No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Keppels Head Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
24-26 The Hard , Portsmouth, PO1 3DT
Ideally situated midway between the Historic Dockyard and Gunwharf Quays,both being just 200 yards away.

Directly opposite the harbour rail and bus station.

5 minute drive to the continental ferry port.

Just 200 yards from Gunwharf Quays,which has many bars,restaurants,night club,casino,cinema and bowling.

Hotel features:
30 en-suite rooms(front rooms having harbour view).
Lift to all floors.
Free on-site parking.
All rooms have colour tv,direct dial phones and tea and coffee making facilities.
Picture of Keppels Head Hotel, Portsmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

father and daughter each with a single room
Kindly reception and a clean room if a little plain. Breakfast was comprehensive and the dining room itself redolent of faded splendour. Beware the inner lift gates which are metal and can concertina one ones hand if one is not alert.

Reviewed by
MICHAEL FOSTER

From MEREWORTH, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was friendly and the room was clean and large and comfortable,
The breakfast was cooked to Order so the food was hot
and you also had cereals and juice. over all it was a lovely stay
Thank you

Reviewed by
Jane Smith

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spectacular views of Spinaker Tower and HMS Warrior!
The Keppel's Head Hotel location was very handy indeed and only 1 minute's walk from the Portsmouth HIstoric Dockyard. The free hotel car park was very useful indeed as parking in this area is very difficult. The room had enormous picture windows and spectacular views of the nearby Spinaker Tower (to the left) and HMS Warrior (to the right). The room itself was huge, with a sofa in front of the window to enjoy the views. The staff were friendly and helpful, and provided us with a leaflet that gave 20% off the admission to the Historic Dockyard. The full English Breakfast was good, with each breakfast cooked to order. Kippers were also on the menu. Cereals, juice, fruit, bread, toast, croissants and yoghurt were also available. The dining room has an ornate ceiling and the whole hotel has a suitably historic feel, as it is a Victorian building. We thought it was just right for our Historic Dockyard visit and intend to return in early 2015 (as our Dockyard ticket is valid for 12 months!).

Reviewed by
Wayne C

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Keppells Head
Absolutely loved this quaint characterful hotel, like a step back in time, straight out of Miss Marple

Reviewed by
D Spencer

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So terrible I sobbed!!
Booked this for a romantic get away. I was a little dubious but booked as the majority of the reviews were ok. We arrived to a not so welcoming empty reception. The hotel entrance is tired and is in need of some TLC. Some guy finally appeared and not too much paperwork which was refreshing. Gave us the key and gave us directions to our room (I was surprised a hotel of this size didn't offer to carry bags and show you to your room!
We made our way to our room and hit by a pleasant smell of airfreshner!! We arrived in daylight and the room was dark!! The overall décor is tired. Ripped wallpaper, holes in the wall, woodwork dirty and chipped. The bathroom was gross, absolutely disgusting. Pubic hairs in the shower, dirty shower head which was covered in limescale, dirty shower curtain, bathroom carpet mouldy. Never ever have we stayed anywhere where we felt we couldn't shower. I cleaned the sink and toilet using the complementary hand soap so that we could wash!! We decided to have a cup of tea first as we had a long drive and even the cups were dirty!! I just sobbed this wasn't the magical weekend we had planned!! We aren't the type of people to complain and make a fuss so just put up with it.
Anyway we spent as little time as possible there. The bed was comfortable, the pillows are very flat and no headboard. The heating is certainly efficient, even with the window open all night we were both too hot. Breakfast crew very helpful, nice tea, nice toast. The full English wasn't anything special.
Checkout was simply handing over the key.
This hotel has the potential to be fantastic but it desperately needs refurbishment. Anyway I will never ever stay here again nor would I recommend it.

Reviewed by
Louise W

From England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

LOST IN TIME
One of the worst Hotels I have ever stayed in, very dirty and dated !

Reviewed by
MARK B

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

location spot on!
lovely position close to Gunwarf and the docks. Older style hotel, with few mod cons, but clean. rather noisy at night, and chilly as the heating did not seem to work. plenty of hot water tho!

Reviewed by
Jane P

From Princes Risborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a wonderful evening, in an absolutely huge room with a view of the Harbour. The decor is a little tired-looking, but only in a way that adds to the charm.

Reviewed by
Marie J

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Review
Room was clean but very tired. The floor was spongy and made a lot of noise when I moved around. There was no shower facilities, which you would expect nowadays in a en suite room

Reviewed by
n lohman

From Steyning, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mary Rose
the location was great food was very good hotel was fine but needs refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Peter A

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next