No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Arms and Royal Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
22- 26 High Street , Godalming , GU7 1EB
The Kings Arms and Royal Hotel, was originally built in the 17th-century, has now undergone a beautiful £1 million renovation and is part of the RelaxInnz prestige collection. It offers 15 boutique-style rooms, a 1920’s themed bar and a restaurant serving traditional English fayre. The beautifully decorated ensuite bedrooms include a TV, Wi-Fi, radio, tea & coffee making facilities and a bathroom that has a bath and shower. The hotel offers a small but free on-site car park.

Situated in the heart of Godalming, this small town is on the banks of the River Wey in Surrey County. It is a perfect base for those visiting the area for leisure or business. It is less than a 10 minute walk to the train station and to Godalmings many attractions including The Dolls House museum and Losely Park. Historical Guildford with its excellent shopping, restaurants and cafes is less than a 5 mile drive away while Chessington World of Adventures is approx 30minutes away.

Picture of Kings Arms and Royal Hotel , Godalming  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but disappointed
I stayed at the Kings Arms Hotel last summer which is in an excellent location for visiting the town. However this time I was somewhat disappointed in my stay as the room was looking a little tired (carpet needed cleaning, light wasn't working above the basin, shower control difficult to operate) and staff were not as friendly as the staff last summer.

Reviewed by
Gill M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Nice clean friendly run hotel.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A town stay
Our disappointment was the many stairs we had to climb to reach our room, i had requested a room on the 1st floor as my wife was recovering from a recent opp on her knee. Also no apparent porter service to help with cases. The room was comfortable & clean, breakfast was good .

Reviewed by
michael a

From Canterbury, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Your average high street pub/hotel
We arrived late at the hotel after traveling and was just stopping for one night so can't really offer any review on the evening food though the breakfast was nice.
The hotel was clean and staff very friendly. The only problem was that the family rooms don't offer a double bed for the parents, we had two single beds and a sofa bed for our daughter. My daughter did complain the sofa bed was unconfortable and to be honest so was our single beds. So unless you are likely to have an argument with your partner and would appreciate sleeping apart I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a family.

Reviewed by
Adrian W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for a night
Enjoyable stay, room ok though a little tired, but decent nights sleep and the breakfast was pretty good. Good value for the area.

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really good overnight stay. Staff very helpful and breakfast good. Room & ensuite accommodation standard are clean and comfortable. A little over priced. A great deal has been done to bring this fascinating and very old hotel up to C20 standards. It has a very real spirit of place with an important coaching-hotel history Godalming, being midway from London to Portsmouth

Reviewed by
A Walker

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly quiet
I am always wary of staying in hotels above pubs but this was perfectly quiet. Nice breakfast too.

Reviewed by
T Shephard

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great weekend break.
We found our room to be clean and of a good standard. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is perfectly placed to be able to enjoy the high street and surrounding area.
I would not hesitate in staying again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Dan G

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the Kings
Very nice decor, period fireplaces and furnishings, welcoming atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff, great prices on food/drink and excellent location

Reviewed by
paul smith

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful room - needs slightly more functionality
The room was airy, with nice furniture and a huge ensuite. It was poorly equipped however. No telephone, no ironing board or iron, a not functioning hair dryer... But the staff were very nice and friendly, and all was overcome.

Reviewed by
F Compton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next