Reviews - The George and Pilgrim


1 High Street, Glastonbury, BA6 9DP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • sonia p

  • August 2015

George and Pilgrim

Beautiful character hotel and room, but terrible food and mediocre service.

  • John Gerard C

  • August 2015

Oldie but very pleasant to stay there.

Totally the opposite of the Travel Lodge style of Hotel.

Very, very old I don't think there's a straight line in the place. Very pleasant people, good bar area with lots of character. if you want swish and posh then look elsewhere, if you want friendly service and something different give it a go. Glastonbury = New Age. Be warned - it makes me laugh anyway.

  • Catherine H

  • May 2015

Not good

The manageress was very friendly but unfortunately this didn't make up for the rest of the stay.

Tatty, dirty decor with marks up the wall from liquid. A window that didn't shut. No TV remote, hair dryer in bathroom broken and it's replacement missing.

I wanted an evening meal but when I asked a waiter if I needed to order food at the bar or if I should find a table first, he said 'do what you want' before walking off. I found a table and he then walked past several times ignoring me - I left and ate elsewhere. Breakfast consisted of a table full of open boxes of soggy cereal, luke warm coffee, greasy food with a barely cooked egg. The glasses and cutlery were dirty. I stay away several nights every week and I can honestly say this is the only hotel I've every been too that asks guests to hand in the TV remote at the end of their stay!

  • Janet N

  • April 2015

Friendly, clean, lots of character and good atmosphere generally. No ghosts seen but.....

We did take a photo and it does have the same strange flash behind me even though there isn't anything to reflect....


  • Lori Jessop

  • March 2015

My getaway

I had a fantastic stay.

The food was very good, the service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for them to do.

  • James Woods

  • February 2015

good rooms with friendly staff.

  • paul s

  • February 2015


This was a real time experience with a brilliant blend of old and new together.

It was amazing to see and stay in such an old building, even the furniture was antique. I put my shoes in the wardrobe and they fell out of the bottom LOL. We really loved the whole atmosphere, the staff were so polite and attentive, this will rank as one of the best quirky stays we have ever had.

  • E Hughes

  • February 2015

Historic Hotel

Excellent, interesting, hotel.

Excellent room and service.

  • Philip B

  • December 2014


  • c hart

  • December 2014


Very friendly and helpful staff, food was excelllent