No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Braeside Guesthouse

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
21 NEW NORTH ROAD , EXETER, EX44HF
The Braeside Guesthouse is a Grade II listed building at the heart of Exeter City Centre. It is very close to the High Street, Guildhall, Exeter Cathedral and the University. It is in walking distance to Exeter College, the new state of the art Princesshay complex, Guildhall Shopping Centre and Harlequins Center,The Braeside is also in walking distance from the Central and St Davids Railway Stations and Exeter Coach Station nearby, also Odeon and Vue Cinemas. Exeter Airport is approximately 5 miles from the guesthouse.
Picture of Braeside Guesthouse, EXETER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great guesthouse in the centre of town
The quest house is in a listed building and close to the centre of town. The rooms are well presented and the beds comfortable. The breakfast is very good with cereal, fruit, yoghourt, and cook English or vegetarian. The owners are very friendly and helpful.
There are downsides but since this is a guesthouse and not a hotel this did not affect the ratings. There are firstly noise if the room is at the front facing the road but this is to be expected if the accommodation is close to the centre. The second is car parking since space is limited on the road opposite. We arrived late and had to park about 400 yds / 350m / 1200 ft away. Again to be expected for a guesthouse close to the centre.

Reviewed by
Mary T

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Constructed criticism
Nice and helpful gave parking ticket for two nights.room was adequate would have benefited from nicer bed linen and supplied towels were thin and a little tired .overall ok though ,for the price we paid.

Reviewed by
M Poultney

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean B&B with welcoming hosts and a good breakfast
Clive welcomed me and sorted me out with parking and a map at check in. Room was a twin and was clean and tidy with clean towels and a brew kit.
I only slept in one of the beds, but it was comfy.
Very convenient location for walking to the city centre.
Will stay again next time I'm in Exeter

Reviewed by
J Kitson

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nights bed and breakfast
Very comfortable stay. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpfull.

Reviewed by
A Edwards

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B and B
This is a really comfortable place to stay, very convenient for shops, station and amenities in Exeter. The room was very well equipped, very clean and modern. The breakfast was delicious - one of the best I have had in a B and B, with warm, fresh croissants, a full English freshly cooked, and very good coffee. The service was really efficient and friendly as well.
It was good to be able to park easily just outside the hotel, for just £2 for the whole day. The only possible problem I had was that I needed to call a telephone number to contact reception when I arrived. I often don't carry a mobile phone - although on this occasion I did have it - but don't know what I would have done if I hadn't taken it with me.

Reviewed by
Pam White

From Kingsbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight
Good clean friendly

Reviewed by
paul m

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was nice.
The hotel is in a great position, pretty much in the centre of the city.

Reviewed by
C Burton

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Location!
This B&B is located perfectly with short walks to the bus station, the high street, and Exeter Central. plus Exeter St. Davids. Also a very short walk to RAMM (Royal Albert Memorial Museum) which was a great way to kick off the day of walking around Exeter.
Breakfast is served promptly and to a high standard, with a relaxing setting in the dining room. A perfect way to slowly wake yourself to the day ahead.
My biggest praise I could give was the service. After checking out we were just about to leave with our 70L backpacks to explore the city, and before we could leave we were asked if we wanted to leave them there. It was very nice not to have to ask and it was also nice to have a chat with the owner who gave us some advice on the sights within Exeter.
Very much enjoyed my stay here. If I had to mention any criticism it would be that the room was rather small, but this wasn't something that caused us any trouble. It's small, but cozy.

Reviewed by
A Mortimer

From Southall, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
I had a lovely stay at the the Braeside. Everyone was very helpful and friendly, my room was lovely and I had the best night's sleep. The only niggle was with the morning breakfast. It was fine, but a bit average. The coffee was lovely though. Anyway, that is a small niggle, all in all it was a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
susan k

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location and value for money
My room was newly refurbished clean and comfortable. The proprietor was friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was excellent. I will certainly be staying here again as I come to Exeter to take and collect my son from university and Braeside is is vey conveniently located and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Jennie H

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next