No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Embankment

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
7 THE EMBANKMENT , BEDFORD, MK40 3PD
Today the Embankment offers all the modern visitor could want. All bedrooms en suite. All rooms with telephone and television with Sky. Wi-fi available for free through out the hotel and bar.

The Embankment stands in a picturesque location on the banks of the River Ouse, in the midst of Bedford's beautiful riverside setting overlooking tranquil gardens and the Victorian suspension bridge. However it is only a few minutes walk along the promenade to the busy town and shopping centre.

Higgins and Sons of the Castle Brewery founded the Hotel in 1891. The Brewery was set on the side of the old Bedford Castle, which was destroyed hundreds of years before. Today, the Old Brewery building is part of the Bedford Museum complex.
It is just a short stroll from the Hotel for visitors wanting to see the museum and the award winning Cecil Higgins Art Gallery alongside.
The Beautiful and convenient location of The Embankment is just part of the appeal. It is complemented by a warm welcome, friendly pub and a wide choice of meals in the restaurant and pub.

Picture of The Embankment, BEDFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice spot
Not having ben to Bedford before I was unsure what to expect. The Embankment hotel appears to be situated in what could be the nicest part of the town, on the river. It is clearly a popular pub and there was some noise and smoke from people outside as we had a river facing 'superior' room on the first floor. but i did not find it obtrusive. The cooked breakfast was very good although did take a while to arrive as it was very busy. The bed was very comfortable and the room was modern and stylish. Shower was good with nice towels. Walks along the river and in the park opposite were welcome. I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
J Montague

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a working stopover
apart from the early hours door banging and noisy car park departures a brilliant stay

Reviewed by
d pearson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money in nice location

Reviewed by
Alan O

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pot luck.
Booked the Embankment on the strength of the site and offer. The high quality of the room, the well stocked bar and the regatta taking place were all unexpected but the icing on the cake was the Full English Breakfast!!! I can't recall having a better one and the black pudding was perfect, as was the lack of waffles!
Very friendly staff and I have already recommended the Embankment to another couple.

Reviewed by
Anthony Payton

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous stay!
Wow what a lovely place..location is so fresh and clean..if I lived here this would be where id choose to eat & drink! Menu is different & oh so yummy! Trendy & old decor mix...all staff so friendly, welcoming & helpful..we felt very comfortable here..complimentary toiletries really nice, big fat fluffy towels, oh so comfy queen size bed, black out curtains...I want to stay again...oh and choice of breakfast included lovely and filling, free parking too..happy happy happy =)

Reviewed by
s smith

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxed and Friendly
Excellent service, accommodation and food - you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by
Les Jones

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room review
Enjoyed stay - room was clean and spacious. No litter bin in bedroom and only night light was over the bed.

Reviewed by
S Warren

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

home stay
I live in Bedford and have never stayed at the Embankment. I would recommend to any visitors to the town . It has a relaxed and contemparary feel with young, enthusiastic and attentive staff.

Reviewed by
simon d

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2