No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Inn Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
16 Northgate Street , Gloucester, GL1 1SF
The New Inn Hotel is situated in the heart of Gloucester and dates back to the 14th-century, it is considered to be the finest medieval galleried inn in Britain and has been beautifully restored and refurbished. There are 33 ensuite rooms featuring exposed beams & original features, TV and tea and coffee making facilities.

The Grill Restaurant serves a carvery and British menu in charming surroundings. There are 4 bars, including the award-winning Real Ale Bar, offering up to 12 cask ales. There is also a coffee shop serving homemade cakes and speciality teas.

This historical building was used by pilgrims visiting Gloucester Cathedral, which is just 300 metres away. East Gate Shopping Centre is just 2 minutes’ walk away, and Gloucester Railway Station is a 5-minute walk. Cheltenham is less than 10 miles away and Cotswold villages surround the area.

Picture of New Inn Hotel, Gloucester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 130 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character-filled building, could make a little more effort to accommodate
The building is lovely and our room was spacious, with a comfortable bed. It got very hot at night, however, and street noise stopped us from sleeping with the windows open. We also had rather bad luck with the food: on our first night we were too late to eat in the restaurant, while on the second we got as far as sitting down with a drink before being told that the kitchen had been closed due to a gas leak. The buffet breakfast was average, and kept running out of food items/plates/cutlery. The lack of a car park is a bit inconvenient when you're on motorbikes, but this is something I should have checked before booking.

Reviewed by
Alice D

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for visitor on a budget
Very spacious room, scrupulously clean. Noisy up to midnight from the bar downstairs/karaoke. We were only warned of this on arrival. Wasn't a problem however but you need to know whether it might be for you.
Very difficult to find from the car park on first getting there. Partly my poor sense of direction but could have done with better instructions.

Reviewed by
S Kirwan

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location, location, location
Excellent location, handy for everything.
Great live band in the pub Friday evening.
Food pretty average but plenty of other places to eat, so
did not detract from the overall break.

Reviewed by
C H

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 day break
Excellent

Reviewed by
R Lea

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired accomadation
Very disappointed in our stay. 2 couples who had visited 30 years when we were obviously less discerning. Should have been on guard as we paid a very low price for 2 nights.
Rooms were very tired, shower in need of refurbishing. Shower head did,nt stay still. Shower curtain over the bath was very grubby. Tired and threadbare carpet. Unable to work shower until a switch was found 6 inchs above bathroom room which required someone to stand on a chair to switch on.Wood work of windows rotten.
Good points - pleasant chamber maids, clean sheets and towels and very comfortable beds.

Reviewed by
Valerie R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good. Alive for money

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but not very cheerful, historic hotel definitely showing it age.
As a regular traveller for both work and pleasure this is probably the worst night I have ever had in any hotel in the UK. Admittedly my room was at the front of the building and therefore susceptible to a certain amount of noise from the street, sadly however, the noise came from inside the premises until the early hours. Given that the hotel fronted on to a public thoroughfare which from necessity was well lit it was surprising that the curtains appeared to be made of tissue paper and offered no barrier to the street lighting outside. Significantly heavier weight curtains would undoubtedly offered greater light and sound softening. Given the age of this hotel I am surely not the first person to have identified this as an issue/solution. Whilst the cost of the hotel was comparable to one of the chains (and thank goodness I had not paid full price or booked to stay longer) the quality of the accommodation was poor and the inclusive english breakfast not much better, typical cash and carry fodder - cheap sausages, beans etc and fried bread made from leftovers and offcuts by the look of it. Clearly not prepared by anyone with a degree of pride in what they are sending out of the kitchen. Generally the staff seemed polite but disinterested. I appreciate that Gloucester, despite being a historic city, is not over-endowed with places to stay and if this is the best that is on offer I can see why there is probably not much of a market for it. One to be avoided if at all possible. Go stay somewhere else and visit for the day if necessary.

Reviewed by
Rick A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight
Interesting property. Room small and comfortable. Staff not very interested in guests. Mouldy bread for toast at breakfast, staff did not seem at all bothered

Reviewed by
r gibson

From Troon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming old Inn at a Good Price
A lot of small things could be better: a room phone to contact reception, less fiddly door locks, a surface to put things on in bathroom. But then it would probably cost more. As a charming inn, with a bar with real ales, I'll keep coming back. Room service and a lounge to enjoy the real ales away from the live music (when it's on) would be luxuries that would definitely price it out of my range.

Reviewed by
Timothy C

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday break
Made very welcome from arrival to departure. Well stocked real ale bar. At least five on tap plus usual chilled offerings. Breakfast was generally good with reasonable selection, better on Sunday. Entertainment noise not bothersome, as we live surrounded by students. Live music in the evening for those who enjoy it. Only drawback, bad language tolerated from those watching cup final and in courtyard area. Allowing this is encouraging it.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next