No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George and Pilgrim

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 High Street , Glastonbury, BA6 9DP
Built in the 1400s, The George and Pilgrim is the oldest purpose-built pub in the South West of England. Situated in the heart of Glastonbury, it is steeped in history and old folk law. The building has a paneled stone frontage, mullion windows, and old oak beams. All 14 rooms feature a TV and tea and coffee-making facilities, and some have impressive draped four-poster beds. Guests are welcome to enjoy an aperitif or traditional ale in the charming Pilgrim’s bar. The hotel also has a comfortable restaurant with an à la carte menu, offering fresh, succulent homemade food. Licensed for Civil Ceremonies, The George & Pilgrim is a popular choice for weddings, holding functions for up to 90 guests and groups are made most welcome. Free on-site parking is also provided.

Glastonbury has been inhabited since Neolithic times and today it has more than its fair share of attractions and festivals. There is something to interest most tastes from Glastonbury Abbey that was the site of Edmund Ironside’s coronation as King of England in 1016, museums & churches to the interesting hippie shops selling books, charms, clothes and crystals. Step back in time and prepare to be overwhelmed by the charm of this hotel and the cultural town. Easily accessible to Milllfield, Street, and the city of Bristol, the George and Pilgrim look forward to welcoming you.

Picture of The George and Pilgrim, Glastonbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth it!
We've visited the George and Pilgrims on several occasions but this was the first time we've actually stayed here. We booked a four poster room and must say it was all we expected.. atmospheric and full of character. If we had to pick faults; the lighting was a bit harsh, a couple of lamps either side of the bed wouldn't go amiss! Also the TV was a bit on the small side but as we didn't want to watch TV, it wasn't a problem for us personally!
Breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked to order so no complaints there!

Reviewed by
alan horobin

From Newtown, Wales
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shame about the carpets, mattress and heat
booked a family room, (9) for one night for a group of 3 adults. on entering the room, the first thing you noticed were the very dirty stained carpets, with a hint of damp smell. The double bed lovely frame but the mattress was past its best, every spring was felt, leaving it lumpy and bumpy, ended up sleeping on a duvet so I couldn't feel the springs. the heat in the room was extreme, even with the windows open, and no heat on,(it was a hot day) but when opening the en suite bathroom the heat was double (without the heated towel rail on) . Only one bedside lamp for the main bedroom and the a joining one. loved the hotel but felt it was let down by these issues, Worth staying one night just so you can say you stayed in the George and Pilgrim , but would not stay again. staff and breakfast very good and helpful

Reviewed by
R CRYSTAL-WATERS

From Lochwinnoch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay.
I was meeting some friends at Glastonbury so I booked here for the night, had seen some bad reviews of this place but was intrigued as well, it was a great place to stay, I was in the new bit (only 300 years old) it was clean and tidy and right in the centre of the town... oh and no ghost.

Reviewed by
N MOORE

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
We have stayed many times at this hotel . It has wonderfull character. Our room was big and comfortable . Clean and good bathroom facilities .
Staff helpful and lovely breakfast . We will be back to stay again ,

Reviewed by
c clifford

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay there
Most certainly the worst hotel I've stayed at. On arrival we couldn't find the car park so had to park about 200 yds away on the main street. Entered the hotel to find no-one on reception. After waiting several minutes we made enquiries at the bar and were given directions to the car park. There are only 4 spaces allocated to hotel guests (which were all full ) so we had to pay in the Pay & Display park - this is not mentioned in the hotel description. Back to reception to sign in, still no-one there so back to the bar to be told the barmaid would deal with us as soon as she's finished serving. The hotel has a policy to pay in advance - this should have rung alarm bells. We walked to our room (room 10) through dirty corridors to find the following:
- at least 8 stains on the bedroom carpet
- very old and tired bedroom furniture
- sash window that opens fully or closed fully
- smallest TV possible with picture and sound that kept freezing
- the hotels fire escape that went through the bathroom (YES, through the bathroom)
- warm water through the cold tap until you let it run a while
Then down for breakfast the following morning to find the following:
- tables set with just a knife and fork for each place setting
- no side plate, butter knife, napkin
- filthy table cloth on the buffet bar
- extremely greasy cooked breakfast
Will never go back there again.

Reviewed by
D Jones

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough but not really worth the money. Good place to stay to be near the town, lovely staff when I could find them! Very noisy in the night, could hear every creak, basic furniture, would have been nice to have a chair in the room, and very basic breakfast.
Cost me a fortune in the car park behind as not enough room to park in the pub spaces.

Reviewed by
liz b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great looking building, dirty rooms
I rarely ever complain and wouldn't have done unless I had this email.
The building is great and the staff were friendly enough. I booked a triple room and asked as reception if it was a double and single bed and was told it was. The third bed was in fact a poor quality sofa bed. If it had been setup as a bed it we had been informed it would have been less of a surprise.
The room was filthy from very stained carpet to a foot long cobweb hanging from the light. The mattress on the bed is about 4" thick and very uncomfortable. The bathroom has yellow stained sealent and grout and the toilet had hair on it. Everything was covered in dust from the mirror to the window sill.
This room cost £159 which is a huge amount of money for a double bed and single sofa bed, if it had been £79 I'd be a lot more forgiving. The service from the blond lady helping with breakfast was nice. The food itself was fairly low quality but pleasant enough.
The building is beautiful and very much captures Glastonbury.

Reviewed by
Dave H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter break.
Did not fail to impress, beautiful historic building and great atmosphere. Staff are fantastic! Food and drink hit the mark. Well done!

Reviewed by
Brendan C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel staff was really friendly, and the hotel's prime location right in the centre of town makes it a really good value-for-money for someone who wants to be in the centre of things (with a rather active, friendly bar downstairs). The medieval feeling of the preserved accommodation is also a very intriguing plus.
The only downside the hotel had for me was very tempermental internet connection (although they had rather new routers, the internet simple fell from time to time, for prolonged periods).

Reviewed by
Gil S

From Israel
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall Review
Customer service was good. Location perfect. An old building I appreciate but the room was not good. Furniture broken, bathpanel had fallen off, stains on plaster work where water had leaked into the ceiling and all in all in need of some love investment and attention. Breakfast great. Evening bar entertainment (with Rod Stewart tribute and singinging landlady was brilliant). If you are a Real Ale drinker then don't ask for a sample taster - a "no" could offend.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next