, it wasn't a problem for us personally!
Breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked to order so no complaints there!

Reviewed by
alan horobin

From Newtown, Wales
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shame about the carpets, mattress and heat
booked a family room, (9) for one night for a group of 3 adults. on entering the room, the first thing you noticed were the very dirty stained carpets, with a hint of damp smell. The double bed lovely frame but the mattress was past its best, every spring was felt, leaving it lumpy and bumpy, ended up sleeping on a duvet so I couldn't feel the springs. the heat in the room was extreme, even with the windows open, and no heat on,(it was a hot day) but when opening the en suite bathroom the heat was double (without the heated towel rail on) . Only one bedside lamp for the main bedroom and the a joining one. loved the hotel but felt it was let down by these issues, Worth staying one night just so you can say you stayed in the George and Pilgrim , but would not stay again. staff and breakfast very good and helpful

Reviewed by
R CRYSTAL-WATERS

From Lochwinnoch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay.
I was meeting some friends at Glastonbury so I booked here for the night, had seen some bad reviews of this place but was intrigued as well, it was a great place to stay, I was in the new bit (only 300 years old) it was clean and tidy and right in the centre of the town... oh and no ghost.

Reviewed by
N MOORE

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
We have stayed many times at this hotel . It has wonderfull character. Our room was big and comfortable . Clean and good bathroom facilities .
Staff helpful and lovely breakfast . We will be back to stay again ,

Reviewed by
c clifford

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay there
Most certainly the worst hotel I've stayed at. On arrival we couldn't find the car park so had to park about 200 yds away on the main street. Entered the hotel to find no-one on reception. After waiting several minutes we made enquiries at the bar and were given directions to the car park. There are only 4 spaces allocated to hotel guests (which were all full ) so we had to pay in the Pay & Display park - this is not mentioned in the hotel description. Back to reception to sign in, still no-one there so back to the bar to be told the barmaid would deal with us as soon as she's finished serving. The hotel has a policy to pay in advance - this should have rung alarm bells. We walked to our room (room 10) through dirty corridors to find the following:
- at least 8 stains on the bedroom carpet
- very old and tired bedroom furniture
- sash window that opens fully or closed fully
- smallest TV possible with picture and sound that kept freezing
- the hotels fire escape that went through the bathroom (YES, through the bathroom)
- warm water through the cold tap until you let it run a while
Then down for breakfast the following morning to find the following:
- tables set with just a knife and fork for each place setting
- no side plate, butter knife, napkin
- filthy table cloth on the buffet bar
- extremely greasy cooked breakfast
Will never go back there again.

Reviewed by
D Jones

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough but not really worth the money. Good place to stay to be near the town, lovely staff when I could find them! Very noisy in the night, could hear every creak, basic furniture, would have been nice to have a chair in the room, and very basic breakfast.
Cost me a fortune in the car park behind as not enough room to park in the pub spaces.

Reviewed by
liz b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great looking building, dirty rooms
I rarely ever complain and wouldn't have done unless I had this email.
The building is great and the staff were friendly enough. I booked a triple room and asked as reception if it was a double and single bed and was told it was. The third bed was in fact a poor quality sofa bed. If it had been setup as a bed it we had been informed it would have been less of a surprise.
The room was filthy from very stained carpet to a foot long cobweb hanging from the light. The mattress on the bed is about 4" thick and very uncomfortable. The bathroom has yellow stained sealent and grout and the toilet had hair on it. Everything was covered in dust from the mirror to the window sill.
This room cost £159 which is a huge amount of money for a double bed and single sofa bed, if it had been £79 I'd be a lot more forgiving. The service from the blond lady helping with breakfast was nice. The food itself was fairly low quality but pleasant enough.
The building is beautiful and very much captures Glastonbury.

Reviewed by
Dave H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter break.
Did not fail to impress, beautiful historic building and great atmosphere. Staff are fantastic! Food and drink hit the mark. Well done!

Reviewed by
Brendan C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next