No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak at Keswick

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
2 Main Street , Keswick, CA12 5HZ
The Royal Oak at Keswick formally the Inn at Keswick is opening its doors in May 2014 following a £625k refurbishment. A welcoming pub, we offer great home-cooked food and cosy accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside north of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well-stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. For our overnight guests, we offer comfortable, en-suite bedrooms with the option of a fresh, wholesome Cumbrian breakfast.

Whether the reason for your visit to the Lakes is walking, climbing, an activity holiday or just to relax and take in the magnificent views, you're guaranteed to enjoy the warm welcome and cosy surroundings we have to offer.

If you wish to bring your four-legged friend along, please let us know at the time of booking and we'll prepare your dog friendly room for you and your extra special guest! Please don't just arrive with your pooch as we might not be able to accommodate them in one of our designated rooms and we'd hate to have to turn you all away. Please be aware that a £15.00 charge per stay is applicable for a dog to stay with us
Picture of The Royal Oak at Keswick, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was quite small but very clean.
toilet did not flush very well.
Breakfast was just ok, the scrambled eggs were very pale and tastless

Reviewed by
mark j

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

royal oak
Nicely decorated but bedside lamps not working, small room with thin walls & damp issue on corridor.

Reviewed by
michelle b

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel , on the main Street in Keswick.
Very comfortable . We enjoyed a delicious evening meal and a hearty breakfast.

Reviewed by
P Tarkowski

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend trip
We enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
M Jeffrey

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money, fantastic food.
We arrived late evening, after checking we asked if food was still being served. A table was arranged for us. Our room was aesthetically pleasing, unfortunately our window was right above what sounded like the air conditioning unit which was quite noisy whilst trying to sleep. There were also several dogs in the hotel which barked during the night. We hadn't been told about the flask of milk you had to ask for at the bar for your drinks in the room when we arrived. Those were the only negatives . The staff delivered excellent service and created a good atmosphere. The food was very well presented and tasted fantastic. Nick & I would return. However, we would ask not to stay in room 9.

Reviewed by
J Charnock

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Oak, Keswick
Staff were helpful and gave important information on arrival. The room was very clean and was well stocked with tea, coffee and hot chocolate sachets. The shower was awesome! The bed was comfortable but the room was quite hot at night, even with reduced bedding and opened windows. It was also a little noisy due to what sounded like an extractor fan outside of the room. The gap between the bed and the window was very tight indeed. Breakfast was excellent and the serving staff were polite, helpful and efficient.

Reviewed by
Peter Cobb

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable and welcoming
We arrived late on a Friday evening and were very pleased with the friendly welcome. The pub is in a great location, right on the high street, with parking close by. The pub itself is a pretty middle class affair - not so much your local boozer. The rooms are fairly small, but well furnished and the bed is extremely comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well stocked. The dirty boot trays are a great touch and help make the place feel homely. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices for everyone.

Reviewed by
William P

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

problems with parking
hotel in the centre , not easy to find a parkingspace , and have to walk long time with the luguage, hotel is recently refurbished, nice colours, staff wasn't very inviting,, breakfast was good, but if you are a little later there is no fruit or yogurt left., bathrooms wasn;t cleaned between 1 and 2 night

Reviewed by
g bos

From westerhaar, Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

n

Reviewed by
Jana L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Positive Feedback for Weekend in July
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Accommodation was perfect for what we needed it for. Very central. Good choice for breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Reid

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next