No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Embankment

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
7 THE EMBANKMENT , BEDFORD, MK40 3PD
Today the Embankment offers all the modern visitor could want. All bedrooms en suite. All rooms with telephone and television with Sky. Wi-fi available for free through out the hotel and bar.

The Embankment stands in a picturesque location on the banks of the River Ouse, in the midst of Bedford's beautiful riverside setting overlooking tranquil gardens and the Victorian suspension bridge. However it is only a few minutes walk along the promenade to the busy town and shopping centre.

Higgins and Sons of the Castle Brewery founded the Hotel in 1891. The Brewery was set on the side of the old Bedford Castle, which was destroyed hundreds of years before. Today, the Old Brewery building is part of the Bedford Museum complex.
It is just a short stroll from the Hotel for visitors wanting to see the museum and the award winning Cecil Higgins Art Gallery alongside.
The Beautiful and convenient location of The Embankment is just part of the appeal. It is complemented by a warm welcome, friendly pub and a wide choice of meals in the restaurant and pub.

Picture of The Embankment, BEDFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very happy with my stay. Perhaps room could have done with a bit of updating, esp carpet!
Whilst the room was lovely, there were touches which could have improved. There was no light bulb in the light by the bed. The bathroom was lovely, very clean and warm! Although there was a party going on downstairs it was peaceful. I thought the service at breakfast was excellent but the food was of poor quality, so didnt really enjoy that.

Reviewed by
Julie G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected Delight
We didn't have a reason to go to Bedford, other than needing somewhere to stay for the Twinwood weekend. The Embankment Hotel was just intended as somewhere nice to crash, but we enjoyed staying there so much that we might even consider going to Bedford again just for the Hotel. Will definitely stay there again next year.

Reviewed by
Tim S

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Embankment is an unexpected, delightful pace
We booked late and also booked the last booking at the restaurant. We rapidly received a courtesy call from the Manager advising that all was received and that they would still serve until a little later for us. This was very kind and helpful. All was fine until we were awoken at 6.45am by loud thrash metal playing for an hour. We think this was coming from next door. Breakfast was fine and staff very attentive. The female manager made no comment about being awoken, which was a bit disappointing. We didn't have time to see much of Bedford but the area seemed lovely by night all lit up and by day the park was full of joggers and seemed pleasant.

Reviewed by
Richard L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly Hotel
We stayed just one Saturday night at the Embankment. Everything is good, the room, the food, the staff, the beer.
The staff were particularly friendly. The best full english breakfast I have had for a long time.
I even had a nightcap bought for me by one of the managers.
We shall always stay here when comming to Bedford.

Reviewed by
Robin Headlam

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice spot
Not having ben to Bedford before I was unsure what to expect. The Embankment hotel appears to be situated in what could be the nicest part of the town, on the river. It is clearly a popular pub and there was some noise and smoke from people outside as we had a river facing 'superior' room on the first floor. but i did not find it obtrusive. The cooked breakfast was very good although did take a while to arrive as it was very busy. The bed was very comfortable and the room was modern and stylish. Shower was good with nice towels. Walks along the river and in the park opposite were welcome. I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
J Montague

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a working stopover
apart from the early hours door banging and noisy car park departures a brilliant stay

Reviewed by
d pearson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money in nice location

Reviewed by
Alan O

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pot luck.
Booked the Embankment on the strength of the site and offer. The high quality of the room, the well stocked bar and the regatta taking place were all unexpected but the icing on the cake was the Full English Breakfast!!! I can't recall having a better one and the black pudding was perfect, as was the lack of waffles!
Very friendly staff and I have already recommended the Embankment to another couple.

Reviewed by
Anthony Payton

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2