Reviews - The Royal Oak at Keswick


2 Main Street, Keswick, CA12 5HZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (62)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • E Reay

  • September 2015

autumn break

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Royal Oak Keswick.

Location is fantastic especially when walking is difficult. The friendliness of all staff and the excellent quality of the Cumbrian breakfast. We even had glorious sunshine!

  • kath r

  • September 2015

Anniversary Trip

The location was nice and central, nice tartan theme around the hotel and bright.

Rather uneven flooring levels and small rooms, but that's an authentic old property for you (just like home to us!). I like the flasks for milk from the bar, a nice touch and the mini hot water bottles.

  • Sue E

  • July 2015

Royal Oak Kewsick

Very small room.

Door alarmed on entry. Confusion re car parking at recommended council car park. Poor ventilation in bedroom as no window opened and no fan provided. Not sufficient staff at breakfast, had to request coffee and to take order and promised toast never arrived. Convenient position and surprisingly quiet apart from clearly audible noise from adjoining bedroom.

  • Paul T

  • June 2015

two days in keswick

Very good stay.

Only complaint is the central heating turned up too high. Makes sleeping difficult.

  • V Gunn

  • March 2015

Our stay at The Royal Oak, Keswick.

Our stay was very comfortable, we found the staff helpful and efficient, the facilities more than adequate and the food very good.

  • philip s

  • March 2015

Excellent place to stay

Friendly, clean and lovely food.

Would love to stay there again.

  • Z Wilson

  • March 2015

Lovely hotel great service and friendly helpful staff!!

Lovely food, room very comfortable

  • clive h

  • March 2015

Keswickk royal oak

Room was small, but I was aware of this before I booked , clean and tidy and a great base for a short stay.

Excellent breakfast.

  • fay t

  • March 2015

Brilliant breakfast, bedrrom a little lacking

Room small but tastefully furnished, very comfortable bed.

Nice touches such as hot water bottle, teapot and earplugs (room 15 opposite Gregg's which gets deliveries early). Alas no hangers at all in the wardrobe, whose main function seemed to be the mirror on its door. Good shower; cleaner must have been in a hurry when it came to the toilet though. Brilliant veggie breakfast almost made up for room's shortcomings!

  • Carolyn Willoughby

  • February 2015

A perfect hotel for a cosy getaway!

The Royal Oak is perfectly situated in the middle of the town, ideal for exploring everything Keswick has to offer.

The welcome from all staff was first class and the room was beautifully decorated, cosy and immaculate. The breakfast was scrumptious, lots of choice and nothing was too much trouble. We would stay again in a heartbeat!