Reviews - The George and Pilgrim

3

1 High Street, Glastonbury, BA6 9DP

Price From 138.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • liz b

  • May 2014

Nice enough but not really worth the money.

Good place to stay to be near the town, lovely staff when I could find them. Very noisy in the night, could hear every creak, basic furniture, would have been nice to have a chair in the room, and very basic breakfast.

Cost me a fortune in the car park behind as not enough room to park in the pub spaces.

  • Dave H

  • April 2014

Great looking building, dirty rooms

I rarely ever complain and wouldn't have done unless I had this email.

The building is great and the staff were friendly enough. I booked a triple room and asked as reception if it was a double and single bed and was told it was. The third bed was in fact a poor quality sofa bed. If it had been setup as a bed it we had been informed it would have been less of a surprise.

The room was filthy from very stained carpet to a foot long cobweb hanging from the light. The mattress on the bed is about 4" thick and very uncomfortable. The bathroom has yellow stained sealent and grout and the toilet had hair on it. Everything was covered in dust from the mirror to the window sill.

This room cost £159 which is a huge amount of money for a double bed and single sofa bed, if it had been £79 I'd be a lot more forgiving. The service from the blond lady helping with breakfast was nice. The food itself was fairly low quality but pleasant enough.

The building is beautiful and very much captures Glastonbury.

  • Brendan C

  • April 2014

Easter break.

Did not fail to impress, beautiful historic building and great atmosphere.

Staff are fantastic. Food and drink hit the mark. Well done!

  • Gil S

  • March 2014

The hotel staff was really friendly, and the hotel's prime location right in the centre of town makes it a really good value-for-money for someone who wants to be in the centre of things (with a rather active, friendly bar downstairs).

The medieval feeling of the preserved accommodation is also a very intriguing plus. The only downside the hotel had for me was very tempermental internet connection (although they had rather new routers, the internet simple fell from time to time, for prolonged periods).

  • Ian W

  • February 2014

Overall Review

Customer service was good.

Location perfect. An old building I appreciate but the room was not good. Furniture broken, bathpanel had fallen off, stains on plaster work where water had leaked into the ceiling and all in all in need of some love investment and attention. Breakfast great. Evening bar entertainment (with Rod Stewart tribute and singinging landlady was brilliant). If you are a Real Ale drinker then don't ask for a sample taster - a "no" could offend.

  • H Pinder

  • January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The George and Pilgrim, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the history of the hotel really interested us as we are both from a spiritual environment and experienced things during our stay.

  • D Keating

  • November 2013

Convenient, central location

Great location & a beautiful historic building.

Lovely clean, comfortable room with en-suite, kettle & T.V. Freshly cooked breakfast set me up well for my day ahead. Easy check-n & check-out. Friendly, polite staff. A little expensive & very noisy (though I did choose carnival night for my stay, so I only have myself to blame for that)

  • Cat L

  • October 2013

Great place

Great place to stay, clean, friendly & great atmosphere

  • A Evans

  • October 2013

listed building

Wonderful place to stay, an original listed building, have stayed here many times and intend to keep coming back.

Well worth staying in the four poster rooms to get a true feel of the hotel, very comfortable, the food is lovely, staff friendly, very popular with the local residents, Well worth as visit even if you don't you the hotel facilities,.

  • P ELLIS

  • October 2013

Nice old building but.....

The hotel building and its history were interesting.

The staff were friendly and helpful. However, the décor and carpets were very tired. The food was also nothing to write home about. It is apparently haunted but nothing happened on that front despite lying awake for some of the night. We are glad we stayed here but would not do so again.