Reviews - The George and Pilgrim


1 High Street, Glastonbury, BA6 9DP

Price From 123.01 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • June 2014

shame about the carpets, mattress and heat

booked a family room, (9) for one night for a group of 3 adults.

on entering the room, the first thing you noticed were the very dirty stained carpets, with a hint of damp smell. The double bed lovely frame but the mattress was past its best, every spring was felt, leaving it lumpy and bumpy, ended up sleeping on a duvet so I couldn't feel the springs. the heat in the room was extreme, even with the windows open, and no heat on,(it was a hot day) but when opening the en suite bathroom the heat was double (without the heated towel rail on) . Only one bedside lamp for the main bedroom and the a joining one. loved the hotel but felt it was let down by these issues, Worth staying one night just so you can say you stayed in the George and Pilgrim , but would not stay again. staff and breakfast very good and helpful


  • June 2014

Great place to stay.

I was meeting some friends at Glastonbury so I booked here for the night, had seen some bad reviews of this place but was intrigued as well, it was a great place to stay, I was in the new bit (only 300 years old) it was clean and tidy and right in the centre of the town...

oh and no ghost.

  • D Jones

  • May 2014

Don't stay there

Most certainly the worst hotel I've stayed at.

On arrival we couldn't find the car park so had to park about 200 yds away on the main street. Entered the hotel to find no-one on reception. After waiting several minutes we made enquiries at the bar and were given directions to the car park. There are only 4 spaces allocated to hotel guests (which were all full ) so we had to pay in the Pay & Display park - this is not mentioned in the hotel description. Back to reception to sign in, still no-one there so back to the bar to be told the barmaid would deal with us as soon as she's finished serving. The hotel has a policy to pay in advance - this should have rung alarm bells. We walked to our room (room 10) through dirty corridors to find the following:

- at least 8 stains on the bedroom carpet

- very old and tired bedroom furniture

- sash window that opens fully or closed fully

- smallest TV possible with picture and sound that kept freezing

- the hotels fire escape that went through the bathroom (YES, through the bathroom)

- warm water through the cold tap until you let it run a while

Then down for breakfast the following morning to find the following:

- tables set with just a knife and fork for each place setting

- no side plate, butter knife, napkin

- filthy table cloth on the buffet bar

- extremely greasy cooked breakfast

Will never go back there again.

  • c clifford

  • May 2014

Enjoyable stay

We have stayed many times at this hotel .

It has wonderfull character. Our room was big and comfortable . Clean and good bathroom facilities .

Staff helpful and lovely breakfast . We will be back to stay again ,

  • liz b

  • May 2014

Nice enough but not really worth the money.

Good place to stay to be near the town, lovely staff when I could find them. Very noisy in the night, could hear every creak, basic furniture, would have been nice to have a chair in the room, and very basic breakfast.

Cost me a fortune in the car park behind as not enough room to park in the pub spaces.

  • Dave H

  • April 2014

Great looking building, dirty rooms

I rarely ever complain and wouldn't have done unless I had this email.

The building is great and the staff were friendly enough. I booked a triple room and asked as reception if it was a double and single bed and was told it was. The third bed was in fact a poor quality sofa bed. If it had been setup as a bed it we had been informed it would have been less of a surprise.

The room was filthy from very stained carpet to a foot long cobweb hanging from the light. The mattress on the bed is about 4" thick and very uncomfortable. The bathroom has yellow stained sealent and grout and the toilet had hair on it. Everything was covered in dust from the mirror to the window sill.

This room cost £159 which is a huge amount of money for a double bed and single sofa bed, if it had been £79 I'd be a lot more forgiving. The service from the blond lady helping with breakfast was nice. The food itself was fairly low quality but pleasant enough.

The building is beautiful and very much captures Glastonbury.

  • Brendan C

  • April 2014

Easter break.

Did not fail to impress, beautiful historic building and great atmosphere.

Staff are fantastic. Food and drink hit the mark. Well done!

  • Gil S

  • March 2014

The hotel staff was really friendly, and the hotel's prime location right in the centre of town makes it a really good value-for-money for someone who wants to be in the centre of things (with a rather active, friendly bar downstairs).

The medieval feeling of the preserved accommodation is also a very intriguing plus. The only downside the hotel had for me was very tempermental internet connection (although they had rather new routers, the internet simple fell from time to time, for prolonged periods).

  • Ian W

  • February 2014

Overall Review

Customer service was good.

Location perfect. An old building I appreciate but the room was not good. Furniture broken, bathpanel had fallen off, stains on plaster work where water had leaked into the ceiling and all in all in need of some love investment and attention. Breakfast great. Evening bar entertainment (with Rod Stewart tribute and singinging landlady was brilliant). If you are a Real Ale drinker then don't ask for a sample taster - a "no" could offend.

  • H Pinder

  • January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The George and Pilgrim, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the history of the hotel really interested us as we are both from a spiritual environment and experienced things during our stay.