Reviews - Kings Arms and Royal Hotel


22- 26 High Street, Godalming , GU7 1EB

Price From 132.91 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (21)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Dan G

  • August 2014

A great weekend break.

We found our room to be clean and of a good standard.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is perfectly placed to be able to enjoy the high street and surrounding area.

I would not hesitate in staying again when in the area.

  • Elizabeth C

  • August 2014

Great historic hotel with good service

The building was very impressive and the hotelier and staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was very big with everything that you would hope for. A downside was that we woke up on Sunday morning and had no idea when breakfast was due to be served as we hadn't been told. So I searched for a room card with that info on which I couldn't find. I did however find someone else's Ann Summers' very small underwear in a drawer of the bureau. Not ideal. Thankfully we made it down to breakfast (just on time) which was good - a full English with a good selection of cereals and fruit. The sausage in the fry up was not very good quality meat (I know it's picky but I love sausages so it was a bit disappointing!). However, all in all, it was a lovely place to stay with only two very minor drawbacks.

  • F Compton

  • July 2014

Delightful room - needs slightly more functionality

The room was airy, with nice furniture and a huge ensuite.

It was poorly equipped however. No telephone, no ironing board or iron, a not functioning hair dryer... But the staff were very nice and friendly, and all was overcome.

  • Gill M

  • June 2014

Friendly and helpful proprieters

We enjoyed our stay and found the proprieter and his wife friendly and helpful especially with cases and parking.

The evening meal was excellent value too. We will have no hesitation in staying there again in the future.

  • John Raho

  • June 2014

Kings Arms

A pleasant experience

  • karl Austerfield

  • March 2014

good hotel

good hotel, good nights sleep.

  • Martin Rodgers

  • March 2014

Good value in pleasant surroundings

This is a charming old hotel in the centre of Godalming.

Both my room and ensuite were pleasant and well maintained. It was a bit small but for the price I couldn't fault it. The breakfast was basic but adequate. It's a shame that such an historic place doesn't have a log fire.

  • D Clare

  • March 2014

Truly, truly awful

The worst part of this terrible experience has to be the human excrement stain on the duvet cover.

Apparently I was not the only person to find one that night either. Rooms, cups, kettle all filthy. Staff smell of booze and sat in the bar drunk all night. A truly horrible place to stay.

  • Colin P

  • February 2014

More of a locals cheap boozer than a hotel

Room was ok however furnishings were very worn.

Comfy Bed shame about the patched cover. Breakfast was held in the main bar and was all a bit of a let down stingey portions on the full english. One hard fried egg,one very small sausage one rasher of nice bacon and loads of cheap nasty beans. All rounded of with a lack of staff.

  • Chris P

  • January 2014

Shocked for Premier Inn price tag!!!

I had a balcony door that didn't close or lock / a blocked shower and a dirty room!!.

Thanks but no thanks.