Reviews - Kings Arms and Royal Hotel


22- 26 High Street, Godalming , GU7 1EB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (21)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Penny W

  • August 2015

Ok if you want business

Very disappointed having stayed at another relax inn the previous week we had high expectations but sadly they were dashed when we arrived and then again when we saw our room and found we had a twin bed family room instead of a double bed family room.

Beds were comfortable though. Plenty of cereal choice and yogurts available unfortunately you have to make own toast but did have marmite and marmalade available. Cooked breakfast took 15 minutes to arrive food had a funny taste to it which we can only put down to being cooked on a dirty grill and everything was cold and by this time we just couldn't be bothered to complain as food was just taking forever to arrive, sausages tasted like they were the cheap sainsburys ones with no flavour to them at all and mushroom that looked like they had been cooked and then reheated in the microwave for 10 seconds .

  • rowena p

  • April 2015

ideal for a short stay

room was a lot nicer than expected, very clean.

customer service on check in not spot on but morning was excellent service. the breakfast wasnt the best but was ok. a good nights sleep in a comfy bed. ideal location for shops etc. too

  • Gill M

  • February 2015

Great location but disappointed

I stayed at the Kings Arms Hotel last summer which is in an excellent location for visiting the town.

However this time I was somewhat disappointed in my stay as the room was looking a little tired (carpet needed cleaning, light wasn't working above the basin, shower control difficult to operate) and staff were not as friendly as the staff last summer.

  • Robert C

  • December 2014

Kings Arms and Royal Hotel

Nice clean friendly run hotel.

  • michael a

  • November 2014

A town stay

Our disappointment was the many stairs we had to climb to reach our room, i had requested a room on the 1st floor as my wife was recovering from a recent opp on her knee.

Also no apparent porter service to help with cases. The room was comfortable & clean, breakfast was good .

  • Nigel S

  • October 2014

Ok for a night

Enjoyable stay, room ok though a little tired, but decent nights sleep and the breakfast was pretty good.

Good value for the area.

  • Adrian W

  • October 2014

Your average high street pub/hotel

We arrived late at the hotel after traveling and was just stopping for one night so can't really offer any review on the evening food though the breakfast was nice.

The hotel was clean and staff very friendly. The only problem was that the family rooms don't offer a double bed for the parents, we had two single beds and a sofa bed for our daughter. My daughter did complain the sofa bed was unconfortable and to be honest so was our single beds. So unless you are likely to have an argument with your partner and would appreciate sleeping apart I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a family.

  • A Walker

  • September 2014

A really good overnight stay.

Staff very helpful and breakfast good. Room & ensuite accommodation standard are clean and comfortable. A little over priced. A great deal has been done to bring this fascinating and very old hotel up to C20 standards. It has a very real spirit of place with an important coaching-hotel history Godalming, being midway from London to Portsmouth

  • T Shephard

  • August 2014

Surprisingly quiet

I am always wary of staying in hotels above pubs but this was perfectly quiet.

Nice breakfast too.

  • paul smith

  • August 2014

Stay at the Kings

Very nice decor, period fireplaces and furnishings, welcoming atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff, great prices on food/drink and excellent location