No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Arms and Royal Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
22- 26 High Street , Godalming , GU7 1EB
The Kings Arms and Royal Hotel, was originally built in the 17th-century, has now undergone a beautiful £1 million renovation and is part of the RelaxInnz prestige collection. It offers 15 boutique-style rooms, a 1920’s themed bar and a restaurant serving traditional English fayre. The beautifully decorated ensuite bedrooms include a TV, Wi-Fi, radio, tea & coffee making facilities and a bathroom that has a bath and shower. The hotel offers a small but free on-site car park.

Situated in the heart of Godalming, this small town is on the banks of the River Wey in Surrey County. It is a perfect base for those visiting the area for leisure or business. It is less than a 10 minute walk to the train station and to Godalmings many attractions including The Dolls House museum and Losely Park. Historical Guildford with its excellent shopping, restaurants and cafes is less than a 5 mile drive away while Chessington World of Adventures is approx 30minutes away.

Picture of Kings Arms and Royal Hotel , Godalming  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed. Will not stayagain.
Wallpaper peeling off the walls. Holes in the wall. Not very clean.
Breakfast no brown bread eggs over cooked.
Horrible Hotel

Reviewed by
S Taylor

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central to Godalming. Limited parking but free (7pm to 8am) parking at the rear.

Reviewed by
L Davidson

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ancient, romantic hotel
Nice, ancient, romantic hotel, but I felt the the welcome by the receptionist could have been warmer... The room on the other hand was very romantic and comfy. Unfortunately the plumbing for the hot water or central heating system went through my room, so the room was very warm.
Didn't try the food.

Reviewed by
K Nordby

From Kløfta, Norway
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old character hotel, nice people, good food

Reviewed by
S Burfield

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was a bit sad and old looking needed painting and a make over
no bible in the room

Reviewed by
r scarborough

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid bedroom 3 billed as "luxury/superior" double bedroom - decor and furnishings are fine BUT there is a combi boiler secreted away in a cupboard in the room - it was constantly firing up and shutting down to service the needs of the hotel - noisey and disturbing - unless you find comfort in the sounds of rockets launching every few minutes.

Reviewed by
Tim W

From England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business trip
stayed x 2 nights in a single room, which was quite small. New furniture and clean. Had to pa for room and meals separately, bit strange. Location good though.
Reasonable value for money, friendly staff and helpful.

Reviewed by
Sean O

From Ulceby, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for business
Well for the £68 I paid for this single room it was pretty depressing to be honest. Dont be fooled that this is a Hotel its a Pub with rooms, there is no room service or Hotel facilities. I rarely go out for a meal when out on business but my room was just a large cupboard to be honest. The breakfast was set up on the bar in the morning. I suppose it was ok if you like the Hungry Horse experience but as a singly female traveller it wasnt for me Im afraid.

Reviewed by
C mitchell

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Premier Suite
I booked on this trip the suite, I visit about twice a year. This was a nice room and spacious. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, I had a good nights sleep. I ate at the hotel with a colleague the food and service was very good. I would recommend this hotel it is a little dated, and some investment could be made to improve the decor.

Reviewed by
Vicki M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Arms, Godalming

Reviewed by
P Doolan

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next