No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George and Pilgrim

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 High Street , Glastonbury, BA6 9DP
Built in the 1400s, The George and Pilgrim is the oldest purpose-built pub in the South West of England. Situated in the heart of Glastonbury, it is steeped in history and old folk law. The building has a paneled stone frontage, mullion windows, and old oak beams. All 14 rooms feature a TV and tea and coffee-making facilities, and some have impressive draped four-poster beds. Guests are welcome to enjoy an aperitif or traditional ale in the charming Pilgrim’s bar. The hotel also has a comfortable restaurant with an à la carte menu, offering fresh, succulent homemade food. Licensed for Civil Ceremonies, The George & Pilgrim is a popular choice for weddings, holding functions for up to 90 guests and groups are made most welcome. Free on-site parking is also provided.

Glastonbury has been inhabited since Neolithic times and today it has more than its fair share of attractions and festivals. There is something to interest most tastes from Glastonbury Abbey that was the site of Edmund Ironside’s coronation as King of England in 1016, museums & churches to the interesting hippie shops selling books, charms, clothes and crystals. Step back in time and prepare to be overwhelmed by the charm of this hotel and the cultural town. Easily accessible to Milllfield, Street, and the city of Bristol, the George and Pilgrim look forward to welcoming you.

Picture of The George and Pilgrim, Glastonbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good rooms with friendly staff.

Reviewed by
James Woods

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wow
This was a real time experience with a brilliant blend of old and new together. It was amazing to see and stay in such an old building, even the furniture was antique. I put my shoes in the wardrobe and they fell out of the bottom LOL. We really loved the whole atmosphere, the staff were so polite and attentive, this will rank as one of the best quirky stays we have ever had.

Reviewed by
paul s

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Historic Hotel
Excellent, interesting, hotel.
Excellent room and service.

Reviewed by
E Hughes

From Fakenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent

Reviewed by
Philip B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very friendly and helpful staff, food was excelllent

Reviewed by
c hart

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel - if a bit outside our usual budget
A great historical hotel with central location right in the middle of Glastonbury. We booked in as the other options in town were full. A bit more expensive than we'd usual pay for a room, but it did feel a bit special.
The room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendy and helpful. It was unseasonal warm when we stayed (mid October) so had to leave the windows open as the room was really warm when we arrived - Not a problem! Breakfast was available until 10.00 am so no rush to leave on Sunday after a late night out. No complaints and we would stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Hall

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the best place in Glastonbury
we stayed in the four poster room which at first i thought was a bit pricey but being the only room available I booked it. At £150 a night its the most expensive room ive ever stayed in but it certainly was an experience. There was a place to park, the place itself is oozing with character easily the best and most popular place in Glastonbury. The pub itself has a lively night time atmosphere there was an acoustic performance which was very good. The room, the uneven floor and ceilings it was like staying in a stately home, the bed wasn't the comfiest ive ever slept in but that goes with the age and adds to the character. The breakfast was very good and so was the service from the waiter. Bit pricey but recommend if you like old quirky character like buildings :)

Reviewed by
r harris

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ancient Inn in Glastonbury
We stayed in the double room with a four poster. The room is circa 15th Century and has amazing character. Very very cosy, spacious with a large en-suite and squeaky floorboards.
Fantastic room.
Hotel has bags of character and is right on the High Street.

Reviewed by
Neil Grice

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
We had s wonderful stay in this old hotel.
Staff are friendly and helpful .
Lovely breakfast and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
We have stayed many times and will return again.

Reviewed by
c clifford

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a romantic break
Lovely old hotel with really nice staff.

Reviewed by
Greg Stapleton

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next