You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Kings Arms and Royal Hotel


22- 26 High Street, Godalming , GU7 1EB

Price From 118.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (10)

50% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Melanie C

  • September 2016

Uncomfortable and dated accommodation

The pub and accommodation are in need of some serious refurbishment ...

The carpets in particular reminded me of my Grandparent's carpets when I was a child in the 80's and 90's!. The room was very basic and didn't feel all that clean. The bin in my room hadn't been emptied from the previous guests stay. The bathroom again felt dated, and although it was clean was in need of some TLC - the bath panel was falling off!. The room was far too hot as well, I woke in the night and struggled to get back to sleep as there was no way of cooling the room even though I'd opened the window. Breakfast was OK although the sausage was a little overdone and the bread was a little on the cheap side. Staff were available at all times and were approachable but weren't overly welcoming or friendly.

  • L Armstrong

  • January 2016

A place of contrasts

A very odd stay.

On the first night we had dinner in the bar/restaurant. Staff friendly and polite but food indifferent. Room was very pretty but bed as lumpy as hell. Most uncomfortable night. Breakfast was dire. Cup of tea served with UHT milk and coffee tasted foul. Full English consisted of one rasher of bacon, one sausage, a meagre smattering of beans etc. No mushrooms left for which they didn't substitute anything else for. I was extremely disappointed.

Night two: returned to room to find note from "manager" (although no name given) saying no hot water in that part of hotel, would we like to change room. So we did. Bed still lumpy but much less than previous. Breakfast next morning actually resembled a Full English although still only one bacon rasher and one sausage. Actual pot of tea and fresh milk. Clearly the different staff aren't singing from the same song sheet....

  • H Hutchinson

  • December 2015

Kings Arms and Royal Hotel

Enjoyed stay.

Enjoyed our stay the room was very nice would be more then happy to use the hotel again.

  • Frank N

  • November 2015

Just ordinary

Car park cramped and full but lady at the bar was most helpful and found me a space.

What was good. Excellent shower in spacious shower tray, generally good bathroom. The price for Band B in this area is competitive but perhaps I understand now why payment is taken as soon as you check in and not the following morning as more normal. What was not so good. Room 7 is immediately over the kitchen and the humming noise was immediate, on complaining I was told that the noise would stop at 9PM. Perhaps it is just me but I did not notice any great difference and consequently slept poorly. The carpet in 7 is, well looks, grubby and is very poorly fitted. Breakfast was standard but again it's just me but in a hotel I rather prefer not to make my own tea or toast or find that a desert spoon is not on the table. I did complain about the noise but was met with surprise and no word of apology

  • Penny W

  • August 2015

Ok if you want business

Very disappointed having stayed at another relax inn the previous week we had high expectations but sadly they were dashed when we arrived and then again when we saw our room and found we had a twin bed family room instead of a double bed family room.

Beds were comfortable though. Plenty of cereal choice and yogurts available unfortunately you have to make own toast but did have marmite and marmalade available. Cooked breakfast took 15 minutes to arrive food had a funny taste to it which we can only put down to being cooked on a dirty grill and everything was cold and by this time we just couldn't be bothered to complain as food was just taking forever to arrive, sausages tasted like they were the cheap sainsburys ones with no flavour to them at all and mushroom that looked like they had been cooked and then reheated in the microwave for 10 seconds .

  • rowena p

  • April 2015

ideal for a short stay

room was a lot nicer than expected, very clean.

customer service on check in not spot on but morning was excellent service. the breakfast wasnt the best but was ok. a good nights sleep in a comfy bed. ideal location for shops etc. too

  • Gill M

  • February 2015

Great location but disappointed

I stayed at the Kings Arms Hotel last summer which is in an excellent location for visiting the town.

However this time I was somewhat disappointed in my stay as the room was looking a little tired (carpet needed cleaning, light wasn't working above the basin, shower control difficult to operate) and staff were not as friendly as the staff last summer.

  • Robert C

  • December 2014

Kings Arms and Royal Hotel

Nice clean friendly run hotel.

  • michael a

  • November 2014

A town stay

Our disappointment was the many stairs we had to climb to reach our room, i had requested a room on the 1st floor as my wife was recovering from a recent opp on her knee.

Also no apparent porter service to help with cases. The room was comfortable & clean, breakfast was good .

  • Nigel S

  • October 2014

Ok for a night

Enjoyable stay, room ok though a little tired, but decent nights sleep and the breakfast was pretty good.

Good value for the area.