No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Inn Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16 Northgate Street , Gloucester, GL1 1SF
The New Inn Hotel is situated in the heart of Gloucester and dates back to the 14th-century, it is considered to be the finest medieval galleried inn in Britain and has been beautifully restored and refurbished. There are 33 ensuite rooms featuring exposed beams & original features, TV and tea and coffee making facilities.

The Grill Restaurant serves a carvery and British menu in charming surroundings. There are 4 bars, including the award-winning Real Ale Bar, offering up to 12 cask ales. There is also a coffee shop serving homemade cakes and speciality teas.

This historical building was used by pilgrims visiting Gloucester Cathedral, which is just 300 metres away. East Gate Shopping Centre is just 2 minutes’ walk away, and Gloucester Railway Station is a 5-minute walk. Cheltenham is less than 10 miles away and Cotswold villages surround the area.

Picture of New Inn Hotel, Gloucester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 129 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
I stayed here with my partner on a Friday night. It was very busy and loud due to a live band but this sound proofed the room more ;) the room was well decorated with enough privacy. Staff members was polite and very friendly that provided you with detailed information regarding the local area and history of the 14th century building. Cleaner is a bit noisy in the morning but makes a good alarm if you don't want to miss the delicious breakfast served in the restaurant. I can't wait to stay again

Reviewed by
kat hanson

From gloucestershire, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No ghosts
Fantastic hotel.
Stayed in Lady Grey suit (no ghost)
A hotel with floors and walls to match its history.
Worth every penny

Reviewed by
Ken Williams

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good location rooms were o.k. bed was a little on the hard side
would stay here again if in the area

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

coffee
Staff very help full and an interesting place to stay. Need to sort out the coffee at breakfast as there was no place to put the cup while pouring and the coffee jug was overfull- result a scalded hand-ouch!!

Reviewed by
N Birchall

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our short weekend break here
would book again ;but have aroom at the rear as the
street cleaners start early morning and are noisy.

Reviewed by
alan rowland

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good all-round Inn
I enjoyed my stay at this Inn, my only complaints would be that the pillows were too big and there were no cups in the bathroom on the first night.

Reviewed by
Peter D

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old building
We arrived here over bank holiday after getting fab discount on the room. Premises was a bit hard to locate. As was bang in the middle of town. Our room was sufficent for the money. Breakfast was buffett style, only downfall the toaster was not working. Car park gives a discount from the hotel so all in not too expensive to park.

Reviewed by
CATHERINE S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Nice hotel with character,enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant which was very tasty,the buffet style breakfast was selection of hot & cold choices was average.would recommend this hotel ,but we don't think we would return to Gloucester itself.

Reviewed by
Kim G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cathedral visit
After reading previous uncomplimentary reviews of the New Inn we couldn't believe how much appeal the hotel has and with regard to the comments on breakfast we felt the New Inn could not provide more in the way of a good English breakfast which was accompanied by friendly helpful staff- apart from our room looking a little tired it was large and the bathroom we had was good with plenty of hot water for shower or bath-The New Inn is an historical treasure and for us it was central to the Cathedral which was the purpose of our visit as my son was over from Amsterdam to accompany the European Choir - thank you New Inn for your hospitality and laterooms for the efficient booking.

Reviewed by
joyce graham

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room was above the pub and at night the seagulls outside were noisy (the can't help that), the Wifi didn't work on my room (the signal was far to weak) and 50% nylon bed sheeds and a tempereature above the 20.C isn't the best combination but after all it was a nice place to stay for a few nights. The room was clean and there is a nice pub for the evening.
In comparison to the price you pay it's ok and dont forget it 's an centurys old Inn and if you don't like that take a hotel.

Reviewed by
S Van der Willigen

From Rotterdam, Netherlands
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next