No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Inn Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16 Northgate Street , Gloucester, GL1 1SF
The New Inn Hotel is situated in the heart of Gloucester and dates back to the 14th-century, it is considered to be the finest medieval galleried inn in Britain and has been beautifully restored and refurbished. There are 33 ensuite rooms featuring exposed beams & original features, TV and tea and coffee making facilities.

The Grill Restaurant serves a carvery and British menu in charming surroundings. There are 4 bars, including the award-winning Real Ale Bar, offering up to 12 cask ales. There is also a coffee shop serving homemade cakes and speciality teas.

This historical building was used by pilgrims visiting Gloucester Cathedral, which is just 300 metres away. East Gate Shopping Centre is just 2 minutes’ walk away, and Gloucester Railway Station is a 5-minute walk. Cheltenham is less than 10 miles away and Cotswold villages surround the area.

Picture of New Inn Hotel, Gloucester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 129 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cathedral visit
After reading previous uncomplimentary reviews of the New Inn we couldn't believe how much appeal the hotel has and with regard to the comments on breakfast we felt the New Inn could not provide more in the way of a good English breakfast which was accompanied by friendly helpful staff- apart from our room looking a little tired it was large and the bathroom we had was good with plenty of hot water for shower or bath-The New Inn is an historical treasure and for us it was central to the Cathedral which was the purpose of our visit as my son was over from Amsterdam to accompany the European Choir - thank you New Inn for your hospitality and laterooms for the efficient booking.

Reviewed by
joyce graham

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My room was above the pub and at night the seagulls outside were noisy (the can't help that), the Wifi didn't work on my room (the signal was far to weak) and 50% nylon bed sheeds and a tempereature above the 20.C isn't the best combination but after all it was a nice place to stay for a few nights. The room was clean and there is a nice pub for the evening.
In comparison to the price you pay it's ok and dont forget it 's an centurys old Inn and if you don't like that take a hotel.

Reviewed by
S Van der Willigen

From Rotterdam, Netherlands
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel was OK, but the Seagulls kept me awake allnight ,so is never had a good night sleep at all,the breakfast in the mornings was a nice surprise fresh & very appetising, I thought the staff might be a bit more friendly

Reviewed by
Eric L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character-filled building, could make a little more effort to accommodate
The building is lovely and our room was spacious, with a comfortable bed. It got very hot at night, however, and street noise stopped us from sleeping with the windows open. We also had rather bad luck with the food: on our first night we were too late to eat in the restaurant, while on the second we got as far as sitting down with a drink before being told that the kitchen had been closed due to a gas leak. The buffet breakfast was average, and kept running out of food items/plates/cutlery. The lack of a car park is a bit inconvenient when you're on motorbikes, but this is something I should have checked before booking.

Reviewed by
Alice D

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for visitor on a budget
Very spacious room, scrupulously clean. Noisy up to midnight from the bar downstairs/karaoke. We were only warned of this on arrival. Wasn't a problem however but you need to know whether it might be for you.
Very difficult to find from the car park on first getting there. Partly my poor sense of direction but could have done with better instructions.

Reviewed by
S Kirwan

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location, location, location
Excellent location, handy for everything.
Great live band in the pub Friday evening.
Food pretty average but plenty of other places to eat, so
did not detract from the overall break.

Reviewed by
C H

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 day break
Excellent

Reviewed by
R Lea

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired accomadation
Very disappointed in our stay. 2 couples who had visited 30 years when we were obviously less discerning. Should have been on guard as we paid a very low price for 2 nights.
Rooms were very tired, shower in need of refurbishing. Shower head did,nt stay still. Shower curtain over the bath was very grubby. Tired and threadbare carpet. Unable to work shower until a switch was found 6 inchs above bathroom room which required someone to stand on a chair to switch on.Wood work of windows rotten.
Good points - pleasant chamber maids, clean sheets and towels and very comfortable beds.

Reviewed by
Valerie R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good. Alive for money

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not very cheerful, historic hotel definitely showing it age.
As a regular traveller for both work and pleasure this is probably the worst night I have ever had in any hotel in the UK. Admittedly my room was at the front of the building and therefore susceptible to a certain amount of noise from the street, sadly however, the noise came from inside the premises until the early hours. Given that the hotel fronted on to a public thoroughfare which from necessity was well lit it was surprising that the curtains appeared to be made of tissue paper and offered no barrier to the street lighting outside. Significantly heavier weight curtains would undoubtedly offered greater light and sound softening. Given the age of this hotel I am surely not the first person to have identified this as an issue/solution. Whilst the cost of the hotel was comparable to one of the chains (and thank goodness I had not paid full price or booked to stay longer) the quality of the accommodation was poor and the inclusive english breakfast not much better, typical cash and carry fodder - cheap sausages, beans etc and fried bread made from leftovers and offcuts by the look of it. Clearly not prepared by anyone with a degree of pride in what they are sending out of the kitchen. Generally the staff seemed polite but disinterested. I appreciate that Gloucester, despite being a historic city, is not over-endowed with places to stay and if this is the best that is on offer I can see why there is probably not much of a market for it. One to be avoided if at all possible. Go stay somewhere else and visit for the day if necessary.

Reviewed by
Rick A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next