No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak at Keswick

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
2 Main Street , Keswick, CA12 5HZ
The Royal Oak at Keswick formally the Inn at Keswick is opening its doors in May 2014 following a £625k refurbishment. A welcoming pub, we offer great home-cooked food and cosy accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside north of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well-stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. For our overnight guests, we offer comfortable, en-suite bedrooms with the option of a fresh, wholesome Cumbrian breakfast.

Whether the reason for your visit to the Lakes is walking, climbing, an activity holiday or just to relax and take in the magnificent views, you're guaranteed to enjoy the warm welcome and cosy surroundings we have to offer.

If you wish to bring your four-legged friend along, please let us know at the time of booking and we'll prepare your dog friendly room for you and your extra special guest! Please don't just arrive with your pooch as we might not be able to accommodate them in one of our designated rooms and we'd hate to have to turn you all away. Please be aware that a £15.00 charge per stay is applicable for a dog to stay with us
Picture of The Royal Oak at Keswick, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would Stay Here Again
We did get a much-reduced rate for the room through Late Room, so it was good value. Had we paid the full price, I think we might have felt a little disappointed. The room was quite small and the towel rail didn't work, but apart from that it was very pleasant and you don't notice the size of the room while asleep. There was very good non-instant coffee and hot chocolate provided in the room, and free wifi available.
The staff were all friendly, efficient and helpful. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but it was excellent, plentiful and great variety. The reason we didn't have dinner was that the menu we saw did not cater well for my wife, who is vegetarian. But I'm sure the dinner would have been very good otherwise. So yes, we would choose to stay here again the next time we come to Keswick.

Reviewed by
R Leslie

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Solid Oak
Friendly,polite and efficient staff, accomodation was clean and comfortable although Room 6 (twin) was slightly on the small side, good value for our 3 night midweek break overall. Food and drink was above average and well presented especially the Wainwright bitter.

Reviewed by
Frank S

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Hotel for walkers with dogs
We stayed at the The Royal Oak for 1 night after a days walking in wet weather with our dog. The hotel room was very tastefully furnished and modern and the restaurant food and service was fantastic. A perfect place to stay when you are on a walking holiday witb your dog. It just goes to show that hotels/restaurants can easily accommodate dogs without affecting quality or experience.
We will stay here again.

Reviewed by
martin wiseman

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cute bedroom with great views of the mountains
Our room was quite small but very cosy. The views of the mountains through the windows were stunning. The quality of the food was outstanding, we had both breakfast and dinner and it was very nice. Make sure to book your table for the evening if you're dining in cause it was packed! Only downside was that there was no hot water from the shower, so had a bath instead.

Reviewed by
Monika I

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This place has been very tastefully refurbished. Excellent location in central Keswick. Nothing was too much trouble for its staff who were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were well equipped, clean and comfortable, only minor downside was our rooms were a little small, but totally understandable and acceptable in order to include an ensuite bathroom.

Reviewed by
grahame w

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Really nice hotel with plenty of character. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Jason R

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff could not do enough to help make our stay enjoyable, lovely rooms and well looked after. Food was exceptional

Reviewed by
L Donnelly

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel with small rooms.
Standard double room was too small for normal size people (quite common for hotels in Keswick I was told by hotel management) due to history as coaching inns. No modern hotels in Keswick.
A note to this effect in the hotel details would have been useful.

Reviewed by
R Morse

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was quite small but very clean.
toilet did not flush very well.
Breakfast was just ok, the scrambled eggs were very pale and tastless

Reviewed by
mark j

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

royal oak
Nicely decorated but bedside lamps not working, small room with thin walls & damp issue on corridor.

Reviewed by
michelle b

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next