No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George and Pilgrim

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 High Street , Glastonbury, BA6 9DP
Built in the 1400s, The George and Pilgrim is the oldest purpose-built pub in the South West of England. Situated in the heart of Glastonbury, it is steeped in history and old folk law. The building has a paneled stone frontage, mullion windows, and old oak beams. All 14 rooms feature a TV and tea and coffee-making facilities, and some have impressive draped four-poster beds. Guests are welcome to enjoy an aperitif or traditional ale in the charming Pilgrim’s bar. The hotel also has a comfortable restaurant with an à la carte menu, offering fresh, succulent homemade food. Licensed for Civil Ceremonies, The George & Pilgrim is a popular choice for weddings, holding functions for up to 90 guests and groups are made most welcome. Free on-site parking is also provided.

Glastonbury has been inhabited since Neolithic times and today it has more than its fair share of attractions and festivals. There is something to interest most tastes from Glastonbury Abbey that was the site of Edmund Ironside’s coronation as King of England in 1016, museums & churches to the interesting hippie shops selling books, charms, clothes and crystals. Step back in time and prepare to be overwhelmed by the charm of this hotel and the cultural town. Easily accessible to Milllfield, Street, and the city of Bristol, the George and Pilgrim look forward to welcoming you.

Picture of The George and Pilgrim, Glastonbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel - if a bit outside our usual budget
A great historical hotel with central location right in the middle of Glastonbury. We booked in as the other options in town were full. A bit more expensive than we'd usual pay for a room, but it did feel a bit special.
The room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendy and helpful. It was unseasonal warm when we stayed (mid October) so had to leave the windows open as the room was really warm when we arrived - Not a problem! Breakfast was available until 10.00 am so no rush to leave on Sunday after a late night out. No complaints and we would stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Hall

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the best place in Glastonbury
we stayed in the four poster room which at first i thought was a bit pricey but being the only room available I booked it. At £150 a night its the most expensive room ive ever stayed in but it certainly was an experience. There was a place to park, the place itself is oozing with character easily the best and most popular place in Glastonbury. The pub itself has a lively night time atmosphere there was an acoustic performance which was very good. The room, the uneven floor and ceilings it was like staying in a stately home, the bed wasn't the comfiest ive ever slept in but that goes with the age and adds to the character. The breakfast was very good and so was the service from the waiter. Bit pricey but recommend if you like old quirky character like buildings :)

Reviewed by
r harris

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ancient Inn in Glastonbury
We stayed in the double room with a four poster. The room is circa 15th Century and has amazing character. Very very cosy, spacious with a large en-suite and squeaky floorboards.
Fantastic room.
Hotel has bags of character and is right on the High Street.

Reviewed by
Neil Grice

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
We had s wonderful stay in this old hotel.
Staff are friendly and helpful .
Lovely breakfast and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
We have stayed many times and will return again.

Reviewed by
c clifford

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a romantic break
Lovely old hotel with really nice staff.

Reviewed by
Greg Stapleton

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cant wait to go back
There's only one thing I can say about this Hotel and that is 'WOW'. What a fabulous place. From the moment we arrived the Staff were so friendly,from the Lovely gentleman serving at the Bar,the Manager, the Waitress and the Kitchen Staff. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them and we were given a lovely account of the History of this wonderful Hotel. Would reccommend the Fourposter Rooms which are spacious and clean with quality bedding,so comfortable too. Our Breakfast was superb and the waiting Staff were courteous and efficient. The Furnishing of the Hotel is so Authentic and really blends in with the History of this place and it was spotlessly clean throughout. For anyone to find fault here is just pure silly,as I have stayed in so many Hotels all over the World and this will take some beating. Its an Old 18th century Building,of course the walls ar'nt straight and the windows may creak on opening but hey that adds to the whole fabulous Atmosphere of the place.. its well run, very well staffed and the food is great. I just cant wait to go back as this is now one of my most favourite places out of everywhere ive been. Thankyou to all the Staff for making our stay so welcome and comfortable..see you all soon.

Reviewed by
J CULLEN

From Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth it!
We've visited the George and Pilgrims on several occasions but this was the first time we've actually stayed here. We booked a four poster room and must say it was all we expected.. atmospheric and full of character. If we had to pick faults; the lighting was a bit harsh, a couple of lamps either side of the bed wouldn't go amiss! Also the TV was a bit on the small side but as we didn't want to watch TV, it wasn't a problem for us personally!
Breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked to order so no complaints there!

Reviewed by
alan horobin

From Newtown, Wales
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay.
I was meeting some friends at Glastonbury so I booked here for the night, had seen some bad reviews of this place but was intrigued as well, it was a great place to stay, I was in the new bit (only 300 years old) it was clean and tidy and right in the centre of the town... oh and no ghost.

Reviewed by
N MOORE

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shame about the carpets, mattress and heat
booked a family room, (9) for one night for a group of 3 adults. on entering the room, the first thing you noticed were the very dirty stained carpets, with a hint of damp smell. The double bed lovely frame but the mattress was past its best, every spring was felt, leaving it lumpy and bumpy, ended up sleeping on a duvet so I couldn't feel the springs. the heat in the room was extreme, even with the windows open, and no heat on,(it was a hot day) but when opening the en suite bathroom the heat was double (without the heated towel rail on) . Only one bedside lamp for the main bedroom and the a joining one. loved the hotel but felt it was let down by these issues, Worth staying one night just so you can say you stayed in the George and Pilgrim , but would not stay again. staff and breakfast very good and helpful

Reviewed by
R CRYSTAL-WATERS

From Lochwinnoch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
We have stayed many times at this hotel . It has wonderfull character. Our room was big and comfortable . Clean and good bathroom facilities .
Staff helpful and lovely breakfast . We will be back to stay again ,

Reviewed by
c clifford

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next