No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George and Pilgrim

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 High Street , Glastonbury, BA6 9DP
Built in the 1400s, The George and Pilgrim is the oldest purpose-built pub in the South West of England. Situated in the heart of Glastonbury, it is steeped in history and old folk law. The building has a paneled stone frontage, mullion windows, and old oak beams. All 14 rooms feature a TV and tea and coffee-making facilities, and some have impressive draped four-poster beds. Guests are welcome to enjoy an aperitif or traditional ale in the charming Pilgrim’s bar. The hotel also has a comfortable restaurant with an à la carte menu, offering fresh, succulent homemade food. Licensed for Civil Ceremonies, The George & Pilgrim is a popular choice for weddings, holding functions for up to 90 guests and groups are made most welcome. Free on-site parking is also provided.

Glastonbury has been inhabited since Neolithic times and today it has more than its fair share of attractions and festivals. There is something to interest most tastes from Glastonbury Abbey that was the site of Edmund Ironside’s coronation as King of England in 1016, museums & churches to the interesting hippie shops selling books, charms, clothes and crystals. Step back in time and prepare to be overwhelmed by the charm of this hotel and the cultural town. Easily accessible to Milllfield, Street, and the city of Bristol, the George and Pilgrim look forward to welcoming you.

Picture of The George and Pilgrim, Glastonbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very lovely stay. Staff were helpful and friendly and i had a good nights sleep. Food was beautiful

Reviewed by
N Debens

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The friendliest place I've ever stayed!!
Huge mess up at check in caused by late rooms not taking payment for the room as clearly stated on booking form - the manager was incredibly helpful, and really went out of her way to help me sort the situation, infact all of the staff I encountered were fantastic, really friendly, really helpful - I felt more as if I was staying with friends! I have stayed alone in places and felt awkward, staying in my room in the evening but here I was quite happy to sit in the bar and chat. I didn't eat in the bar but the breakfast was ok, as you would expect really.
I stayed in a four poster room, it was clean, the furniture was lovely and the bed really comfy - little bit of noise in the morning from the road and market being set up but I'm an early riser so it wasn't a problem.
All in all for location, atmosphere and decoration I was really impressed and will be staying here again.

Reviewed by
clare p

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place to stay in Glastonbury
Centre of town, perfect location for those who love wandering round and then want to head back without the hassle. Food was excellent & the staff are so friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is a fantastic place to stay, so much history and quirky without being overwhelming. I fell in love with the George and Pilgrim because of its unique character. If you want modern, clean lines and no soul, stay at a new hotel. if you want a completely different place to stay, then stay here, you can't go wrong!!

Reviewed by
Laura B

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday break
This room has a lovely confessional style wardrobe but if you want a lovely view, book a different room at The George & Pilgrim.

Reviewed by
Ellie J

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday beak
The family room was gorgeous, lots of space, nice view, and a bath and shower.

Reviewed by
Ellie J

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday break

Reviewed by
Ellie J

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired furniture and furnishings in room. Thick dust on several ornate lampshades in room. Heated towel rail in bathroom very grimy and dusty, therefore, not fit to use. Breakfast very average.

Reviewed by
Jill J

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Even the ghosts stayed away !!
This was an interesting place to stay however the staff need to smarten up - being greated at breakfast by a person still drinking their morning tea and looking as if they had just woken up was not really acceptable and then the staff sitting on the table smoking as we left ,also not a good look ! The breakfast room is dark and stuffy I expect to hide the dreadful food - greasy and tasteless ! Glastonbury as a town needs to smarten up its act and so does this Hotel .

Reviewed by
Jacquie H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The staff very friendly and helpful, good location and the food was good value for the money

Reviewed by
colette l

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb stay at the George and Pilgrim, Glastonbury
We had a lovely warm welcome at this Hotel and have nothing but praise for the staff.. They are caring and considerate. The food was lovely (we ate in the bar and it was first class). Breakfast was plentiful and nice and hot.

Reviewed by
J O'Connor

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next