No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Arms and Royal Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
22- 26 High Street , Godalming , GU7 1EB
The Kings Arms and Royal Hotel, was originally built in the 17th-century, has now undergone a beautiful £1 million renovation and is part of the RelaxInnz prestige collection. It offers 15 boutique-style rooms, a 1920’s themed bar and a restaurant serving traditional English fayre. The beautifully decorated ensuite bedrooms include a TV, Wi-Fi, radio, tea & coffee making facilities and a bathroom that has a bath and shower. The hotel offers a small but free on-site car park.

Situated in the heart of Godalming, this small town is on the banks of the River Wey in Surrey County. It is a perfect base for those visiting the area for leisure or business. It is less than a 10 minute walk to the train station and to Godalmings many attractions including The Dolls House museum and Losely Park. Historical Guildford with its excellent shopping, restaurants and cafes is less than a 5 mile drive away while Chessington World of Adventures is approx 30minutes away.

Picture of Kings Arms and Royal Hotel , Godalming  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the Kings
Very nice decor, period fireplaces and furnishings, welcoming atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff, great prices on food/drink and excellent location

Reviewed by
paul smith

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great weekend break.
We found our room to be clean and of a good standard. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is perfectly placed to be able to enjoy the high street and surrounding area.
I would not hesitate in staying again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Dan G

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful room - needs slightly more functionality
The room was airy, with nice furniture and a huge ensuite. It was poorly equipped however. No telephone, no ironing board or iron, a not functioning hair dryer... But the staff were very nice and friendly, and all was overcome.

Reviewed by
F Compton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great historic hotel with good service
The building was very impressive and the hotelier and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very big with everything that you would hope for. A downside was that we woke up on Sunday morning and had no idea when breakfast was due to be served as we hadn't been told. So I searched for a room card with that info on which I couldn't find. I did however find someone else's Ann Summers' very small underwear in a drawer of the bureau. Not ideal! Thankfully we made it down to breakfast (just on time) which was good - a full English with a good selection of cereals and fruit. The sausage in the fry up was not very good quality meat (I know it's picky but I love sausages so it was a bit disappointing!). However, all in all, it was a lovely place to stay with only two very minor drawbacks.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful proprieters
We enjoyed our stay and found the proprieter and his wife friendly and helpful especially with cases and parking. The evening meal was excellent value too. We will have no hesitation in staying there again in the future.

Reviewed by
Gill M

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Arms
A pleasant experience

Reviewed by
John Raho

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel
good hotel, good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
karl Austerfield

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Truly, truly awful
The worst part of this terrible experience has to be the human excrement stain on the duvet cover. Apparently I was not the only person to find one that night either.
Rooms, cups, kettle all filthy.
Staff smell of booze and sat in the bar drunk all night.
A truly horrible place to stay.

Reviewed by
D Clare

From , UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More of a locals cheap boozer than a hotel
Room was ok however furnishings were very worn.
Comfy Bed shame about the patched cover.
Breakfast was held in the main bar and was all a bit of a let down stingey portions on the full english. One hard fried egg,one very small sausage one rasher of nice bacon and loads of cheap nasty beans. All rounded of with a lack of staff.

Reviewed by
Colin P

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value in pleasant surroundings
This is a charming old hotel in the centre of Godalming. Both my room and ensuite were pleasant and well maintained. It was a bit small but for the price I couldn't fault it. The breakfast was basic but adequate. It's a shame that such an historic place doesn't have a log fire!

Reviewed by
Martin Rodgers

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next